Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Syracuse University Publications in Continuing Education (SUPCE) Records

An inventory of its records at Syracuse University


The adult education holdings are collectively known as the
Alexander N. Charters Library of Resources for Educators of Adults.

Finding aid created by: MRR
Date: 22 Jul 1991

Revision history:
2 Aug 2006 additions, reorg, converted to EAD (MRR)
24 Aug 2007 additions, description updated (MRC)
26 May 2008 additions (MRC)
8 Jul 2009 OCP 59 added (MRC)
20 Jun 2011 MSS 15 and 33 added (MRC)
8 Mar 2016 REP139 located and returned (MRC)
23 Jun 2016 MSS21 correction (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Syracuse University Publications in Continuing Education.
Title: Syracuse University Publications in Continuing Education (SUPCE) Records
Dates: 1951-2008 (bulk: 1955-1975)
Quantity: 19 linear ft.
Abstract: Material collected or published by Syracuse University Publications in Continuing Education (SUPCE). Publications include original monographs as well as works from the Clearinghouse of Resources for Educators of Adults, Fund for Adult Education, the International Seminar on Adult Education, the Center for the Study of Liberal Education for Adults, ERIC, American Foundation for Continuing Education, the Library of Continuing Education at Syracuse University, and miscellaneous publications by notable adult educators including Alexander N. Charters, Cyril O. Houle, J. Roby Kidd, A.A. Liveright, John Ohliger, James B. Whipple, et al. There are also three boxes of administrative files.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

In 1969 the Ford Foundation approved a five-year grant to Syracuse University for the continued availability, distribution, and servicing of materials developed by the American Foundation for Continuing Education and the Center for the Study of Liberal Education for Adults, both former grantees of the Ford Foundation's Fund for Adult Education. Prior to that, in 1950, University College (UC) of Syracuse University (SU) had published a series of "blue books" in the field; the University's Library of Continuing Education (LCE) developed and published a number of works in the 1960s; and ERIC initiated documents, which the University had published alone or in cooperation with other institutions. All began to be collected under the general rubric of SUPCE, along with significant works by prominent adult educators and material published by other adult education organizations such as the Fund for Adult Education. Doris Chertow served as the editor for the publications under SU's Vice President for Continuing Education, Alexander N. Charters.

Although SUPCE's federal funding ended in 1975, it continued to release updates to original SUPCE publications as well as publishing the occasional new monograph under its own name and, later, under the auspices of the Academic Institute for Educators of Adults (AIEA) within the School of Education at Syracuse University, until 2008.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Syracuse University Publications in Continuing Education (SUPCE) Records consists of a near-complete set of all material collected or published by SUPCE, along with drafts of some items and some administrative files for both SUPCE and Syracuse Resources for Educators of Adults (SUREA). Individuals well-known in the field of adult education represented in the collection include Robert J. Blakely, Alexander N. Charters, Roger DeCrow, Cyril O. Houle, J. Roby Kidd, A. A. (Alexander Albert) Liveright, Paul H. Sheats, John Ohliger, and James B. Whipple.

Drafts, notes and galleys contains pre-publication versions of a few SUPCE publications.

Publications contains a nearly-complete set of all items published, reprinted, or collected by SUPCE over the course of its existence. Although SUPCE's federal funding ended in 1975, updates to many of its publications as well as the occasional new SUPCE monograph have been released on an irregular basis over the years, under the auspices of the Academic Institute for Educators of Adults (AIEA) within the school of education at Syracuse University. The publications are divided into several subseries which are arranged alphabetically; individual items are in numerical order by their three-letter code.

Note that several of the MSS subseries documents contain lists of SUPCE publications or resources. These were accurate at the time of compilation but naturally may have since been superseded; this finding aid comprises the most complete and current listing. Because a complete list of SUPCE materials does not exist elsewhere, we have taken the unusual step of making the list given here in the finding aid complete, despite the fact that the collection itself is not. Items missing from the collection are indicated by the notation "[MISSING]" immediately following the three-letter code and preceding the title of the item. As of August 2006, Box 9 was missing. All items in that box are therefore marked as [MISSING].

Administrative files and SUREA comprise office files pertaining to the operation of these two organizations, including correspondence, financial records, order logs, and more.


Arrangement of the Collection

Material is sorted alphabetically by SUPCE's three-letter codes, and within that titles are listed numerically.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Many of the MSS series documents have been digitized and are available online. To view these document, please click here.

The library holds a considerable number of collections related to adult and continuing education. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.


Subject Headings

Persons

Blakely, Robert J.
Charters, Alexander N.
Chertow, Doris.
DeCrow, Roger.
Houle, Cyril Orvin, 1913-
Kidd, J. R. (James Robbins), 1915-1982.
Liveright, A. A. (Alexander Albert), 1907-
Ohliger, John.
Sheats, Paul H., 1907-
Whipple, James B.

Corporate Bodies

American Foundation for Continuing Education.
Center for the Study of Liberal Education for Adults.
Fund for Adult Education (U.S.)
International Seminar on Adult Education.

Subjects

Adult education.
Educational publishing.

Genres and Forms

Bibliographies.
Drafts (documents)
Essays.
Monographs.
Pamphlets.
Reports.

Occupations

Educators.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Syracuse University Publications in Continuing Education (SUPCE) Records,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

During processing (Aug 2006), Box 9 could not be found. All box 9 items have been marked [MISSING] until it can be located.


Table of Contents

Drafts, notes and galleys

Publications

Administrative files

Syracuse University Resources for Educators of Adults (SUREA)


Inventory

Note on alternate formats:

Many of the MSS series documents have been digitized and are available online. To view these document, please click here.

