Collection inventory


Finding Aids

St. Dominic's Press Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 25 Oct 2007

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: St. Dominic's Press
Title: St. Dominic's Press Collection
Dates: 1920-1933
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Miscellaneous printed items from the Sussex, England press. Collection includes broadsheet, short history of the press, Christmas list of published books, sample book of papers.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

St. Dominic's Press was founded in 1916 by H.D.C. Pepler. The purpose of the press was "[not] to reach the 'Doves' standard...[but] to print anything which might be required of me, from a billhead to a book, and to use handmade paper."


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The St. Dominic's Press Collection consists of miscellaneous printed material from the press. It includes a broadside ("A Carol"), book lists from 1930 and 1933, a book of handmade paper samples, and other items.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has a number of collections relating to printers and publishing. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.


Subject Headings

Persons

Pepler, H.D.C.

Corporate Bodies

St. Dominic's Press.

Subjects

Bibliography -- Catalogs.
Printers -- England -- Sussex.
Publishers and publishing.
Small presses -- England -- Sussex.

Genres and Forms

Broadsides.
Catalogs.
Sample books.

Occupations

Printers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

St. Dominic's Press Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchased with funds from the George Arents Library Fund.


Table of Contents

Printed material


Inventory

Printed material
SC 209 Miscellaneous 1920-1933, undated