Collection inventory


Finding Aids

David Stam Papers

A description of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 27 Mar 2013

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Stam, David.
Title: David Stam Papers
Dates: circa 1955-2014
Quantity: 15 linear ft.
Abstract: Correspondence, manuscripts, published material and memorabilia of the American librarian, scholar and author.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

David Stam is an American librarian, scholar and author specializing in polar exploration and book history. He was University Librarian at Syracuse University for twelve years (1986-1998); prior to that he held positions at the New York Public Library (1959-1964 and 1978-1986), Marlboro College (1964-1967), the Newberry Library in Chicago (1967-1973) and Johns Hopkins University (1973-1978). He has published numerous monographs on various aspects of library development and management.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The David Stam Papers contains correspondence, manuscripts, published material and memorabilia spanning Stam's life and career.


Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is unprocessed and remains in original order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The collection is currently unprocessed and not available for research. Please contact Special Collections Research Center for more information.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Stam, David.

Subjects

Library science.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Manuscripts for publication.
Memorabilia.
Photographs.

Occupations

Authors.
Bibliographers.
Librarians.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

David Stam Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of David Stam, 2014.


Table of Contents


Inventory

An inventory has not yet been created for this collection. Please contact the Repository listed above for more information.