Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Gaius Talcott Letters

An inventory of his letters at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: P
Date: 1965

Revision history:
19 Mar 2009 converted to EAD (LDC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Talcott, Gaius.
Title: Gaius Talcott Letters
Dates: 1757-1771
Quantity: 17 items (SC)
Abstract: Letters of an American Quaker concerning spiritual matters.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Gaius Talcott (b. 1736) was an American Quaker who lived in New Milford, Connecticut during the 18th century.

Talcott was born on November 2, 1736 to Hannah Ferriss and Nathan Talcott. His father died in 1738 and his mother was remarried to Dobson Wheeler around 1740. In 1766, Talcott married Sarah Caustin (or Causter), daughter of Sarah and Joseph Caustin (or Causter). The couple had two children, Joseph (b. 1768) and Hannah (1770-1791).


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Gaius Talcott Letters consists of 17 letters. The collection contains both incoming and outgoing correspondence related to Gaius Talcott.


Arrangement of the Collection

The collection contains one series, Correspondence, which is divided into two subseries: Incoming correspondence and Outgoing correspondence. Within each subseries, the material is arranged chronologically.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Talcott, Gaius.

Subjects

Quakers -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Letters (correspondence)

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Gaius Talcott Letters
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
Incoming correspondence
SC 289 12 Sep 1766 - initialed I. W.
SC 289 05 Mar 1767 - initialed M. W.
SC 289 01 Jan 1769 - initialed A. W.
Undated
SC 289 initialed M. M.
SC 289 initialed M. T.
Outgoing correspondence
SC 289 03 Apr 1757 - to Catherine Payton Ballitor
Gaius describes the simplicity of the Quaker marriage between Samuel Neal and Mary Peasley which took place on Friday, March 17, 1757. By March 26, Mary was dead of an appendicitis attack. Gaius then describes the funeral service at the meeting house and grave yard. Samuel says that Mary was diligent in her ministry since her return from America. (Note: Samuel may well be Samuel Bronson)
SC 289 20 Oct 1764 - to Esteemed Friends Samuel and Elizabeth
SC 289 24 Feb 1766 - to Respected Friend, M. B.
SC 289 03 May 1766 - to Respected Friends
SC 289 16 Jun 1766 - to Respected Friends
SC 289 29 Jun 1767 - to Dear & Loving Friend
SC 289 12 May 1771 - to Dear Friend
Undated
SC 289 to My Dear & Esteemed Friend
SC 289 to Esteemed Friends Samuel & Elizabeth (Bronson)
SC 289 to Near & Loving Friend
SC 289 to My Friends
SC 289 to Near & Well Esteemed Friend - Address on verso is "To the care of Matthew Franklin at Stephen Fox, Rhode Island"