Collection inventory


Finding Aids

George Sokolsky Columns

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 12 Apr 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Sokolsky, George E. (George Ephraim), 1893-1962.
Title: George Sokolsky Columns
Dates: 1952-1953
Quantity: 0.5 linear ft.
Abstract: American journalist. Collection consists of typescripts of Sokolsky's syndicated column "These Days."
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

George Ephraim Sokolsky (1893-1962) was a weekly radio broadcaster for the National Association of Manufacturers and a columnist for the New York Herald Tribune; he also wrote for the New York Sun and other Hearst newspapers, and was known for his expertise in Chinese affairs and culture.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The George Sokolsky Columns consists of typescripts of Sokolsky's syndicated column "These Days." Most are politics, communism or foreign affairs.


Arrangement of the Collection

Columns are in chronological order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Sokolsky, George E. (George Ephraim), 1893-1962.

Subjects

American newspapers -- Sections, columns, etc.
Journalism -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Newspaper columns.

Occupations

Journalists.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

George Sokolsky Columns,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Unspecified, 1964.


Table of Contents

Newspaper columns


Inventory

Newspaper columns
Box 1 "These Days" 4 Feb 1952-6 Feb 1953