Drafts, notes and galleys
Box 1 AFC48 Science and Public Policy (AFCE/Oceana) (7 folders)
See also Publications: American Foundation for Continuing Education (AFCE) series (AFC): AFC48 Science and Public Policy (AFCE/Oceana)
Box 1 LNH2 The Cooperative Extension Service: Paradoxical Servant (Miller, Paul A.)
See also Publications: Landmark and New Horizons series (LNH): LNH2 The Cooperative Extension Service: Paradoxical Servant
Box 2 NES59 The System of Adult Education in Yugoslavia (Savicevic, Dusan M.)
See also Publications: Notes and Essays and Reports in Continuing Education for Adults series (NES): NES59 The System of Adult Education in Yugoslavia
Box 2 NES60 Liberal Education Reconsidered: Reflections on Continuing Education for Contemporary Man (Whipple, James B. Goldman, Freda H. Haygood, Kenneth Siegle, Peter)
See also Publications: Notes and Essays and Reports in Continuing Education for Adults series (NES): NES60 Liberal Education Reconsidered: Reflections on Continuing Education for Contemporary Man
Box 2 NES61 Aim: From Concept to Reality (Wedemeyer, Charles A. Najem, Robert E.) (2 folders)
See also Publications: Notes and Essays and Reports in Continuing Education for Adults series (NES): NES61 Aim: From Concept to Reality
Box 2, 3 NES62 Dilemmas of American Policy: Crucial Issues in Contemporary Society (Cook, Samuel Dubois Stern, George G. Green, Thomas F. Weiner, Anthony J.) (5 folders)
See also Publications: Notes and Essays and Reports in Continuing Education for Adults series (NES): NES62 Dilemmas of American Policy: Crucial Issues in Contemporary Society
Box 3 NES63 Knowledge is Power to Control Power (Blakely, Robert Lappin, I.) (2 folders)
See also Publications: Notes and Essays and Reports in Continuing Education for Adults series (NES): NES63 Knowledge is Power to Control Power
Box 3 NES64 The University and Community Service (Whipple, James B. Chertow, Doris) (2 folders)
See also Publications: Notes and Essays and Reports in Continuing Education for Adults series (NES): NES64 The University and Community Service
Box 4 NES65 Essays on New Careers: Social Implications for Adult Educators (Riessman, Frank Rosen, Sumner M. Featherstone, Joseph Gartner, Alan) (8 folders)
See also Publications: Notes and Essays and Reports in Continuing Education for Adults series (NES): NES65 Essays on New Careers: Social Implications for Adult Educators
Box 4 NES66 Essays on the Future of Continuing Education Worldwide (Ziegler, Warren) (2 folders)
See also Publications: Notes and Essays and Reports in Continuing Education for Adults series (NES): NES66 Essays on the Future of Continuing Education Worldwide
Box 4 NES69 Ends and Means: The National Conference on Continuing Education in Nursing (McHenry, Ruth W.)
See also Publications: Notes and Essays and Reports in Continuing Education for Adults series (NES): NES69 Ends and Means: The National Conference on Continuing Education in Nursing
Box 5 NES70 Residential Continuing Education (Houle, Cyril O.)
See also Publications: Notes and Essays and Reports in Continuing Education for Adults series (NES): NES70 Residential Continuing Education
Box 5 NES71 Selected Concepts from Educational Psychology and Adult Education for Extension and Continuing Educators (Leagans, J. Paul Copeland, Harlan G. Kaiser, Gertrude E.)
See also Publications: Notes and Essays and Reports in Continuing Education for Adults series (NES): NES71 Selected Concepts from Educational Psychology and Adult Education for Extension and Continuing Educators
Box 5 OCP19 Accent on Adults: The Small College Program at Brooklyn (Jacobson, Myrtle S. Offenbacher, Deborah I.)
See also Publications: Occasional Papers (CSLEA) series (OCP): OCP19 Accent on Adults: The Small College Program at Brooklyn
Box 5 OCP20 Faculty Perceptions of Continuing Education at Syracuse University (Porter, Lee)
See also Publications: Occasional Papers (CSLEA) series (OCP): OCP20 Faculty Perceptions of Continuing Education at Syracuse University
Box 5 OCP21 Community Service and Continuing Education (Whipple, James B.)
See also Publications: Occasional Papers (CSLEA) series (OCP): OCP21 Community Service and Continuing Education
Box 5 OCP22 Adult Education and the Disadvantaged Adult (Anderson, Darrel Niemi, John)
See also Publications: Occasional Papers (CSLEA) series (OCP): OCP22 Adult Education and the Disadvantaged Adult
Box 5 OCP24 Lifelong Learning or Lifelong Schooling: A Tentative View of the Ideas of Ivan Illich (Ohliger, John McCarthy, C.)
See also Publications: Occasional Papers (CSLEA) series (OCP): OCP24 Lifelong Learning or Lifelong Schooling: A Tentative View of the Ideas of Ivan Illich
Box 5 OCP25 The Learning Force: A More Comprehensive Framework for Educational Policy (Moses, Stanley)
See also Publications: Occasional Papers (CSLEA) series (OCP): OCP25 The Learning Force: A More Comprehensive Framework for Educational Policy
Publications
American Foundation for Continuing Education (AFCE) series (AFC)
Box 6 AFC1 Economics and Politics (Harlan, H. C.) 1958
Box 6 AFC2 Readings in World Politics v. 1-4, plus Discussion Leader's Manual 1951
Box 6 AFC3 Readings in World Politics v. 1-3, 2nd edition 1953
Box 6 AFC4 Readings in World Politics, Vol. 1, 2 (Goldwin, Robert A. and Lerner, Ralph; Stourzh, Gerald) 1957
Box 6 AFC5 Readings in World Politics, Session Guides (Staff, American Foundation for Political Education) 1957
Box 6 AFC6 Readings in World Politics, Sessions 1 and 2 (Staff, American Foundation for Political Education) 1957
Box 6 AFC7 Readings in World Politics, Discussion Leader's Manual (Staff, American Foundation for Political Education), 1955
Box 6 AFC8 Readings in Russian Foreign Policy, Vol. 1 and Vol. 2, 2d Edition (Goldwin, Robert A. and Zetterbaum, Marvin) 1953
Box 6 AFC9 Readings in Russian Foreign Policy, Vol. 1 and Vol. 2, 3rd Edition (Goldwin, Robert A. and Zetterbaum, Marvin) 1953
Box 6 AFC10 Readings in Russian Foreign Policy, Sessions 8 & 9 (Staff, American Foundation for Political Education) 1957
Box 6 AFC11 The Russian Foreign Policy Program, Discussion Leader's Manual (Zetterbaum, Marvin) 1957
Box 6 AFC12 Readings in Russian Foreign Policy, Supplement; Tables and Maps (Goldwin, Robert A. and Zetterbaum, Marvin) 1953
Box 6 AFC13 Readings in American Democracy, Vol. 1 and 2 (Stourzh, Gerald and Lerner, Ralph) 1957
Box 6 AFC14 [MISSING] Readings in American Democracy, Sessions 1 & 2 (Staff, American Foundation for Political Education)
Box 6 AFC15 A Statement Concerning the American Foundation for Political Education (Staff) 1953
Box 6 AFC16 Annual Report of Ex. Director Year ending March 31, American Foundation for Political Education (Nelson, Charles E.)
Box 6 AFC17 Annual Report of Ex. Director Year ending June 30, American Foundation for Political Education (Nelson, Charles E.)
Box 6 AFC18 American Foundation for Political Education, A Statement - Including Annual Report of Exec. Director - Year ending June 30, 1955 (Nelson, Charles E.) 1956
Box 6 AFC19 American Foundation for Political Education, A Statement - Including Annual Report of Exec. Director - Year Ending June 30, 1956 (Ziegler, Jerome M.) 1956
Box 6 AFC20 American Foundation for Political Education, Annual Report - Year ending June 30, 1957 (Ziegler, Jerome M.) 1958
Box 6 AFC21 American Foundation for Continuing Education, 2 Year Report - Period ending June 30, 1959 (Ziegler, Jerome) 1959
Box 6 AFC22 [MISSING] American Foundation for Continuing Education, Programs and Publications (Williams, Harold S.)
Box 6 AFC23 American Foundations for Continuing Education, Programs and Publications (Williams, Harold S.)
Box 6 AFC24 [MISSING] The American Foreign Policy Program, Discussion Leader's Manual (Goldwin, Robert A.) 1955
Box 9 AFC25 [MISSING] Readings in American Foreign Policy (Goldwin, Robert A. and Stourzh, Gerald) 6th edition 1958 - Vol. I - Sessions 1-5
Vol. II - Sessions 6-8
Box 9 AFC26 [MISSING] Readings in American Foreign Policy (Goldwin, Robert A.) 4th edition 1955 - Vol. 1 - Sessions 1-4
Vol. 2 - Sessions 5-7
Vol. 3 - Sessions 8-10
Box 9 AFC27 [MISSING] Readings for Men & Labor (Fertig, Ralph D.) 1962
Box 6 AFC28 Readings for Peace Corps Trainees, nos. 1-5, 8-10 (Christensen, David; University of Chicago) 1966 (8 folders)
Vol. I - The Peace Corps: Missionary Society's Peace Army or What?
Vol. II - Cultural Confrontation:Terrifying and Illuminating
Vol. III - Freedom Round or Freedom Square
Vol. IV - On the Making of Volunteers
Vol. V - Of Gifts and Bribes and Stones that Cry
Vol VIII - Varieties of Cannibalism
Vol. IX - Bringing It All Back Home
Vol. X - Where Has It Been and Where Is It Going?
Box 9 AFC29 [MISSING] Ways to Justice (Sinclair, Lister) 1954
Box 9 AFC30[MISSING] Jefferson and Our Times (Malone, Dumas) 1955
Box 9 AFC31 [MISSING] Jeffersonian Heritage (Malone, Dumas) 1955
Box 9 AFC32 [MISSING] Introduction to the Humanities (record album)
Box 9 AFC33 [MISSING] Great Issues in American Politics Part I (Hofstadter, Richard) 1956
See also Administrative files: "Great Issues in American Politics"
Box 9 AFC34 [MISSING] The Power to Govern: An Examination of the Separation of Powers in the American System of Government (Odegard, Peter H. and Rosenblum, Victor G.) 1957
Box 9 AFC35 [MISSING] Economics and Politics: A Book of Readings (Harlan, H. C.) 1958
