Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Supplemental Education Association Educational Aids

A description of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 24 Nov 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Supplemental Education Association
Title: Supplemental Education Association Educational Aids
Dates: 1930-1946
Quantity: 0.75 linear ft.
Abstract: Illustrated pamphlets containing class enrichment suggestions for primary and secondary teachers in various subject areas.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Little can be discovered of the Supplemental Education Association. An article in the February 6, 1932 issue of the Journal of the American Medical Association (p. 498) hints at a connection with the Standard Education Society, Standard Extension University, and National Encyclopedia Company, as all four companies operated out of the same address (Suite 1000-1015, 130 North Wells St., Chicago, Illinois). The JAMA article states that the Federal Trade Commission has instructed the Standard Education Society to cease and desist a deceptive marketing scheme involving encyclopedias.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Supplemental Education Association Educational Aids consist of illustrated pamphlets containing class enrichment suggestions for primary and secondary teachers in various subject areas.


Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is unprocessed and remains in original order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The collection is currently unprocessed and not available for research. Please contact Special Collections Research Center for more information.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Corporate Bodies

Supplemental Education Association.

Subjects

Activity programs in education -- Handbooks, manuals, etc.
Education, Primary.
Education, Secondary.
School children.
Student activities.

Genres and Forms

Pamphlets.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Supplemental Education Association Educational Aids,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Transfer from Newhouse, 1986.


Table of Contents


Inventory

An inventory has not yet been created for this collection. Please contact the Repository listed above for more information.