Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Stewart Diary

An inventory of his item at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: LDC
Date: 05 Feb 2009

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Stewart.
Title: Stewart Diary
Dates: 1880
Quantity: 1 v. (SC)
Abstract: Diary of an upstate New York resident, probably a male railroad employee.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Stewart Diary is a single, bound volume from 1880. The author of the diary cannot be established. However, the diary does contain a calling card from Maria Stewart. Based on the author's references to Maria, this is probably his wife. It is also evident from his writings that the author worked for the railroad, probably as a conductor.

Consistent with most diaries from the time, the front of the volume contains a calendar and almanac for the year and there is a cash accounts ledger at the back.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Stewart, Maria.

Subjects

Men -- Diaries.
Railroad conductors -- New York (State)
Railroads -- Employees.

Genres and Forms

Diaries.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Maria Stewart Diary
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents

Writings


Inventory

Writings
SC 285 Diary 1880