Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Reuben Tam Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: -
Date: Jan 1967

Revision history:
11 Mar 2010 converted to EAD (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Tam, Reuben.
Title: Reuben Tam Papers
Dates: 1958-1966
Quantity: 0.5 linear feet
Abstract: Papers of the American painter. Collection includes exhibition pamphlets, and published materials including articles about Tam and reproductions of his work.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Reuben Tam (1916-1991) was an American landscape painter, educator and graphic artist.

He graduated from the University of Hawaii in 1937 and then studied at the California School of Fine Arts (1940), Columbia University (1942-1945), the New School for Social Research, and the Art Students League. His work has been exhibited in this country and in South America, Australia and Europe, and he is represented in the permanent collections of the Metropolitan Museum, Museum of Modern Art, New York Public Library, Albright Gallery, Whitney Museum, Brooklyn Museum, and many others. In 1948 he was named a Guggenheim fellow. He taught at the Brooklyn Museum Art School and was a member of Modern Painters and Sculptors.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Reuben Tam Papers consists of biographical material, exhibition material (pamphlets), and published material (articles, newspaper clippingsm reproductions of his work).


Arrangement of the Collection

Exhibit material is arranged chronologically. Other material is arranged alphabetically by type; within that clippings are arranged chronologically.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Tam, Reuben.

Subjects

Landscape painters.
Painters--United States.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Reproductions.

Occupations

Painters.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Reuben Tam Papers
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents

Exhibitions

Published material


Inventory

Exhibitions
Box 1 1958, 1961-1963, 1965-1966, undated,
Published material
Box 1 Articles about
Box 1 Newspaper clippings about
Box 1 Reproductions of his work