Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Sons of Veterans, New York Division, Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 6 Apr 2009

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Sons of Veterans, U.S.A. New York Division.
Title: Sons of Veterans, New York Division, Collection
Dates: 1895-1896
Quantity: 9 letters (SC)
Abstract: Letters to Col. L. J. Macy in Pulaski, New York, in his capacity as head of the New York Division of the Sons of Veterans. Several are on the letterhead of the West Shore Railroad or the New York Central & Hudson River R.R. Co.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

In 1866, Union veterans of the Civil War formed a fraternal organization known as the Grand Army of the Republic (GAR), with both social and political goals, and with the stated principles of Fraternity, Charity and Loyalty. Because membership was open only to those who saw active service in the Union army, the GAR's lifespan was necessarily limited. During 1881 and 1882 the GAR formed the Sons of Veterans, U.S.A. to carry on its traditions; some of the earliest divisions were in Pennsylvania, Ohio, Virginia, and New York (the New York Division was later renamed the New York Department).

In 1925 the Sons of Veterans changed their name to Sons of Union Veterans of the Civil War, which is the name it uses at the present day. Membership in the organization is open to anyone who can demonstrate descent from a GAR member (interested parties who are not descendants are admitted as Associate Members). The SUVCW, along with the Daughters of Union Veterans of the Civil War and three other organizations, comprise the five Allied Orders of the GAR.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Sons of Veterans, New York Division, Collection consists of letters to Colonel L. J. Macy, commander of the New York Division, headquartered in Pulaski, New York. The letters originate from "Camps" in Tarrytown, Dover Plains, Dobbs Ferry, Newark, and other towns and cities, and discuss internal business including installation of officers, receipt of "new rituals," meeting activities, and so on.


Arrangement of the Collection

Letters are arranged in chronological order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has numerous collections relating to the U.S. Civil War. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing. Some Sons of Veterans material has also been cataloged; please search the Classic Catalog with the subject heading "Sons of Veterans" for a complete listing.


Subject Headings

Persons

Macy, L. J.

Corporate Bodies

Sons of Veterans, U.S.A. New York Division -- Archives.

Subjects

Fraternal organizations -- United States.
Veterans -- Societies and clubs.

Places

United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Societies and clubs.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Letters (correspondence)

Occupations

Veterans.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Sons of Veterans, New York Division, Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase (P08-648), 2009.


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 305 to Macy, L. J. 1895-1896