Box 9 AFC36 [MISSING] Arms and Foreign Policy in the Nuclear Age (Rakove, Milton) 1964
Box 9 AFC37 [MISSING] Developing Responsible Public Leaders (Nelson, Charles A.)
Box 9 AFC38 [MISSING] The Case of the Lively Ghost (Goldwin, Robert A. and Shoemaker, Don) 1956
Box 9 AFC39 [MISSING] The Case of the Toppling Idol (Stourzh, Gerald) 1956
Box 9 AFC40 [MISSING] The Case of the Lengthening Chain (Steward, Jr., Charles K. and Goldwin, Robert A.) 1959
Box 9 AFC41 [MISSING] The Case of the Blighted City (Banfield, Edward C.) 1959
Box 9 AFC42 [MISSING] The Case of the Censored Librarian (Berns, Walter F.) 1959
Box 9 AFC43 [MISSING] The Case of the Golden Door (Davidson, James F.) 1960
Box 9 AFC44, 45, 46 [MISSING] Readings for Capitol Hill, Vols. 1, 2, 3 (Ziegler, Warren L.) 1963
Box 9 AFC47 [MISSING] Exploring the Universe (McGraw-Hill) 1963
Box 9 AFC48 [MISSING] Science and Public Policy (AFCE/Oceana) 1970
See also Drafts, notes and galleys: AFC48 Science and Public Policy (AFCE/Oceana)
Box 9 AFC49 [MISSING] The Exploration of the Universe (AFCE) 1962
Box 9 AFC50 [MISSING] Democracy in America: Scripts of the Fourteen Dramatizations (with National Educational Television Radio Center) (Sinclair, Lister and Probst, George E.) 1962
Box 9 AFC51 [MISSING] The Happy Republic (Probst, George E., ed.; Harper Torchbooks) 1962
Box 9 AFC52 [MISSING] Democracy in America: Vols. 1 & 2 (de Tocqueville, Alexis; Vintage Books and Schocken Books) 1962
Box 9 AFC53 [MISSING] Democracy in America: Laden's Discussion and Reading Guide (Probst, George E.) 1962
Box 9 AFC54 [MISSING] Democracy in America: Discussion and Reading Guide (for students and discussion participants) (Probst, George E.) 1962
Box 9 AFC55 [MISSING] Readings in American Foreign Policy (Stourzh, Gerald and Goldwin, Robert A.) 1959
Box 9 AFC55A [MISSING] Readings in American Foreign Policy, second edition (Goldwin, Robert A. and Clar, Harry M.) 1971
Box 9 AFC56 [MISSING] Readings in Russian Foreign Policy (Stourzh, Gerald and Zetterbaum, Marvin, eds). 1959
Box 6 AFC57 Exploring the Ways of Mankind (book) (Goldschmidt, Walter, editor) 1960
Box 6 AFC58 Aging in Today's Society (Tibbits, Clark and Donahue, Wilma) 1960
Box 6 AFC59 Discovering Modern Poetry (Drew, Elizabeth and Conner, George) 1961
Box 6 AFC60 The Mystery of Matter, Vol. 1 (Young, Louise B.) 1963
Box 7 AFC61 [MISSING] The Mystery of Matter, Vol. 2 (Young, Louise B.) 1962
Box 7 AFC62 [MISSING] The Mystery of Matter, Vol. 3 (Young, Louise B.) 1962
Box 7 AFC62A The Mystery of Matter (Young, Louise B.) 1965
Box 7 AFC63 Discussion Leader's Guide for Use with Discovering Modern Poetry (Drew, Elizabeth and Conner, George) 1961
Box 7 AFC64 [MISSING] Reading in Economics and Politics (Harlan, H. C.; Galbraith, Kenneth; Lerner, Max; Nixon, Richard; Kennan, George, editors) 1966
Box 7 AFC65 Readings in American Democracy (Stourzh, Gerald and Lerner, Ralph, eds) 1966
Box 7 AFC66 Ten Major Issues in American Politics (Hofstadter, Richard) 1968
Box 7 AFC67 Readings in World Politics (Pearce, Anthony; Oxford Press) 1970
Box 7 AFC68 Evolution of Man (Young, Louise B., ed.) 1970
See also Administrative: "Evolution of Man" - correspondence; Administrative: "Evolution of Man" - contract agreement
Box 7 AFC69 Readings on Drug Education (Reagen, Michael V., ed.) 1972
Box 7 AFC70 [MISSING] The Citizen and the New Age of Science, Vol. 1
Box 7 AFC71 Advanced Management Training Workbook
Syracuse University Centennial series (CEN)
Box 7 CEN1 [MISSING] Continuing Education Programs #1 (Charters, Alexander N., ed.) 1971
Box 7 CEN2 Bureau of School Service #2 (Charters, Alexander N., ed.) 1970
Box 7 CEN3 Division of International Programs Abroad #3 (Charters, Alexander N., ed.) 1970
Box 7 CEN4 Division of Summer Sessions #4 (Charters, Alexander N., ed.)
Box 7 CEN5 ERIC Clearinghouse on Adult Education #5 (Charters, Alexander N.)
Box 7 CEN6 International Management Development Department (Charters, Alexander N.) 1970
Box 7 CEN7 Library of Continuing Education #7 (Charters, Alexander N., ed.) 1970
Box 7 CEN8 Archives of Continuing Education #717A (Charters, Alexander N., ed.)
Box 7 CEN9 Professional Development in Adult and Continuing Education (Charters, Alexander N., ed.) 1970
Box 7 CEN10 Publications in Continuing Education #9 (Charters, Alexander N., ed.)
Box 7 CEN11 Research, Evaluation, and Planning in Adult and Continuing Education #10 (Charters, Alexander N., ed.) 1970
Box 7 CEN12 This is U.C. #11 (Charters, Alexander N., ed.) 1970
Clearinghouse of Resources for Educators of Adults (CREA) series (CRE)
Box 7 CRE1 Acquisition List, Clearinghouse of Resources for Educators of Adults: by Descriptive Subject Headings (Charters, Alexander N. and Holmwood, Donald P.)
Box 7 CRE2 Newsletters, Clearinghouse of Resources for Educators of Adults (Charters, Alexander N. and Holmwood, Donald P.) 1978
Box 7 CRE3 Professional Development for Educators of Adults: A Bibliography (Charters, Alexander N. and Holmwood, Donald P. Compilers) 1977
Box 7 CRE4 Annotated Bibliography for the Education of Public Offenders: By Descriptive Subject Headings (Charters, Alexander N. and Holmwood, Donald P. Willis, Michael J.)
Box 7 CRE5 Community Education: An Annotated Bibliography (Charters, Alexander N. and Gschwender, Edward J.) 1979
Box 8 CRE6 Literacy in the '70s: An Annotated Bibliography (Rivera, W. and Laubach, Robert S.) 1980
Distributing Agent series (DAG)
Box 8 DAG1 Strategies for Lifelong learning (Himmelstrup, Per, et al., ed.) 1981
Eric Clearinghouse on Adult Education series (ECA)
Box 8 ECA1 Evening College Education 1967
Box 8 ECA2 Higher Adult Education #1 1967
Box 8 ECA3 [MISSING] Community Education for Adults 1967
Box 8 ECA4 Adult Basic Education 1967
Box 8 ECA5 Continuing Education in the Professions 1967
Box 8 ECA6 Management Development 1967
Box 8 ECA7 Television and Radio in Adult Education 1967
Box 8 ECA8 Methods and Techniques in Adult Training 1967
Box 8 ECA9 Training of Adult Education Personnel 1967
Box 8 ECA10 Public School Adult Education 1968
Box 8 ECA11 Human Relations-Training and Research 1968
Box 8 ECAl2 Higher Adult Education #2 1968
Box 8 ECA13 Adult Education in Africa 1968
Box 8 ECA14 Adult Education in Asia, Australia and New Zealand 1968
Box 8 ECA15 Education for Aging 1968
Box 8 ECA16 Programmed Instruction in Adult Education 1968
Box 8 ECA17 Community Education for Adults 1968
Box 8 ECA18 Management Development 1968
Box 8 ECA19 Adult Basic Education 1968
Box 8 ECA20 Public School Adult Education 1968
Box 8 ECA21 Adult Learning Characteristics 1968
Box 8 ECA22 Continuing Education of Women 1968
Box 8 ECA23 Counseling and Personnel Services in Adult Education: Counseling, Testing, Selection, Retention (Glick, Barry, ed.) 1969
Box 8 ECA24 [MISSING] Unknown
Box 8 ECA25 Residential Adult Education 1969
300+ pages, available on microfilm only. MICROFILM #2973.
Box 8 ECA26 Management and Supervisory Development 1969
Box 8 ECA27 Adult Basic Education 1970
Box 8 ECA28 Programmed Instruction in Business and Industry 1970
Box 8 ECA29 Occupational Training for Disadvantaged Adults 1970
Box 8 ECA30 Parent, Home and Family Life Education, 1970
Box 8 ECA31 Personnel Development in Adult Education 1970
Box 8 ECA32 Continuing Education of Women 1970
Box 8 ECA33 [MISSING] Training of Law Enforcement Personnel 1971
Box 8 ECA34 [MISSING] Methods and Techniques of Adult Training
Box 8 ECA35 Cooperative Extension 1968
Box 8 ECA36 [MISSING] Adult Education Research Current Information Series 1968
Box 8 ECA37 [MISSING] ERIC Clearinghouse on Adult Education 1967
Box 8 ECA38 [MISSING] ERIC Clearinghouse on Adult Education 1968
Box 8 ECA39 [MISSING] Scope and Service of ERIC-AE 1968
Box 8 ECA40 ERIC-AE Publications 1967-69 1969
Box 8 ECA41 [MISSING] Joint Newsletter with University College, Syracuse University Eric Clearinghouse on Adult Education
Box 8 ECA42 Continuing Education for Adults (Nos. 129-154, 155, 157, 163, 166, 167, 171, 177, 179) 1968-1973
Box 8 ECA43 Research and Investigation in Adult Education 1967
Box 8 ECA44 Evening College Education 1967
Box 8 ECA45 Adult Education Periodical Holdings Literature 1967
Box 8 ECA46 Abstracts of Papers Presented to the National Seminar on Adult Education Research 1968
Box 8 ECA47 A Model Information System for the Adult Education Profession (DeCrow, Roger) 1968
Box 8 ECA48 [MISSING] Cross-Cultural Training (DeCrow, Roger) 1968
Box 8 ECA49 Mass Media in Adult Education: A Review of Recent Literature (Ohliger, John) 1968
Box 8 ECA50 A Register of Research and Investigation in Adult Education Adult Education 1968
Box 8 ECA51 Cross-Cultural Interaction Skills: A Digest of Recent Training (DeCrow, Roger) 1969
Box 8 ECA52 Adult Education and the Disadvantaged Adult (Anderson, Darrell and Niemi, John A.) 1969
Box 8 ECA53 Adult Education in Germany: Bibliography (Schadt, Armin L.) 1969
Box 8 ECA54 [MISSING] A Handbook for Teachers of English to Non-English Speaking Adults (Hefferman-Cabrera, Patricia) 1969
Box 8 ECA55 [MISSING] Adult Learning and Instruction (Grabowski, Stanley M., ed.) 1970
Box 8 ECA56 Education for Aging: A Review of Recent Literature (Jacobs, H. Lee; Mason, W. Dean; Kauffman, Earl) 1970
Box 8 ECA57 [MISSING] Correspondence Study: A Summary Review of the Research and, Development of Literature (Mathieson, David E.) 1971
Box 8 ECA58 Self Concept in Adult Participation: Conference Report and Bibliography 1969
