Collection inventory


Finding Aids

William Stringfellow Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: -
Date: Jan 1969

Revision history:
26 May 2010 converted to EAD (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Stringfellow, William.
Title: William Stringfellow Papers
Dates: 1967
Quantity: 0.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Papers of the American lawyer, lay theologian, author. Collection contains book manuscript and other material related to the publication of The Bishop Pike Affair, written in conjunction with Anthony Towne.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

William Stringfellow (1928-1985) was an American lawyer and Episcopal lay theologian. He received his law degree from Harvard University. As a member of the group ministry at the well-known East Harlem Protestant Parish, he lived in Spanish Harlem while practicing law. Stringfellow was an active proponent of civil rights and of racial and social justice. He wrote several books, including Dissenter in a Great Society, Free in Obedience, and A Private and Public Faith.

James A. Pike (1913-1969) was an American Episcopal bishop whose then-controversial views included favoring the ordination of women, racial desegregation, and the acceptance of LBGT people within mainline churches. In the mid-1960s, Stringfellow defended Pike against charges of heresy lodged against him by his fellow Episcopal bishops, on the grounds that they were politically motivated, and in 1967 he co-authored a book entitled The Bishop Pike Affair.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The William Stringfellow Papers consists of the manuscript of his book The Bishop Pike Affair and editorial remarks concerning the book.


Arrangement of the Collection

No particular order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

See also the James A. Pike Papers.


Subject Headings

Persons

Pike, James A. (James Albert), 1913-1969.
Stringfellow. William. -- Bishop Pike affair.
Towne, Anthony. -- Bishop Pike affair.

Subjects

Authors, American.
Clergy -- United States.
Lawyers -- United States.
Trials (Heresy) -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Manuscripts for publication.

Occupations

Authors.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

William Stringfellow Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of William Stringfellow, 1967, 1968.


Table of Contents

Manuscripts

Subject files


Inventory

Manuscripts
Box 1 The Bishop Pike Affair - end papers, forward, chapters 1-4, "a homily" (2 folders)
Subject files
Box 1 Editorial slips