Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Benjamin Spock Symposium Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 16 Feb 2011

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Title: Benjamin Spock Symposium Collection
Dates: 1996
Quantity: 1 linear ft.
Abstract: Videorecordings, audiorecordings, slides, photos, and assorted other material relating to "Choices for Children and Families: A Symposium Honoring Benjamin Spock" held at Syracuse University
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Dr. Benjamin Spock (1903-1998) was an American pediatrician, author, and peace activist. He is the author of the worldwide best-selling book Baby and Child Care.

"Choices for Children and Families: A Symposium Honoring Benjamin Spock" was held at Syracuse University on September 21, 1996. The program, which was co-sponsored by Syracuse University Library Associates and the College of Human Development, included pediatricians, physicians, doctoral students, professors in related fields, and Spock biographer James Sullivan.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Benjamin Spock Symposium Collection consists of subject files (paperwork, attendees, photographs, slides) and media (videorecordings, audiorecordings) relating to a 1996 symposium honoring Spock.

Titles of media items are given exactly as written on the item. For the "official" tape recordings of the symposium (the 3-tape set listed first in the inventory below), the collection contains a complete list of what is on each tape, including the speaker's name, the topic, and the starting and ending timestamp.


Arrangement of the Collection

Items are in no particular order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.Access to recordings requires advance notice to create a use copy.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

See also the Lynn Z. Bloom Collection Relating to Benjamin Spock and the Benjamin Spock Papers.


Subject Headings

Persons

Spock, Benjamin, 1903-1998.

Subjects

Pediatricians -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Audiocassettes.
Floppy disks.
Photographs.
Slides (photographs)
Videotapes.

Occupations

Biographers.
Pediatricians.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Benjamin Spock Symposium Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Benjamin Spock, 1997, 2001.


Table of Contents

Subject files

Media


Inventory

Subject files
Box 1 Attendees
Box 1 Fliers
Box 1 Handouts - folder with contents, distributed to attendees
Box 1 Hinton, Mary Beth - organizing information, order of events, etc.
Box 1 Photographs
Box 1 Program planning
Box 1 Reaction sheets - feedback on symposium
Box 1 Slides
Box 1 Video project
Media
Box 2 Choices for Children and Families: A Benjamin Spock Symposium - parts 1, 2 and 3 (3 VHS tapes)
An itemized list of what is on each tape (speaker, topic and timestamp) is included in the box.
Box 2 Benjamin Spock Symposium of 9/21/96 / at Syracuse University (2 VHS tapes)
Box 2 S.U. Library Associates / "Spock: A One-Man Show by Geoffrey Brown" (1 VHS tape)
Box 2 Spock 1 + 2 (1 VHS tape)
Box 2 Spock 3 + 4 + 5 (1 VHS tape)
Box 2 Spock 6 + 7 (1 VHS tape)
Box 2 Benjamin Spock Symposium (4 audiocassettes)
Box 2 Spock files 96 + 97 - unknown files, unknown format (3ΒΌ" floppy disk)