Box 8 ECA59 [MISSING] The Use of Mass Media in Religiously Motivated Adult Educators: A Review of the Literature (Clyde, Robert W. Jaberg, Eugene C.) 1970
Box 8 ECA60 Mass Media in Public Affairs: A Review of the Literature (Power, Hilton M.)
Box 8 ECA61 Digests of Papers Presented to the Adult Research Conference, February 27-28, 1970 Minneapolis 1970
Box 8 ECA62 ERIC Clearinghouse on Adult Education: Publications,1969-1970 1970
Box 8 ECA63 [MISSING] ERIC Clearinghouse on Adult Education Information Analysis Priorities 1970
Box 8 ECA64 [MISSING] The Mass Media in Cooperative Extension: A Review of Recent Literature (Everly, Jack C.) 1971
Box 8 ECA65 [MISSING] Television: A Viable Channel for Educating Adults in Culturally Different Poverty Groups: A Literature Review (Niemi, John A. and Anderson, Darrel V.) 1971
Box 8 ECA66 [MISSING] The Use of Mass Media in Adult Education in Countries Outside the U.S. and Canada: A Literature Review (Cassirer, Henry R.) 1971
Box 8 ECA67 "I'm Beginning to Think Like the Bird!" Or, Social and Philosophical Issues in the Use of Mass Media in Adult Education: A Review of the Literature (Blakely, Robert J.) 1971
Box 8 ECA68 [MISSING] The Mass Media in Adult Education in the Developing Countries: A Literature Review (Guevlette, David G.) 1971
Box 8 ECA69 Cost Benefit Analysis and the Adult Educator: A Literature Review (Steele, Sara M.) 1971
Box 8 ECA70 Abstract of Papers Presented to the National Seminar on Adult Education Research February 1969, Toronto (Grabowski, Stanley M.) 1969
Box 8 ECA71 [MISSING] Needed: A New Coalition for Public Affairs Education (A Review of the Literature) (Johnson, Eugene I.) 1972
Box 8 ECA72 The Education of the Mentally Retarded Adult: A Selective Review of the Literature (Long, Huey B.) 1973
Box 8 ECA73 The Preparation of Adult Educators: A Selected Review of the Literature Produced in North America
Fund for Adult Education series (FAE)
Box 10 FAE1 [MISSING] Economic Reasoning, An Introduction to (Robinson, Marshall A. and Morton, Herbert C.) 1955
Box 10 FAE2 Readings for the Executive Seminar, 2d edition (Brooks, Shepherd) 1960 - Vol. I, Vol. II
Box 10 FAE3 An Introduction to Economic Reasoning: A Manual for Discussion Group Participants and Leaders (Robinson, Marshall A. and Morton, Herbert C.) 1955
Box 10 FAE4 An Introduction to Economic Reasoning: Book of Readings (Robinson, Marshall A.; Morton, Herbert C.; Calderwood, James D.) 1956
Box 10 FAE5 Looking at Modern Painting: A Discussion Leader's Guide (Field, Frances)
Box 10 FAE6 Looking at Modern Painting: A Study Discussion Program (Department of Art - University Extension - University of California, L.A.) 1957
Box 10 FAE7 An Introduction to the Humanities: A Guide for Discussion Leaders (Humanities Staff University of Chicago) 1958
Box 10 FAE8 What to Listen for in Music (Copland, Aaron) 1939
Box 10 FAE9 An Introduction to the Humanities: Book of Readings and Music Supplement (University of Chicago) 1955
Box 10 FAE10 Humanities: Adult Education Series: 10 Units Introducing Painting, Music and Literature, Revised (Ashbrook, William; Carpenter, Marjorie; Dudley, Louise; Sterling, Alfred) 1954
Box 10 FAE11 FAE Avenue to the Arts A. Authors - Biographical Sketch - Titles (Fund for Adult Education) 1959
Box 10 FAE12 FAE Avenue to the Arts B. Table of Contents (Fund for Adult Education) 1959
Box 10 FAE13 FAE Avenue to the Arts C. Part one - Part two (Fund for Adult Education) 1959
Box 10 FAE14 FAE Avenue to the Arts D. Part three - Session IV (Fund for Adult Education) 1959
Box 10 FAE15 FAE Avenue to the Arts E. Part three - Session V (Fund for Adult Education) 1959
Box 10 FAE16 FAE Avenue to the Arts F. Part three - Session VI (Fund for Adult Education) 1959
Box 10 FAE17 FAE Avenue to the Arts G. Part three - Session VII & VIII (Fund for Adult Education) 1959
Box 10 FAE18 FAE Avenue to the Arts H. Part three - Session IX (Fund for Adult Education) 1959
Box 10 FAE19 FAE Avenue to the Arts I. Part four - Session X (Fund for Adult Education) 1959
Box 10 FAE20 FAE Avenue to the Arts J. Part four - Session X & XI (Fund for Adult Education) 1959
Box 10 FAE21 The Educational Experience (Redfield, Robert) 1955
Box 10 FAE22 A Study of Participants in the Great Books Program (Davis, James A.) 1957
Box 10 FAE23 The Great Awakening: Including a Plan for Education for Leadership in the U.S. (Fletcher, C. Scott) 1958
Box 10 FAE24 Education for Public Responsibility (Fund for Adult Education) 1958
Box 10 FAE25 Accent on Learning (Burch, Glen) 1960
Box 10 FAE26 A Comparative Study of Lecture and Discussion Methods (Hill, Richard J.) 1960
Box 10 FAE27 Studies in Adult Group Learning in the Liberal Arts (Kaplan, Abbott) 1960
Box 10 FAE28 Able People Well Prepared (Shilen, Ronald) 1961
Box 10 FAE29 A Ten Year Report of the Fund for Adult Education 1951-1961: Ford Foundation 1961
Box 10 FAE30 [MISSING] Great Issues in American Politics: Part I (Hofstadter, Richard) 1956
See also Administrative files: "Great Issues in American Politics"
Box 10 FAE31 [MISSING] The Happy Republic
Box 10 FAE32 Readings in the Ways of Mankind Vol. 1, Vol. 2 (Fund for Adult Education) 1957
Box 11 FAE33 Readings in the Ways of Mankind: Discussion Leader's Guide 1957
Box 11 FAE34 Looking at Modern Poetry (Freedman, Leonard, ed.) 1961
Box 11 FAE34A Discovering Modern Poetry (Drew, Elizabeth and Connor, George) 1961
Box 11 FAE34B Discovering Modern Poetry (Drew, Elizabeth)
Box 11 FAE35 Ways to Justice (Goldsmidt, Walter and Sinclair, Lester) 1954-1955
Box 11 FAE36 Looking at Modern Paintings: A Discussion Leader's Guide (The Fund for Adult Education) 1958
Box 11 FAE37 Residential Colleges: Some New Developments in British Adult Education (Hunter, Guy)
Box 11 FAE37A Looking at Modern Paintings (Freedman, Leonard) 1961
Box 11 FAE38 Education: The Challenge Ahead (Fletcher, C. Scott)
Box 11 FAE39 The Perkins Lectures: Popular Government and Foreign Policy (Perkins, Dexter) 1956
Box 11 FAE40 Ways of Mankind: How to organize a listen-and-talk group in your own home 1960
Box 11 FAE40A Exploring the Ways of Mankind (Goldschmidt, Walter) 1961
Box 11 FAE40B Discussion Leader's Guide for Use with Exploring the Ways of Mankind (Goldschmidt, Walter) 1954
Box 11 FAE40C Ways of Mankind: An Adult Discussion Program (Goldschmidt, Walter) 1955
Box 11 FAE40D Ways of Mankind (National Association of Educational Broadcasters) 1958
Box 11 FAE40E The Ways of Mankind: A Discussion Leader's Guide (The Fund for Adult Education) 1953
Box 11 FAE40F A Word in Your Ear: A Study in Language (Essay No. 1 in the series of experimental discussion programs on "The Ways of Mankind") 1954
Box 11 FAE40G The Ways of Mankind Adult Discussion Series: How People Live Together Different Times and Places (The Fund for Adult Education) 1954
Box 11 FAE40H Ways of Mankind Discussion Leader's Guide 1954
Box 11 FAE41 You and Modern Art (Langsher, Jules) 1954
Box 11 FAE42 The Citizen and the Mass Media (Dale, Edgar and Kilbourn, Robert W.) 1956
Box 11 FAE43 You and the Mass Media Part I; Supplementary readings; Part II; Additional readings to Session III (Seldes, Gilbert) 1957
Box 11 FAE44 [MISSING] You and Your Community
Box 11 FAE44A Our Community (Mial, Dorothy and Curtis) 1980
Box 11 FAE44B Obstacles to Healthy Community Growth (Dodson, Dart W.) 1954
Box 11 FAE44C The Future of the Community (McKee, Elmore) 1954
Box 11 FAE44D Participant's Manual (Fund for Adult Education) 1954
Box 11 FAE44E Aging in the Modern (World University of Michigan) 1957
Box 12 FAE45 Shakespeare and His Theatre (Canadian Association for Adult Education) 1958
Box 12 FAE46 The Power to Govern (Odegard, Peter H. and Rosenblum, Walter G.) 1956
Box 12 FAE47 Transition and Tension in Southeast Asia (Peffer, Nathanial) 1957
Box 12 FAE48 You and Modern Art (Fund for Adult Education) 1953
Library of Continuing Education at Syracuse University series (LCE)
Box 12 LCE1 Directory of Adult Education Association (Vaughn, Betty Jane) 1965
Box 12 LCE2 Directory of Adult Education Association (DeCrow, Roger; Ironside, Diana J.; Vaughn, Betty Jane) 1966
Box 12 LCE3 University Adult Education: A Selected Bibliography (DeCrow, Roger; Ironside, Diana J.; Vaughn, Betty Jane) 1966
Box 12 LCE4 Directory of Adult Education Association (Ironside, Diana J.) 1968
Box 12 LCE5 Directory of Adult Education Organizations (Vaughn, Betty Jane) 1970
Box 12 LCE6 [MISSING] Recent Acquisitions: Adult Education Periodical Holdings and Adult Education Newsletter Holdings (DeCrow, Roger; Ironside, Diana J.; Vaughn, Betty Jane) 1971
Box 12 LCE7 [MISSING] International Seminar on Adult Education (Ziegler, Warren L., Seminar Director)
Landmark and New Horizons series (LNH)
Box 12 LNH1 Report on the 1969 Galaxy Conference of Adult Education Organizations (Charters, Alexander N.) 1971
Box 12 LNH2 The Cooperative Extension Service: Paradoxical Servant (Miller, Paul A.) 1973
See also Drafts, notes and galleys: LNH2 The Cooperative Extension Service: Paradoxical Servant
Box 12 LNH3 A Tale of Three Cities: Elsinore-Montreal-Tokyo (Kidd, James Robbins) 1974
Box 12 LNH4 The Worker's Educational Association: Aims and Achievements (Fieldhouse, Roger) 1977
Manuscript series (MSS)
Note on alternate formats: Many of the MSS documents have been digitized and are available online. To view these document, please click here.
