Collection inventory


Finding Aids

William B. Sprague Letters

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 10 Oct 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Sprague, William B. (William Buell), 1795-1876.
Title: William B. Sprague Letters
Dates: 1857-1865
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: American Presbyterian clergyman and author.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

William Buell Sprague (1795-1876) was an American Presbyterian clergyman and author. A graduate of Yale and of Princeton Theological seminary, he was installed as pastor of Second Presbyterian Church, Albany, New York in 1829. He is the author of the nine-volume work Annals of the Pulpit of All Denominations, a comprehensive biographical dictionary of American Protestant ministers up to 1850. Sprague was also an avid collector of autorgraphs, particularly those of important American statesmen.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The William B. Sprague Letters consists of two letters from Sprague and one to him. The incoming letter, from a Charles Hodge, reads in part: "You are certainly a first rate fellow, worthy of all the autographs wh. you can beg, buy, or borrow."


Arrangement of the Collection

Chronological.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Sprague, William B. (William Buell), 1795-1876.

Subjects

Autographs -- Collectors and collecting.
Clergy -- United States.
Presbyterian Church -- Clergy.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Occupations

Clergy.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

William B. Sprague Letters,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 1968, 1969.


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 595 Miscellaneous 1857-1865