Collection inventory


Finding Aids

John Tagliabue Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: KBP
Date: Aug 1978

Revision history:
2 Apr 2008 converted to EAD (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Tagliabue, John, 1923-
Title: John Tagliabue Papers
Dates: 1943-1991
Quantity: 7.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Papers of the American poet. Correspondence (1945-1991); journals (1952-1990); notebooks; holograph and typescript poems; articles and reviews.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

John Tagliabue (1923-2006) was an American poet and playwright. Born in Italy, Tagliabue came with his family to the United States while still a child. He studied English at Columbia University where his fellow students inluded Allen Ginsberg and Jack Kerouac, and over his career received six Fulbright fellowships which he spent in Italy, China, Japan, and Indonesia. He taught for more than 35 years (1953-1989) at Bates College in Lewiston, Maine, where he actively recruited notable poets like Denise Levertov and Stephen Sender to speak, and where he founded and presided over the "United Nations of Poetry," an informal gathering of students to read the poetry of others and their own work. He is the author of several books of poetry, including New and Selected Poems, 1942-1997 (National Poetry Foundation, 1998).


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The John Tagliabue Papers comprise seventeen series, most of which are self-explanatory:

Correspondence, publicity and reviews contains material relating to Tagliabue's published books; the folder for The Buddha Uproar contains biographical material. Copies of Tagliabue's published books are located in Published material. Newspaper clippings contains articles of a general nature about Tagliabue and his work, as well as a review of the Mario Puppet Exhibit at Bates College, which included several collaborations between him and his wife, artist Grace Tagliabue.

There are numerous later accessions that have not been processed and are not yet open to researchers. Please contact the repository listed above for more information.


Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence is arranged chronologically by year; Correspondence, publicity and reviews is arranged alphabetically by title. Journals, Notebooks, and Poetry are arranged chronologically by the earliest year according to the groupings established by Tagliabue. Items with a title but no date are arranged alphabetically. Selections with neither a title nor a date are in "Undated" folders.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Tagliabue, John, 1923-

Subjects

American poetry -- 20th century.
Poets, American.

Genres and Forms

Articles.
Book reviews.
Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Diaries.
Manuscripts for publication.
Poems.