Box 12 MSS1 Aids to Access - Resources for Educators of Adults (Charters, Alexander N.) 1978
Box 12 MSS2 Professional Development of Educators of Adults (Charters, Alexander N.) 1977
Box 12 MSS3 Desarrollo Professional de Educadores de Adultos (Charters, Alexander N.) 1977
Box 12 MSS4 Publications in Continuing Education (Charters, Alexander N., ed.) 1978
Box 12 MSS5 Who We Are: What Some Educators Say About Their Characteristics, Competencies, and Roles (Charters, Alexander N. and Hilton, Ronald J.) 1977
Box 12 MSS6 Continuing Education for Educators of Adults: The Roles of Research (Charters, Alexander N.) 1977
Box 12 MSS7 Syracuse University Resources in Adult Education (Charters, Alexander N.) 1978
Box 12 MSS8 Periodicals, Newsletters, & Indexes in E.S. Bird Library and Clearinghouse of Resources for Educators of Adults (Charters, Alexander N. and Holmwood, Donald P.) 1978
Box 12 MSS9 Accessibility to Resources for Educators of Adults (Charters, Alexander N.) 1977
Box 12 MSS10 Acquisition List Pamphlet File - E.S. Bird Library (Charters, Alexander N.) 1977
Box 12 MSS11 Abstracts of Dissertations and Theses: Syracuse University Graduates in Adult Education (Charters, Alexander N.) 1979
Box 13 MSS12 Publications in Continuing Education, Revised (Charters, Alexander N.) 1980
Box 13 MSS13 Acquisition List Pamphlet File - E.S. Bird Library - Revised (Charters, Alexander N.) 1980
Box 13 MSS14 Clearinghouse Resources for Educators of Adults. Four Year Report October1975-June 1979) (Charters, Alexander N., Project Director) 1980
Box 13 MSS15 Syracuse University Resources in Adult Education, Revised (Charters, Alexander N.) 1979
Box 13 MSS16 Adult and Continuing Education Collections: A Descriptive List of Manuscript Holdings in Syracuse University Libraries (Charters, Alexander N., compiler) 1977
Box 13 MSS17 Adult Education Masters' Theses and Doctoral Dissertations on Microfilm in S.U. Library (Charters, Alexander N., compiler) 1977
Box 13 MSS18 International Handbook of Resources for Educators of Adults (Charters, Alexander N., ed.) 1979 - 2 versions, 6.76 and 10.76
See also related collection Alexander Charters Papers: Professional correspondence-subject files: International Handbook of Resources for Educators of Adults.
Box 13 MSS19 Personal Papers of Frank C. Laubach: Documents of Laubach Literacy, Inc. (Chmaj, Deborah R. and Wolde, Menbere, compilers) 1974
Box 13 MSS20 The Paul Hoy Helms Library in Liberal Adult Education (Charters, Alexander N., compiler) 1973
Box 13 MSS21 The What and the How of the Syracuse Collection (Stubblefield, Harold) 1984
In some lists, MSS21 is given as "Omnibus Series (Charters, Alexander N.), 1965." However, that is not what is in the collection.
Box 13 MSS22 Audio Tapes - E.S. Bird Library (Charters, Alexander N., compiler) 1976
Box 13 MSS23 Adult Education Sound and Video Recordings - E.S. Bird Library (Charters, Alexander N. and Abbott, George) 1982
Box 13 MSS24 Omnibus Series - E.S. Bird Library (Charters, Alexander N., compiler) 1976
Box 13 MSS25 Humanizing Adult Education Research: Five Stories from the 1930's (Hilton, Ronald) 1982
Box 13 MSS26 Publications in Continuing Education (Charters, Alexander N. and Holmwood, Donald) 1983
Box 13 MSS27 Syracuse University Publications in Continuing Education on Microfiche (Charters, Alexander N.) 1983
See MSS36 for later version.
Box 13 MSS28 [MISSING] Continuing Education Photograph Collection: by Event and Person (Charters, Alexander N. and Davis, Carolyn)
Box 13 MSS29 Adult Education Periodicals and Newsletters - E.S. Bird Library (Charters, Alexander N. and Gschwender, Edward) 1983
See MSS41 for later version.
Box 13 MSS30 [MISSING] Acquisition List Pamphlet File - E.S. Bird Library (Charters, Alexander N. and Goodman, Edward) 1983
Box 13 MSS31 SUPCE and SUREA: Publications and Resources for Educators of Adults (Stubblefield, Harold W.) 1983 Nov
Box 13 MSS32 Syracuse University Resources for Educators of Adults A Retrospective View: Looking into the Future (Charters, Alexander N. and Vaughn, Betty Jane) 1986 Jan
See MSS53 for later version.
Box 13 MSS33 Historical and Research Materials Related to Adult Continuing Education (Frost, Jane B., compiler) 1988
See MSS35 for later version.
Box 13 MSS34 The Adult Education Collection at Syracuse University (Charters, Alexander N., compiler) 1989
Box 13 MSS35 Historical and Research Materials Related to Adult Continuing Education (Frost, Jane B., compiler) 1992
Revision/update of MSS33
Box 13 MSS36 Publications in Continuing Education (Charters, Alexander N. and Holmwood, Donald) 1992
Revision/update of MSS27. See MSS45 for later version.
Box 13 MSS37 Adult Education Sound & Video Recordings (Charters, Alexander N. and Abbot, George) 1992
Revised and updated MSS23. See MSS48 for later version.
Box 13 MSS38 Bibliography of Materials Autographed by Educators of Adults 1992
Box 13 MSS39 Finding Aid to Alexander N. Charters Materials in Archives (Charters, Alexander N.) 1992
Box 13 MSS40 Abridged Descriptive Subject Listing for Adult and Continuing Education Research Collection 1992
Box 13 MSS41 [MISSING] Adult Education Periodicals and Newsletters – E.S. Bird Library. 1992
Revision/update of MSS29
Box 13 MSS42 Adult Education Acquisitions List: Pamphlet File, E.S. Bird Library (Charters, Alexander N.) 1992
Revision/update of MSS30
Box 13 MSS43 Some Observations: Early Years of Committee/Coalition of Adult Education Organizations (CAEO) (Charters, Alexander N.) 1992
Box 13 MSS44 Comparative Studies in Adult Education: A Review (Charters, Alexander N.) 1992
Box 13 MSS45 [MISSING] Publications in Continuing Education (Charters, Alexander N. and Holmwood, Donald) 1996
Revision of MSS36. See MSS49 for later version.
Box 13 MSS46 Photographs in Adult and Continuing Education (A); Descriptive Subject Headings (N) (Charters, Alexander N.) 1995
Box 13 MSS47 SUPCE Supplements to MS 13, 29, 35, 37, 38 (Charters, Alexander N. and Keenan, Terrance) 1995
Box 13 MSS48 Adult Education Sound and Video Recordings (Charters, Alexander N. and Abbot, George) 2003
Revision/update of MSS37
Box 13 MSS49 Publications in Continuing Education (Charters, Alexander N. and Shablak, Scott) 2003
Revision/update of MSS45
Box 13 MSS50 Adult Educational Journals and Associations (Charters, Alexander N. and Shablak, Scott) 2003
Box 14 MSS51 Adult and Continuing Education Pamphlets, Materials and Fugitive (Charters, Alexander N.) 2004 (Mar)
Box 14 MSS52 Syracuse University Adult and Continuing Education: Pamphlets, Materials and Fugitive (Shablak, Scott and Cooper, Natasha) 2004 (Aug)
Box 14 MSS53 Syracuse University Resources for Educators of Adults: A Retrospective View: Looking into the Future (Charters, Alexander N. and Shablak, Scott) 2006
Revision/update of MSS32
Box 14 MSS54 Continuing Education at Syracuse University, 1973 (Charters, Alexander N.) 2005 (May)
Box 14 MSS55 Comparative Adult Education: An Overview (Charters, Alexander N.) 1988, 2007, 2008
Notes and Essays in Continuing Education for Adults series (NES)
Box 14 NES1 The Pooling of Ignorance (Smith, Russell F.W.) 1952
Box 14 NES2 Report to Atlanta Convention (CSLEA) 1952
Box 14 NES3 Evaluating Courses not Students (Miller, Harry L.) 1953
Box 14 NES4 Social Roles of the Middle-Aged (Havighurst, Robert) 1953
Box 14 NES5 Television and the University (University of Chicago) 1953
Box 14 NES6 A School for Optimists (McGee, Paul) 1953
Box 14 NES7 The Liberation of the Adult (Kallen, Horace) 1954
Box 14 NES8 Adult Education as a Time-Binding (Hayakawa, S. I.) 1954
Box 14 NES9 Mass Society and Liberal Education (Mills, C. Wright) 1954
Box 14 NES10 Teaching a Human Relations (Malumud, Daniel I.) 1955
Box 14 NES11 Faculty Organization at Rutgers (Demarest, G. Stuart) 1955
Box 14 NES12 Psychological Needs for Adults (Murphy, Gardner and Kuhlen, Raymond G.) 1955
Box 14 NES13 Schooling for Maturity (Diekhoff, John S.) 1955
Box 14 NES14 The Residential School in American (Pitkin, Royce S.) 1956
Box 14 NES15 Professional Preparation of Adult Educators 1956
Box 14 NES16 Reality and Purpose: A Visitor's Reflections on Some Aspects of American Adult Education (Elsdon, Konrad. T.) 1957
Box 14 NES17 Adult Education in the Liberal Arts Colleges (Crimi, James E.) 1957
Box 14 NES18 Liberal Education (Carnegie Foundation) 1957
Box 14 NES19 Especially for, Adults (Whipple, John B.) 1957
Box 14 NES20 The Marginality of Adult Education (Clark, Burton R.) 1958
Box 14 NES21 I Want Many Lodestars (Schwertman, John B.) 1958
Box 14 NES22 Learning and Teaching Through Discussion (Hill, Ida Stewart and Hill, William Fawcett) 1958
Box 14 NES23 Pleasures in Learning (Division of General Education of New York University) 1958
Box 14 NES24 Major Trends in Higher Adult Education (Houle, Cyril O.) 1960
Box 14 NES25 Liberal Education for Adults Re-Examined: The Queens College Program (Belth, Marc and Scheuler, Herbert) 1959
Box 14 NES26 Higher Adult Education: Its Place and Function (Simons, Hans) 1959
Box 14 NES27 A Report on University Adult Education in Australia and New Zealand (Sheats, Paul H.) 1960
Box 14 NES28 Aims in Adult Education: A Realist View (Broudy, Harry S.) 1960
Box 14 NES29 Week-End Learning in the USA (Schacht, Robert H.) 1960
Box 14 NES30 Adult Education in Colleges and Universities, Liberal Adult Education (Liveright, A. A. and Miller, Harry L.) 1960
