Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Thomas Stearns Account Book

An inventory of the item at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 6 Oct 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Stearns, Thomas, fl. 1809-1812.
Title: Thomas Stearns Account Book
Dates: 1809-1812
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Bound volume. Half is an account book of purchases/sales of drugs and medicine by a 19th century dealer in Wiscassett, Maine. Other half contains lengthy alphabetical list of names, dates and brief biographical information.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Nothing is known of Thomas Stearns other than the information given in the collection. He was evidently a dealer in drugs and medicines. Nothing, not even the name, is known of the author of the alphabetical tables of names in the other half of the book.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Thomas Stearns Account Book consists of a single bound volume. Half the book contains Thomas Stearns' accounts of drugs and medicines bought and sold in Wiscasset, Maine. The other half, in a different hand, is a lengthy name index to an unidentified volume. Names are given in alphabetical order with page numbers, for example "Adams, Dr., practiced in Mr. Loring's fam. 1750 p. 73." Most of the dates given are late 17th to early 18th century.


Arrangement of the Collection

Single volume.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Stearns, Thomas, fl. 1809-1812.

Subjects

Merchants -- 19th century.
Pharmacists -- 19th century.

Places

Wiscasset (Me.)

Genres and Forms

Account books.
Genealogies.
Indexes (reference sources)

Occupations

Merchants.
Pharmacists.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Thomas Stearns Account Book,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 1969.


Table of Contents

Business records


Inventory

Business records
SC 600 Account book 1809-1812