Occupations

Poets.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

John Tagliabue Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents

Correspondence

Correspondence, publicity and reviews

Drama

Essays

Journals

Lists of published work

Miscellaneous

Newspaper clippings

Notebooks

Poetry

Poetry Readings

Portrait

Published material

Short stories

Tapes

Thesis

Reviews


Inventory

Correspondence
Box 1 [General] 1945, 1947-1950, 1952-1954, 1958-1959, 1961-1962, 1964-1967, 1969-1976 (24 folders)
Box 1 In memory of Mrs. Helen Hirshler 1977
Box 1 Undated
Correspondence, publicity and reviews
Box 1 The Buddha Uproar
Box 1 The Doorless Door
Box 1 A Japanese Journal
Box 1 Poems
Drama
Box 1 Monologue
Box 1 Plays
Box 1 Plays for Voices
Box 1 Puppet Plays (2 folders)
Box 1 Tragedy
Box 1 Translation
Essays
Box 1 Miscellaneous (2 folders)
Journals
Holograph
Box 1 1952, Paris
Box 1 1955-1956
Box 1 1958, Summer tour of Europe
Box 1 1964, Greek (2 folders)
Box 1 1968, Brazil and Peru
Box 1 1971, Venice
Typescript
Box 1 1945-1946, Lebanese
Box 1 1946-1947, Pullman, Washington (2 folders)
Box 1 1947-1948, New York, Selections
Box 1 1948-1950, Alfred
Box 1 1950-1952, Italy
Box 1 1950-1952, Summer in Paris and London
Box 1 1952, Paris
Box 1 1955-1956
Box 1 1956, Mexico
Box 1 1956-1957, Maine (2 folders)
Box 1 1958, Summer tour of Europe
Box 2 1962, Spain
Box 2 1964, Greek (2 folders)
Box 2 1971-1972, italy
Box 2 1974, Mostly Anatolia
Box 2 1975, Maine
Box 2 The Adriatic and Sicily in the Wrong Season
Box 2 The Train Ride Between Pisa and Florence
Lists of published work
Box 2 Various
Miscellaneous
Box 2 Miscellaneous
Newspaper clippings
Box 2 Miscellaneous
Notebooks
Holographs
Box 2 Noh
Box 2 1958
Box 2 1959, January-April
Box 2 1959, May-July
Box 2 1959, July-October
Box 2 1965
Box 2 1965, Summer
Box 2 1972, February-March
Box 2 1972, March-April
Box 2 Undated
Typescripts
Box 2 Androscoggin accounts
Box 2 Kabuki
Box 2 Miscellaneous
Box 2 Shakespeare (6 folders)
Box 2 Teacher's notebook (2 folders)
Box 2 Writer's workshop
Box 2 1969
Box 2 1971
Box 2 1977, Bardwell Street
Poetry
Holographs
Box 2 1958-1960
Box 2 1960-1961
Box 2 1962 (2 folders)
Box 2 1962, suggested by Shakespeare
Box 2 1963-1964
Box 3 1964, General
Box 3 1964, Poems for Grace
Box 3 1965, General
Box 3 1965, Summer in France
Box 3 1966 (2 folders)
Box 3 1967
Box 3 1968
Box 3 1969, some earlier
Box 3 1970
Box 3 1970-1971, General
Box 3 1970-1971, Poems Related to My Father
1971-1972, Italy
Box 3 General
Venice
Box 3 General
Box 3 Saint George Series
Box 3 Santa Maria della Salute
Box 3 1973
Box 3 1974
Box 3 1975
Box 3 1976
Box 3 1977
Typescripts
Box 3 1940-1950, No Skating Please
Box 3 1941-1943
Box 3 1941-1946
Box 3 1941-1948
Box 3 1941-1951
Box 3 1943-1947
Box 3 1946-1952, Lyrics and The Jungle
Box 3 1949-1950, Alfred, N.Y.
Box 3 1950-1952, General
Box 3 1950-1952, The Italy Poems
Box 3 1952-1953, The Ischia Poems and Island (2 folders)
Box 3 1953-1954, The Erica Collection
Box 3 1954
Box 4 1954-1955
Box 4 1957-1958
Box 4 1957-1962, A Japanese Journal (2 folders)
Box 4 1960-1961, The Antics of the Alphabet
Box 4 1960-1961, General
Box 4 1960-1966 [?]
Box 4 1962-1965, Cities in the Dearth of the Cold War
Box 4 1963, Buon Natale
Box 4 1964, Poems for Grace
Box 4 1965, Poems for Grace
Box 4 1965, Summer in France
Box 4 1966, Christmas
Box 4 1966, General
Box 4 1967, General
Box 4 1967, Spain
Box 4 1968
Box 4 1969, some earlier
Box 4 1969
Box 4 1970
Box 4 1970 July, A Provincial Plus a New York Poodle
Box 4 1970-1971, General
Box 4 1970-1971, Poems Related to My Father
Box 4 1971-1972, Italy Poems (Complete)
Box 4 1971-1972, Italy Poems (Selections)
Box 4 1973
Box 4 1974
Box 4 1975
Box 4 1976
Box 4 1977
Box 4 The Animal Poems
Box 4 The Buddha Uproar
Box 4 Centering
Box 4 At the Circus and the Fair
Box 4 A Greek Cousin
Box 4 Insects
Box 4 Miscellaneous
Box 4 Noh
Box 4 Scribbling as the Air Shakes, and, A Walking Tour of Shikoku
Box 4 The Twelve Months
Box 4 Zen and the Teaching of Poetry
Poetry Readings
Box 4 Announcements
Box 4 Introductions
Portrait
Box 4 Portrait
Published material
Box 4 Bates Anthology
Box 4 Bennett College Journal
Box 4 Books (2 folders)
Box 4 Newspaper
Box 4 Poems in Little Magazines
Box 4 "Viaje a Mexico"
Short stories
Box 4 Undated
Box 4 Prior to 1947
Box 5 Prior to 1947
Tapes
Box 5 From Poems (4 tapes)
Box 5 Mario Plays (6 tapes)
Box 5 Other readings (2 tapes)
Thesis
Box 5 Thesis
Reviews
Box 5 Reviews by Tagliabue