Box 14 NES31 Adult Education in the British West Indies (Houle, Cyril O.) 1960
Box 14 NES32 On Teaching Adults: An Anthology (Miller, Marilyn V., editor) 1960
Box 14 NES33 People, Programs, and Persuasion: Some Remarks About Promoting University Adult Education (Stern, Milton R.) 1961
Box 14 NES34 Today and Tomorrow: Three Essays on Adult Education in the Future (Taylor, G.; Blackwell, G. W.; Mead, Margaret) 1961
Box 14 NES35 Challenge to the University: An Inquiry into the University's Responsibility for Adult Education (Burch, Glen) 1961
Box 14 NES36 The University and Community Education (Haygood, Kenneth) 1962
Box 14 NES37 Educational Imperative: The Negro in the Changing South (Goldman, Freda H.) 1963
Box 14 NES38 The Few and the Many: Two Views on Public Affairs Education (Freedman, Leonard and Power, Hilton) 1963
Box 14 NES39 Meanings of Work (Levy, Sidney J.) 1963
Box 14 NES40 Psychological Backgrounds of Adult Education (Kuhlen, Raymond C., editor) 1963
Box 14 NES41 Sociological Backgrounds of Adult Education (Burns, Hobart W., editor) 1964
Box 14 NES42 Ordered Pluralism: A Philosophical Plan of Action for Teaching (Barton, George E.)
Box 14 NES43 Perspective on Automation: Three Talks to Educators (Theobald, Robert; Johnston, John W. C.; Weinberg, Jack) 1964
Box 14 NES44 Growing Time (DeCrow, Roger, editor) 1964
Box 14 NES45 Meaning and Metaphor (Goldberg, Maxwell H.) 1965
Box 14 NES46 A Live Option: Potentials for the Evening College (Haygood, Kenneth, editor)
Box 14 NES47 A Turning to Take Next: Alternative Goals in the Education of Woman (Goldman, Freda H.) 1965
Box 14 NES48 Education in the Peace Corps: Evolving Concepts of Volunteer Training (Pagano, Jules) 1965
Box 14 NES49 Toward a Homeodynamic Society (Blakely, R. J.) 1965
Box 14 NES50 Institutional Backgrounds of Adult Education: Dynamics of change in the Modern University (Ingham, R. J., editor)
Box 14 NES51 Oakland Papers: Symposium on Social Change and Educational Continuity (Whipple, James B. and Woditsch, Gary A., editors) 1966
Box 14 NES52 Speaking for Myself: A Humanist Approach to Adult Education for a Technical Age (Deinum, Andries) 1966
Box 14 NES53 Political Backgrounds of Adult Education: The University in Urban Society (Cummings, Thomas, editor) 1967
Box 14 NES54 The Continuing Task: Reflections on Purpose in Higher Continuing Education (Houle, Cyril O.; Blackwell, Gordon W.; Kallen, Horace M.; Whipple, James B.) 1967
Box 14 NES55 A Critical Balance: History of CSLEA (Whipple, James B.) 1967
Box 14 NES56 On Behalf of Adult Education: A Historical Examination of the Supporting Literature (Cotton, Webster E.) 1958
Box 14 NES57 Anthropological Background of Adult Education (Tax, Sol; Diamond, Stanley; Rainwater, Lee; Mangin, William; Bharati, Ahehananda) 1968
Box 14 NES58 Of Messages and Media: Teaching and Learning by Public Television (Alter, Henry C.) 1968
Box 14 NES59 The System of Adult Education in Yugoslavia (Savicevic, Dusan M.) 1968
See also Drafts, notes and galleys: NES59 The System of Adult Education in Yugoslavia
Box 14 NES60 Liberal Education Reconsidered: Reflections on Continuing Education for Contemporary Man (Whipple, James B.; Goldman, Freda H.; Haygood, Kenneth Siegle, Peter) 1960
See also Drafts, notes and galleys: NES60 Liberal Education Reconsidered: Reflections on Continuing Education for Contemporary Man
Box 14 NES61 Aim: From Concept to Reality (Wedemeyer, Charles A. Najem, Robert E.) 1969
See also Drafts, notes and galleys: NES61 Aim: From Concept to Reality
Box 14 NES62 Dilemmas of American Policy: Crucial Issues in Contemporary Society (Cook, Samuel Dubois; Stern, George G.; Green, Thomas F.; Weiner, Anthony J.) 1969
See also Drafts, notes and galleys: NES62 Dilemmas of American Policy: Crucial Issues in Contemporary Society
Box 14 NES63 Knowledge is Power to Control Power (Blakely, Robert and Lappin, I.) 1969
See also Drafts, notes and galleys: NES63 Knowledge is Power to Control Power
Box 14 NES64 The University and Community Service (Whipple, James B. and Chertow, Doris) 1970
See also Drafts, notes and galleys: NES64 The University and Community Service
Box 14 NES65 Essays on New Careers: Social Implications for Adult Educators (Riessman, Frank; Rosen, Sumner M.; Featherstone, Joseph; Gartner, Alan) 1970
See also Drafts, notes and galleys: NES65 Essays on New Careers: Social Implications for Adult Educators
Box 14 NES66 Essays on the Future of Continuing Education Worldwide (Ziegler, Warren) 1970
See also Drafts, notes and galleys: NES66 Essays on the Future of Continuing Education Worldwide
Box 14 NES67 Toward the Educative Society (Charters, Alexander N.) 1971
Box 14 NES68 Sensitivity Training: Processes, Problems and Applications (Blumberg, Arthur) 1971
Box 14 NES69 Ends and Means: The National Conference on Continuing Education in Nursing (McHenry, Ruth W.) 1971
See also Drafts, notes and galleys: NES69 Ends and Means: The National Conference on Continuing Education in Nursing
Box 14 NES70 Residential Continuing Education (Houle, Cyril O.) 1971
See also Drafts, notes and galleys: NES70 Residential Continuing Education
Box 14 NES71 Selected Concepts from Educational Psychology and Adult Education for Extension and Continuing Educators (Leagans, J. Paul; Copeland, Harlan G.; Kaiser, Gertrude E.) 1971
See also Drafts, notes and galleys: NES71 Selected Concepts from Educational Psychology and Adult Education for Extension and Continuing Educators
Box 14 NES72 International Seminar on Publications in Continuing Education (Charters, Alexander N. and Rivera, William M.) 1972
Occasional Papers (CSLEA) series (OCP)
Box 14 OCP1 Adult Education Programming Form and Function (Tuskegee Institute) 1960
Box 14 OCP2 National Trends in Higher Adult Education (Liveright, A. A.) 1960
Box 14 OCP3 Liberal Education for Community Clubs (Rhode, William E.) 1960
Box 14 OCP4 Liberal Orientations for Vocational Teaching (Miller, Harry L.) 1963
Box 14 OCP5 Adults That Grew in Brooklyn and Some That Didn't (Stern, Bernard H.) 1963
Box 14 OCP6 [MISSING] We Need a Philosophy (Diekhoff, John S.) 1963
Box 14 OCP7 New Eyes for Old: The Quest for Education (McKenna, Richard) 1963
Box 14 OCP8 The Human Enterprise (Rodney, Robert M.) 1964
Box 14 OCP9 Promoting High Standards of Professional Excellence (Horn, Francis H.) 1964
Box 15 OCP10 Inter-Association Cooperation Reconsidered (Spengler, Edwin H.; McMahon, Ernest E.; Winters, Clifford) 1965
Box 15 OCP11 The Case Against the Adult Dropout (Sheats, Paul) 1965
Box 15 OCP12 Significant Developments in Continuing Higher Education (Liveright, A. A. and Goldman, Freda H.) 1965
Box 15 OCP13 Purposes of the Evening College: Reflections in 1953 (Houle, Cyril O.; Blackwell, Gordon W.; Kallen, Horace M.; McGrath, Earl J.) 1967
Box 15 OCP14 Participation of Adults in Education: A Force-Field Analysis (Miller, Harry L.) 1967
Box 15 OCP15 Daytime School for Adults: A New Program Dimensions at University (Gordon, Morton) 1967
Box 15 OCP16 The College and Its Community: A Conference on Purpose and Direction in the Education of Adults (papers presented at University of Wisconsin by personnel from southern Negro colleges and northern universities) 1968
Box 15 OCP17 Toward a National Center for Higher Continuing Education (Hudson, Robert B.) 1968
Box 15 OCP18 The Mass Media in Adult Education (Ohliger, John) 1968
Box 15 OCP19 Accent on Adults: The Small College Program at Brooklyn (Jacobson, Myrtle S. and Offenbacher, Deborah I.) 1970
See also Drafts, notes and galleys: OCP19 Accent on Adults: The Small College Program at Brooklyn
Box 15 OCP20 Faculty Perceptions of Continuing Education at Syracuse University (Porter, Lee) 1970
See also Drafts, notes and galleys: OCP20 Faculty Perceptions of Continuing Education at Syracuse University
Box 15 OCP21 Community Service and Continuing Education (Whipple, James B.) 1970
See also Drafts, notes and galleys: OCP21 Community Service and Continuing Education
Box 15 OCP22 Adult Education and the Disadvantaged Adult (Anderson, Darrel and Niemi, John) 1970
See also Drafts, notes and galleys: OCP22 Adult Education and the Disadvantaged Adult
Box 15 OCP23 The New Environment: Questions for Adult Educators (Blakely, R. J.) 1971
Box 15 OCP24 Lifelong Learning or Lifelong Schooling: A Tentative View of the Ideas of Ivan Illich (Ohliger, John and McCarthy, C.) 1971
See also Drafts, notes and galleys: OCP24 Lifelong Learning or Lifelong Schooling: A Tentative View of the Ideas of Ivan Illich
Box 15 OCP25 The Learning Force: A More Comprehensive Framework for Educational Policy (Moses, Stanley) 1971
See also Drafts, notes and galleys: OCP25 The Learning Force: A More Comprehensive Framework for Educational Policy
Box 15 OCP26 Real Estate Tax Exemption for Continuing Education Programs (Charters, Alexander N.) 1972
Box 15 OCP27 The Hill and the Valley: The Story of University College Through 1964 (Charters, Alexander N.) 1972
Box 15 OCP28 Response to Need: A Case Study of Adult Education Graduate Program Development in the Southeast (Kozoll, C.) 1972
Box 15 OCP29 Agenda for Comparative Studies in Adult Education: International Expert Meeting Report form the International Expert Meeting 1972
Box 15 OCP30 Toward Gog and Magog, or, A Critical Review of the Literature of Adult Group Discussion (Osinski, F.; Ohliger, John; McCarthy, C.) 1972
