Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Ralph W. Sockman Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: [Summit record]
Date: 1 Jan 2001

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Sockman, Ralph W. (Ralph Washington), 1889-1970.
Title: Ralph W. Sockman Papers
Dates: 1903-1970
Quantity: 60.0 linear ft.
Abstract: Papers of the American clergyman, educator, author; pastor of Christ Church, Methodist, in New York City; Trustee of Syracuse University. Collection includes correspondence, incoming and outgoing (1924-1970); manuscript addresses, articles, books, lectures, radio scripts, and sermons; published material by and about Sockman (1946-1970); and photographs.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Ralph Washington Sockman (1889-1970) was an American Protestant clergyman, educator, and radio personality. For many years he was the featured speaker on the weekly NBC radio program National Radio Pulpit, which aired from 1928 to 1962. He was also associate professor of theology at Union Theological Seminary, a prolific author, and a trustee of Syracuse University.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Ralph W. Sockman Papers includes correspondence, incoming and outgoing (1924-1970); manuscript addresses, articles, books, lectures, radio scripts, and sermons; published material by and about Sockman (1946-1970); and photographs.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.Papers dealing with personal counseling of patients restricted indefinitely to protect patient confidentiality and identity.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has extensive holdings related to Methodist church and clergy in and around New York State, in both its manuscript and rare book holdings. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing of related manuscript collections, and to the Classic Catalog for a listing of cataloged published and printed material.


Subject Headings

Persons

Sockman, Ralph W. (Ralph Washington), 1889-1970.

Corporate Bodies

Methodist Church -- Clergy.

Subjects

Christian life.
Christianity -- 20th century.
Christianity and culture.
Church and social problems -- United States.
Clergy -- United States.
Clergy as authors.
Methodists -- United States.
Radio in religion.
Sermons, American.

Genres and Forms

Addresses.
Articles.
Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Manuscripts for publication.
Photographs.
Radio scripts.
Sermons.

Occupations

Clergy.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Ralph W. Sockman Papers
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Ralph W. Sockman, 1968-1970.


Table of Contents


Inventory

The item-level inventory for this collection has not yet been converted to electronic format. Please contact the Repository listed above for more information.