Collection inventory


Finding Aids

David H. Sumner Papers

An inventory of of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 12 Apr 2010

Revision history:
13 Aug 2013 added account book, updated subject headings (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Sumner, David Hubbard, 1776-1867.
Title: David H. Sumner Papers
Dates: 1807-1845
Quantity: 0.25 linear ft.
Abstract: Correspondence and manuscripts of the New Hampshire merchant, farmer, and possibly tavern owner. His wife, Wealthy Sumner, ran a school.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

David H. Sumner (1776-1867) was a merchant, farmer, and possibly a tavern owner in 19th century New Hampshire.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The David H. Sumner Papers consist of correspondence, financial records and legal records.


Arrangement of the Collection

Within each series, material is arranged chronologically.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Sumner, David Hubbard, 1776-1867.

Subjects

Farmers -- New Hampshire -- 19th century.
Merchants -- New Hampshire -- 19th century.

Places

New Hampshire -- History -- 19th century.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Financial records.
Legal records.

Occupations

Farmers.
Merchants.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

David H. Sumner Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Unspecified, 1963.


Table of Contents

Correspondence

Financial records

Legal records


Inventory

Correspondence
Box 1 Miscellaneous 1814-1845
Financial records
Box 1 Account book 1807-1826
Box 1 Miscellaneous 1815-1830
Legal records
Box 1 Miscellaneous 1818-1831
Box 1 Willard settlement 1821