Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Michael Stern Papers

A description of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 11 May 2015

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Stern, Michael, 1910-2009.
Title: Michael Stern Papers
Dates: 1928-2000
Quantity: 9 linear ft.
Abstract: Material relating to life and career of Michael Stern, American investigative journalist, war correspondent and crime author.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Michael Stern (1910-2009) was an American investigative journalist, war correspondent and crime author. An alumnus of Syracuse University, he was the first to to expose the infamous crime syndicate Murder, Inc. During World War II he participated in the first American campaign in North Africa, and his magazine story about the B-17 "Memphis Belle" was made into an Oscar-winning film. After the war he settled in Rome where he worked as a foreign correspondent; his pieces were carried in newspapers around the world and he was nominated for a Pulitzer for his work on the murder of OSS officer Major William V. Holohan.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Michael Stern Papers include books, magazines (bound and unbound), government publications, correspondence-subject files, photographs, memorabilia, and DVD copies of movies made from his stories.


Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is unprocessed and remains in original order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The collection is currently unprocessed and not available for research. Please contact Special Collections Research Center for more information.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has numerous collections relating to journalism and war reporting. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.


Subject Headings

Persons

Holohan, William V.
Stern, Michael, 1910-2009.

Subjects

Crime and the press.
Investigative reporting -- United States.
War correspondents -- United States -- 20th century.
World War, 1939-1945 -- Journalists.

Genres and Forms

Books.
Correspondence.
DVDs.
Magazines (periodicals)
Memorabilia.
Photographs.
Scrapbooks.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Michael Stern Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Margaret Stern, Michael's daughter.


Table of Contents


Inventory

An inventory has not yet been created for this collection. Please contact the Repository listed above for more information.