Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Syracuse University Library Accession Books

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 11 May 2017

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Syracuse University. -- Library
Title: Syracuse University Library Accession Books
Dates: circa 1899-1950
Quantity: 2 volumes
Abstract: Two bound volumes containing lists of books accessioned by Syracuse University Library in the late 19th and early 20th century. One volume contains descriptions of volumes acquired as part of the Leopold von Ranke Library.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Syracuse University (SU) was established in 1870 in Syracuse, New York. The fledgling university was eager to build a substantial library for its students and began acquiring books in history, political science, literature, and other core humanities subjects. In 1887, in part through negotiations by SU professor of history Charles W. Bennett, the University was fortunate enough to purchase the library of 19th-century German historian and historiographer Leopold von Ranke, some 17,000 books and more than 400 manuscripts dating from the 15th century to the 19th.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Syracuse University Library Accession Books consists of two bound volumes (the "Standard accession Book" by Melvil Dewey) containing lists of books accessioned by Syracuse University Library in the late 19th and early 20th century. One volume contains descriptions of the Ranke Library volumes. A note accompanying the item indicate that at one time there were a number of additional volumes, but that these could not be located. Date of transfer to Archives unknown. Date of transfer to SCRC unknown.


Arrangement of the Collection

Chronological.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Ranke, Leopold von, 1795-1886.

Corporate Bodies

Syracuse University. -- Library.

Subjects

Academic libraries.
Acquisitions (Libraries)
Libraries -- United States.
Libraries and librarianship.
Research libraries.

Places

Syracuse (N.Y.) -- Intellectual life.

Genres and Forms

Accessions registers.
Bibliographies.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Syracuse University Library Accession Books,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Transfer from University Archives.


Table of Contents

Accession books


Inventory

Accession books
Oversize 1 [Volume 1] circa 1889-1950 - earliest page, top left, "before 1899" while later pages include annotations dated through 1950
Oversize 2 [Volume 2] circa 1889-1950 - first page headed "Leopold von Ranke Library," includes annotations dated through 1950