Collection inventory


Finding Aids

William E. Spier Account Book

An inventory of the item at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 1 Oct 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Spier, William E.
Title: William E. Spier Account Book
Dates: 1853-1864
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Account book of a 19th century Central New York cabinet maker and carpenter
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Nothing is known of William Spier beyond what can be gleaned from the collection. He was evidently a cabinet maker and carpenter in the vicinity of Johnstown, New York.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The William E. Spier Account Book consists of a single volume, listing work performed, customer names, expenses, and income. Entries are in roughly, but not strictly, chronological order, and the filled pages are not consecutive. Several laid-in pages contain lists of figures and of work performed.


Arrangement of the Collection

Single volume.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Spier, William E.

Subjects

Carpenters -- New York (State)
Woodworkers -- New York (State)

Places

Johnstown (N.Y.) -- History -- 19th century.

Genres and Forms

Account books.

Occupations

Carpenters.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

William E. Spier Account Book,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 1969.


Table of Contents

Financial papers


Inventory

Financial papers
SC 594 Account book 1853-1864