Collection inventory


Finding Aids

R. DeWitt Stanley Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: -
Date: 1966

Revision history:
18 Nov 2009 converted to EAD (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Stanley, R. DeWitt.
Title: R. DeWitt Stanley Papers
Dates: 1912-1944
Quantity: 0.5 linear feet
Abstract: Papers of the American Methodist minister in central New York. Collection contains letters received and diaries kept by Stanley; also material on the New York State Historical Association.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Reverend R. DeWitt Stanley, a Methodist minister, was appointed to serve in Mansfield, Pennsylvania, on March 1, 1911. In October 1913 he was appointed pastor of the Lafayette Avenue Methodist Church in Syracuse, New York. In 1918 he was appointed to a church in Cazenovia, New York, and in 1924 he was assigned to a church in Wolcott, New York.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The R. DeWitt Stanley Papers consists of correspondence, subject files, and published material.

Correspondence is incoming only. Subject files contain a diary, programs, and material on the New York State Historical Association. Published material contains clippings about others.


Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence is arranged alphabetically by sender. Subject files are arranged alphabetically by topic. Published material is in no particular order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Stanley, R. DeWitt.

Subjects

Clergy -- United States.
Methodist Church -- Clergy.
Methodists -- New York (State)

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Diaries.

Occupations

Clergy.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

R. DeWitt Stanley Papers
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents

Correspondence

Subject files

Published material


Inventory

Correspondence
Box 1 Incoming, A-Z
Subject files
Box 1 Diaries 1912-1944 (4 volumes)
Box 1 Miscellaneous
Box 1 New York State Historical Association
Box 1 Programs
Published material
Box 1 Clippings about others