Collection inventory


Finding Aids

George Stafford and John Beddoe Business Records

An inventory of the records at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: LDC
Date: 05 Feb 2009

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Stafford, George, d. 1832.
Title: George Stafford and John Beddoe Business Records
Dates: 1788-1872
Quantity: 0.3 linear ft. (SC)
Abstract: Business letters of two merchants in Geneva, New York; with some receipts and personal letters.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

George Stafford (d. 1832) was an American merchant and co-owner of the firm Stafford and Beddoe in Geneva, York. He married Charlotte Beddoe on January 24, 1828 in Utica. Charlotte was the daughter of John Beddoe, Stafford's future business partner. George Stafford died on January 15, 1832 at the age of 34.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The George Stafford and John Beddoe Business Records contain correspondence and financial records of the American businessmen. The correspondence in the collection consists of both business and personal letters, while the financial records are receipts for the firm Stafford and Beddoe.


Arrangement of the Collection

The collection contains two series: Correspondence and Financial Records.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Beddoe, John.
Stafford, George, d. 1832.

Corporate Bodies

Stafford and Beddoe.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Receipts (financial records)

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

George Stafford and John Beddoe Business Records
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents

Correspondence

Financial records


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 284 1788-1872
Financial records
SC 284 Receipts