Box 15 OCP31 Historical and Cultural Influence Upon the Development of Residential Centers for Continuing Education (Jessup, F.) 1972
Box 15 OCP32 Paul Freire: A Revolutionary Dilemma for the Adult Educator (Grabowski, Stanley, editor) 1972
Box 15 OCP33 The Challenge of Modern Church-Public Relations (Reagan, M., editor, and Chertow, Doris) 1972
Box 15 OCP34 Consumer Education Programming in Continuing Education (Charters, Margaret) 1973
Box 15 OCP35 Conceptual Learning: Mollusks to Adult Education (Carlson, R.) 1973
Box 15 OCP36 Toward a Working Philosophy of Adult Education (Apps, J.) 1973
Box 15 OCP37 Adult Education in Church and Synagogue (Long, H.) 1973
Box 15 OCP38 Evaluating the Attainment of Objectives in Adult Education: Process, Properties, Problems, Prospects (Steele, Sara M. and Brack, Robert E.) 1973
Box 15 OCP39 Educational Television in Its Cultural and Public Affairs Dimension: A Selected Literature Review of Public Television as an Issue in Adult Education (Carlson, Robert A.) 1973
Box 15 OCP40 The Use of Instructional Television in Adult Education (Blakely, R. J.) 1974
Box 15 OCP41 The Syracuse Black Community (Sacks, Seymour and Andrew, Ralph) 1974
Box 15 OCP42 Development, Demonstration and Dissemination: Case Studies of Selected Special Projects in Basic Education (Beder, Harold W. and Darkenwald, Gordon G.) 1974
Box 15 OCP43 The University Council on Education for Public Responsibility, 1961-1965 (Davis, Granville D.) 1975
Box 15 OCP44 Comparative Studies in Adult Education: An Anthology (Bennet, Clif, editor; Kidd, J. Roby; Kulich, Jindra) 1975
Box 15 OCP45 Continuing Education of Adults in Colonial America (Long, Huey B.) 1976
Box 15 OCP46 Training Teachers of Adults: Models and Innovative Programs (Grabowski, Stanley) 1976
Box 15 OCP47 Adults in Transition 1965
Box 15 OCP48 Understanding Group Behavior (Miller, Harry L.) 1953
Box 15 OCP49 CSLEA Newsletter Continuing Education for Adults, July 1961-May 1968
Box 15 OCP50 How Much Does Adult Experience Count (Stearn, Bernard H.) 1955
Box 15 OCP51 A Turning to Take Next (Goldman, Freda H.)
Box 15 OCP52 Invitation to Literature: Discussion Guide (Smith, Russell F. W.) 1953
Box 15 OCP53 Our Modern Art, the Movies (Callenbach, Ernest) 1955
Box 15 OCP54 Scientists at Work (Sayvetz, Aaron) 1954
Box 15 OCP55 Understanding Group Behavior (Miller, Harry L.) 1953
Box 15 OCP56 Leading Group Discussion, Part I, II, III (Miller/Berger); Supplementary Readings (CSLEA); Discussion Guide (CSLEA); Training Guide (CSLEA) 1954, 1955 (2 folders)
Box 15 OCP57 Folder of Newsletters (CSLEA)
OCP58 [MISSING]
Box 15 OCP59 The Contributions of Alexander N. Charters to the Field of Adult Education (Siddiqui, Dilnawaz)
Single publications (PRE)
Box 15 PRE1 New Directions for Adult Education: Introduction (Charters, Alexander N.) 1958
Box 15 PRE2 [MISSING] Adult Education Procedures, Methods and Techniques: A Classified and Annotated Bibliography 1953-1963 (Aker, George) 1965
Box 15 PRE3 Leading Group Discussions: A Discussion Guide 1969
Box 16 PRE4 Part I - Fostering the Growing Need to Learn: Designs for Continuing Education Manpower (Charters, Alexander N. and Blakely, Robert J.) (unpublished) 1973
Box 16 PRE5 Part II - A Selected Annotated Bibliography for Continuing Educators for Health Manpower (Charters, Alexander N. and Blakely, Robert J.) 1973
Box 16 PRE6 Part III - A Report of Some Significant Activities in Continuing Education for Health Manpower n the U.S. (Charters, Alexander N. and Blakely, Robert J.) 1973
Box 16 PRE7 Part IV - A Critique of Descriptions of Terms in Continuing Education for Health Manpower (Charters, Alexander N. Blakely, and Robert J.) 1973
Box 16 PRE8 Fostering the Growing Need to Learn (Charters, Alexander N. and Blakely, Robert J.) 1973
Box 16 PRE9 [MISSING] Newsletter 1961
Box 16 PRE10 French Universities and Adult Education 1962
Box 16 PRE11 [MISSING] List of Institutions and Individuals Active in University Adult Education 1965
Papers on Adult Education, University College publications (PUC) (Blue Books)
Box 16 PUC1 Special Report on University College (Charters, Alexander N.) 1955
Box 16 PUC2 Some Motivational Aspects of College Training (Snygg, Donald) 1956
Box 16 PUC3 Learning Theory and Its Application to Classroom Teaching (Thelen, Herbert) 1956
Box 16 PUC4 Learning Theory and Classroom Practice in Adult Education (Getzels, J. W.) 1956
Box 16 PUC5 Evaluation in Evening colleges (Charters, Alexander N.) 1956
Box 16 PUC6 Course Construction and the Use of Teaching Resources (Liveright, A. A.) 1957
Box 16 PUC7 Continuing Education (Crawford, Finla G.) 1958
Box 16 PUC8 Summary Report on Adult College Students (Knox, Alan B.) 1959
Box 16 PUC9 Looking Ahead in Adult Education (Tolley, William P.) 1959
Box 16 PUC10 A Report on the Semester in Italy (Adams, John Clarke) 1960
Box 16 PUC11 World Affairs Don't Have to be Boring (Cleveland, Harlan) 1960
Box 16 PUC12 Learning and Change, the Problems of Evaluation in Liberal Adult Education (Powell, John Walker) 1960
Box 16 PUC13 Government in Action, a Final Report on the Experimental Adult Education Program Presented at University College (Schmidt, Karl M.) 1960
Box 16 PUC14 Development of an Objective Instrument for Evaluation of Scientific Maturity in Electrical Engineering (Jutila, Sakari Tampani) 1960
Box 16 PUC15 Local Community Leadership (Freeman, Linton C. et al) 1960
Box 16 PUC16 The Evening College and Its Relationship to "Community Publics" (Bartlett, Kenneth G.) 1960
Box 16 PUC17 Bottles Old, Wine New; Wine Old, Bottles New (Schwertman, John B.) 1961
Box 16 PUC18 The Free University--Its Role in Education for Public Responsibility and the Future of Our Free Society and the Free World (Fletcher, C. Scott) 1961
Box 16 PUC19 The Story of Sagamore (Applegate, Howard L.) 1961
Box 16 PUC20 Many Opinions (Diekhoff, John S.) 1961
Box 16 PUC21 University Adult Education: The Center for Experiment in Education (Liveright, A. A.) 1961
Box 16 PUC22 We Must be Educator-Administrators (Neville, Howard R.) 1961
Box 16 PUC23 Adult Education in Australia (Hely, Arnold S. M.) 1961
Box 16 PUC24 Geographers Look at the World (Cressey, George B. Gould, Peter) 1961
Box 16 PUC25 The Story of Pinebrook (Applegate, Howard L.) 1962
Box 16 PUC26 The Story of Minnowbrook (Applegate, Howard L.) 1962
Box 16 PUC27 Metropolitan Decision-Making: Further Analysis from the Syracuse Study of Local Community Leadership (Freeman, Linton C,) 1962
Box 16 PUC28 University Adult Education in Some Commonwealth Countries (Raybould, S. G.) 1963
Box 16 PUC29 The Negro in Syracuse: His Education, Employment, Income and Housing (Campbell, Alan K.) 1964
Box 16 PUC30 A Kind Word for Mankind (Olson, John F.) 1964
Box 16 PUC31 The Unfinished Business of Human Rights in Syracuse (Willie, Charles V.) 1965
Box 16 PUC32 An Investigation of the Status of the Student Personnel Program in Evening Colleges (Simonaitis, John) 1960
Reports series (REP)
Box 16 REP101 New Directions in Programming for University Adult Education (Siegle, Peter E. and Whipple, James B.) 1957
Box 16 REP102 New Directions in Liberal Education for Executives (Siegle, Peter E.) 1958
Box 16 REP103 New Directions for Alumni: Continuing Education for the College Graduate (McMahon, Ernest E.) 1960
Box 16 REP104 New Directions in Degree Programs Especially for Adults (Liveright, A. A. and DeCrow, Roger) 1963
Box 16 REP105 The Vassar Institute for Women in Business (Vaughan, Marilyn) 1957
Box 16 REP106 The Changing University (Daigneault, George H., editor) 1959
Box 16 REP107 University Adult Education in the Arts (Goldman, Freda H.) 1961
Box 16 REP108 The Audience for Liberal Adult Education (Knox, Alan B.) 1962
Box 16 REP109 Administrative Practices in University Evening Colleges (DeCrow, Roger) 1962
Box 16 REP110 Reorientation in Labor Education: A Symposium on Liberal Education for Labor in the University (Goldman, Freda H.) 1962
Box 16 REP111 Never Too Late for College: The Brooklyn Degree Program for Adults (Stern, Bernard H.) 1963
Box 16 REP112 Research Arrangements Within University Adult Education Divisions (Knox, A. B.) 1963
Box 16 REP113 A Conspectus to the Self-Study Project of University College, the University of Chicago (Roth, Robert M., editor) 1964
Box 16 REP114 Metroplex Assembly: An Experiment in Community Education (Johnson, Eugene I.) 1965
Box 16 REP115 Bachelor of Liberal Studies: Development of a Curriculum at the University of Oklahoma (Burkett, J. E. Riggiers, Paul C.)
Box 16 REP116 Creativity Research and Its Implications for Adult Education (Zahn, Jane C.) 1966
Box 16 REP117 The Arts in Higher Adult Education: A Second Review of Programs (Goldman, Freda H.) 1967
Box 16 REP118 Changing Patterns in Continuing Education for Business (Olean, Sally J.) 1967
Box 16 REP119 Listening Groups: Mass Media in Adult Education (Ohliger, John) 1967
Box 16 REP120 Adult Education and Adult Needs (Havighurst, Robert J. and Orr, Betty) 1960
Box 16 REP121 Forms and Forces in University Adult Education (Carey, James T.) 1961
Box 16 REP122 A Comparison of the Effectiveness of Residential and Nonresidential Learning Situations (Lacognata, A. A.) 1961
Box 16 REP123 The Development of the University Evening College as Observed in Ten Urban Universities (Carey, James T.) 1961
Box 16 REP124 New Perspectives in University Correspondence Study (Wedemeyer, Charles and Childs, Gayle B). 1961
