Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Jared Sparks Letter

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 8 Oct 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Sparks, Jared, 1789-1866.
Title: Jared Sparks Letter
Dates: 1828
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Letter from the American historian to a Dr. Lieber, mentioning a "Lexicon" and the willingness of Judge Story and Mr. Everett to contribute to it.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Jared Sparks (1789-1866) was an American historian and President of Harvard University from 1849 to 1853. The Mr Everett mentioned in the letter may be his predecessor at Harvard, Edward Everett, but this cannot be proven. Joseph Story was a notable attorney from Massachusetts; he was a Justice of the United States Supreme Court from 1811 to 1845. Francis Lieber was a German-American jurist and political philosopher; he was editor of the Encyclopaedia Americana, to which Judge Story was a contributor.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Jared Sparks Letter consists of a single item, a letter from Sparks to Dr. Lieber. In it Sparks mentions a "Lexicon" and assures Lieber that both Judge Story and a Mr. Everett are willing to be contributors, with certain conditions.


Arrangement of the Collection

Single item.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Lieber, Francis, 1800-1872.
Sparks, Jared, 1789-1866.
Story, Joseph, 1779-1845.

Subjects

American literature --19th century.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Occupations

Authors.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Jared Sparks Letter,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Unspecified, 1969.


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 614 "Dear Sir" 6 Mar 1828