Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Syracuse Sheet Music Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 13 Nov 2015

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Title: Syracuse Sheet Music Collection
Dates: 1847-1919
Quantity: 1 folder (ovesize portfolio)
Abstract: Sheet music printed in Syracuse, New York; many items include advertisements for local businesses
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Syracuse Sheet Music Collection consists of specimens of sheet music printed in Syracuse, New York. Many of the items include advertisements for local area businesses, both music-related and non-music-related.


Arrangement of the Collection

Alphabetical by author.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

For additional material relating to music in Syracuse, see also the Melville Clark Papers and the Clark Music Company Records. For additional material relating to early Syracuse-area businesses, search our collections using these keywords: syracuse commerce.


Subject Headings

Corporate Bodies

Clark Music Company (Syracuse, N.Y.)

Associated Titles

I'm glad I'm back in Syracuse.

Subjects

Business enterprises -- New York (State) -- History.

Places

Syracuse (N.Y.) -- Commerce.

Genres and Forms

Advertisements.
Sheet music.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Syracuse Sheet Music Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 2015.


Table of Contents

Sheet music


Inventory

Sheet music
Oversize 1 Ball, Charles, "The Apollo March and Two Step," Clark Music Co. 1906 - back has full-page ad for Apollo Player Pianos
Oversize 1 Ball, Charles, "Daughter of Pocahontas," Leiter Bros. 1909 - back cover includes full-page ad for Leiter Bros. shop on South Salina St.
Oversize 1 Bugbee, Willis N, and Weaver, T. B., "Just Smile and Say Good-Bye," The Willis N. Bugbee Co. 1919
Oversize 1 Davis, Daisy M., "Ka-Noo-Noo Maid," Clark Engraving Co. and The Dehler Printing Co. 1912
Oversize 1 Davis, F. and Gleason, M., "I'm Glad I'm Back in Syracuse," Rudolph Bros. 1912 - back cover includes photo of The Novelty Shop on South Salina St.
Oversize 1 Lederman, Phillip, "Pleasant Beach Two-Step," M. L. Mantell 1847 - front cover has black-and-white photo of Pleasant Beach Hotel in Fair Haven, New York; back cover has excerpt of Scott Joplin piece, "Please Say You Will"
Oversize 1 Miscellaneous - two single leaves; one page has unidentified music, the other three have advertisements for local Syracuse businesses, including Cotharin & Ball, Talbot's Temperance Hotel, Lazier's Photography, Brewster's Dry Goods, Sabey & Company Hatters and Furriers, and many more