Box 16 REP125 Evaluating Liberal Adult Education (Miller, Harry L. and McGuire, Christine H.) 1961
Box 16 REP126 Decision Making in the University Evening College (Daigneault, George H.) 1963
Box 16 REP127 Teaching Styles and Learning (Solomon, Daniel and Rosenberg, Larry Bexdek, William) 1963
Box 16 REP128 The Continuing Learner (Solomon, Daniel, editor) 1964
Box 16 REP129 The Exeter Papers: Report of the First International Conference on the Comparative Study of Adult Education (Liveright, A. A. and Haygood, Norwood) 1968
Box 16 REP130 A Study of Adult Education in the United States (Liveright, A. A.) 1968
Box 16 REP131 Ivory Towers in the Market Place (Dyer, John P.) 1956
Box 16 REP132 The Part-time College Teacher (Gowin, D. B. and Daigneault, George H.) 1961
Box 16 REP133 Ability and Achievement of Evening College and Extension Students (DeCrow, Roger) 1959
Box 16 REP134 Why Students Drop Out: A Study of Evening College Student Motivations (Carey, James T.) 1953
Box 16 REP135 Cumulative Indexes to the Association of University Evening Colleges Proceedings and National University Extension Association Proceedings, 1915-1957
Box 16 REP136 The Role of Liberal Arts in the University Evening College Curriculum, Pinebrook, N. Y., October 1954 (CSLEA Conference Report)
Box 16 REP137 Tradition and Innovation in University Adult Education, Swampscott, Massachusetts, October1954 (CSLEA Conference Report)
Box 16 REP138 The University's Responsibility for the General Education of Adults, Chicago, Illinois, March 3-5, 1956(CSLEA Conference Report)
Box 16 REP139 The Concerns of the Dean in University Adult Education, Chicago, Illinois, March 5-7, 1956 (CSLEA Conference Report)
Box 16 REP140 A Report: Administrative Policies and Practices of Evening Colleges (Neuffer, Frank R)
Box 16 REP141 A Report: A Review of 1956 Center Activities and Projects (CSLEA)
Box 16 REP142 A Report: A Review of 1957 Center Activities and Projects (CSLEA)
Box 16 REP143 A Report: A Review of 1958 Future Directions of the Center and A Report of Current Activities (CSLEA)
Box 16 REP144 [MISSING] CSLEA in Retrospect (Liveright, A. A.) 1968
Reprints series (RPR)
Box 16 RPR1 "The Evening College." Houle, Cyril O. Journal of Higher Education Vol. XXV, No. 7 Oct. 1954
Box 16 RPR2 "The University's Role in Adult Education: A Journal Symposium." (Diekhoff, John S.; Leys, Wayne A. R.; Conley, William H.; Schwertman, John B. Journal of Higher Education Vol. XXVI, No. 1 Jan. 1955
Box 16 RPR3 "The American University and Adult Education." Houle, Cyril O. Educational Record Oct. 1955
Box 16 RPR4 "Liberal Education Reexamined" Horn, Francis H. Harvard Educational Review, Vol. XXVI, No. 4 Fall 1956
Box 16 RPR5 "What's Your Line? The Task of the Adult Educator" Miller, Harry L. Adult Leadership, Vol. 6, No. 3 Sept. 1957
Box 16 RPR6 "The Alumni University." Diekhoff, John S. Journal of Higher Education, Vol. XXVIII, No. 7 Oct. 1957
Box 16 RPR7 "AUEX Background - From Coffee to Capers to Educational Leadership." Love, Robert A. AUEC Newsletter, Vol. VI, No. 1 Nov. 1957
Box 16 RPR8 "An Exchange of Letters Between Alfred [Albert] Einstein and Sigmund Freud on the Subject Why War?"
Box 16 RPR9 "Why Don't We Have Better Teaching for Adults?" Miller, Harry L. 1957
Syracuse University Related publications (SUR)
Box 17 SUR1 To Serve the Public Interest: Educational Broadcasting in the United States (Blakely, Robert J.) 1979
Box 17 SUR2 Comparing Adult Education Worldwide (Charters, Alexander N. et al.) 1981 - hardcover; published by Jossey Bass
Box 17 SUR3 Changing Approaches to Studying Adult Education (Long, Huey B. and Hiemstra, Roger) 1980
Box 17 SUR4 Information Resources for Educators of Adults (Charters, Alexander N.) 1979
Box 17 SUR5 CAEO Through the Years (Charters, Alexander N.) 1977
Box 17 SUR6 [MISSING] The Teaching Profession and the Education of Adults: A Review and an Agenda (Committee on Adult Education World Confederation of Organizations of the Teaching Profession)
Box 17 SUR7 A Statement on Coalition of Adult Education Organizations (Charters, Alexander N.) 1976
William Pearson Tolley Medal series (WPT)
Box 17 WPT1 The Uncommon School (Houle, Cyril O.) 1966
Box 17 WPT2 University and The Community (Mehta, Mohan S.) 1969
Box 17 WPT3 Universities, Adult Education and Social Criticism (Raybould, Sidney Griffith) 1970
Box 17 WPT4 Towards Still Greater Professionalism (Bartlett, Kenneth G.) 1971
Box 17 WPT5 Relentless Verity: Education for Being-Becoming-Belonging (Kidd, James Robbins) 1973
Box 17 WPT6 "A Rusty Person is Worse Than Rusty Iron" -- Adult Education and the Development of Africa (Bown, Lalage) 1975
Box 17 WPT7 The Promise and Pragmatism of Adult Education (White, Thurman) 1979
Administrative files
Box 17 1966-1982 (5 folders)
Box 17 "Accent on Social Philosophy" 1974-1975
Box 17 Adult Education Association 1970-1976
Box 17 Adult Education Clearinghouse 1964-1974
Box 17 ACHE, NAPCAE, NEA 1970
Box 17 Apps, Jerrold 1973-1976
Box 17 Autographs 1972-1973
Box 17 Bartlett, Kenneth G. 1971-1972
Box 17 Bown, Lalage 1975-1976
Box 17 Carlson, Robert A. 1969-1974
Box 17 Chicago Tribune 1972-1975
Box 17 CPAE 1972-1973
Correspondence
Box 17 1965-1984 (2 folders)
Box 17 Carbons 1970-1971 (2 folders)
Box 17 Mailings 1970-1974
Box 17 Doris Chertow 1974-1975
Box 17 Crime Book 1969
Box 17 Dubnick, Phyllis
Box 17 Krinsky, Fred 1971-1972
Box 17 Schwartz, Harry 1969-1970
Box 17 Council on Continuing Education 1973
Box 17 Cross, Wilbur 1973-1976
Box 17 Darkenwald, Beder, Merozow 1974
Box 18 Discussion leadership guide - inquiries
Box 18 Dissertation abstracts 1979
Box 18 Distribution contracts 1968-1971
Box 18 Even, Mary Jane 1973-1976
Box 18 "Evolution of Man" - contract agreement
Box 18 "Evolution of Man" - correspondence 1966-1971
See also Publications: American Foundation for Continuing Education (AFCE) series (AFC): AFC68 Evolution of Man
Box 18 "Exploring the Universe" - correspondence 1960-1972 (2 folders)
Box 18 "Exploring the Universe" - permissions
Box 18 "Exploring the Universe" - photograph permissions
Box 18 Form letters 1973-1974
Box 18 "Future of Religion" 1972
Box 18 "Great Issues in American Politics" 1967-1970
See also Publications: American Foundation for Continuing Education (AFCE) series (AFC): AFC33 Great Issues in American Politics Part I; Publications: Fund for Adult Education series (FAE): FAE30 Great Issues in American Politics Part I
Box 18 Greer, Loyal 1974-1977
Box 18 Houle, Cyril O. 1971-1972
Box 18 I.B.M. 1974-1975
Box 18 Inventories 1968-1978
Box 18 Jacobson, Nolan Pliny 1968
Box 18 Jessup, Frank 1972-1973
Box 18 Kozoll, Charles 1970-1972
Box 18 "List of Publications," Charters, Alexander N. and Holmwood, Donald [same as MSS26] 1983
Manuscripts
Box 18 "Concerns About Adult Education" (Schroeder, Wayne)
Box 18 "New Media" 1968
Box 18 "Why Adults Learn" (Tough, Allen)
Box 18 Miscellaneous
Box 18 Memos (2 folders)
Box 18 Memos from Alexander N. Charters 1972-1976
Box 18 "Memo from Syracuse" 1972-1976
Box 18 Miller, Paul 1973
Box 18 Moses, Stanley 1971-1973
Box 18 "Mystery of Matter" - records and permissions 1963-1971
Box 18 National Institute for Adult Education - England (NIAE) 1968, 1973
Box 18 New York Associaton for Continuing Education (NYACE) 1969-1975
Box 19 Non-profit corporation reports 1964-1969 - includes articles of incorporation
Box 19 Office procedures 1977
Box 19 Ohliger, John 1971-1975
Box 19 Organizer's manual, AFCE 1962
Box 19 Oxford Press projects 1966-1973
Box 19 Pardoen, Alan R. 1975-1976
Box 19 Penfield, Kathleen 1973-1974
Box 19 Peters, John M. 1975-1977
Box 19 Problems 1977-1978
Publications
Box 19 1966-1980 (6 folders)
Box 19 Correspondence 1977-1979 (2 folders)
Box 19 Form letters 1977-1978
Box 19 Raybould, Sidney G. 1970
Box 19 Readings in American foreign policy 1958-1960 (2 folders)
Box 19 Readings in world politics
Box 19 Records (financial) 1970-1977
Box 19 Redman, George 1976
Box 19 Rivera, William 1992 - curriculum vitae, summary of professional experience
Box 19 School of Education minutes 1977-1978 (2 folders)
Science and international relations
Box 19 Carnegie endowment 1965, 1968
Box 19 Permissions 1967-1971
Box 20 Working papers 1967-1968 (2 folders)
Box 20 Science and public policy - correspondence 1967-1972
Science and world affairs
Box 20 Biographies
Box 20 Illustrations
Box 20 Reading lists
Box 20 "Ways of Mankind"
Box 20 Whipple, James 1968-1969
Box 20 Young, Louise - correspondence
Syracuse University Resources for Educators of Adults (SUREA)
Box 20 Annual report 1980
Box 20 Collection descriptions and lists
Box 20 Descriptive subject headings
Box 20 Drafts 1988-1989 - annotated draft of a description of the adult education collections -- possibly an early draft of MSS34 which was later split into several different MSS series publications (2 folders)
Box 20 General correspondence 1973-1987 (5 folders)
Memos
Box 20 SU-AE Memo nos. 1-76 (3 folders)
Box 20 SUREA Memo nos. 1-9
Box 20 National Center for Higher Education Management Systems 1977
Box 20 Notes (Alexander N. Charters) undated
Box 20 Printed material
Box 20 Stensland, Per Gustaf
Box 20 SUPCE, SUREA statements
Box 20 Syracuse University Libraries 1979-1987 - correspondence with library personnel regarding donors, gifts, cataloguing, and other matters related to the adult education collections (2 folders)