Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Walter Snow Collection

A description of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 1 Nov 2007

Revision history:
3 Dec 2008 additions (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Snow, Walter, 1905-1973.
Title: Walter Snow Collection
Dates: 1935, 1971
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Copy of the radical periodical The Anvil marked up with Snow's notes to compositor; letter from Snow to Liberal Press with detailed layout notes; copy of American Book Collector with mention of Snow and his own margin notes
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Walter Snow was an American radical writer and poet. Snow contributed to many radical periodicals including American Dialog, Left Review, The Rebel Poet, and New Masses, and wrote a collection pf poetry entitled Glory and the Shame. He served as editor of The Anvil, "the proletarian fiction magazine," from April 1935 to October 1935.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Walter Snow Collection consists of a copy of the radical periodical The Anvil marked up with Snow's notes to compositor, and a letter from Snow to Liberal Press with detailed layout notes. The letter is dated April 2, 1935, and thus likely represents the first changes Snow wanted to make as incoming editor. Also included in a copy of American Book Collector with mention of Snow (p. 16) and Snow's comments in the margins.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has a complete run of The Anvil and numerous issues of its successor publication, Partisan review and Anvil, cataloged in its Rare Books department. For a complete listing, please refer to the Classic Catalog and search for "Anvil" as the title.


Subject Headings

Persons

Snow, Walter, 1905-1973.

Associated Titles

Anvil (New York, N.Y. : 1933)

Subjects

Layout (Printing)
Periodicals publishing.
Little magazines.
Nineteen thirties -- Periodicals.
Radicalism in literature -- Periodicals.
Socialism in literature -- Periodicals.

Genres and Forms

Layouts (printed matter)
Correspondence.

Occupations

Editors.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Walter Snow Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 2007, 2008.


Table of Contents

Printed material


Inventory

Printed material
SC 217 The Anvil 2 Apr 1935 - letter, marked up copy
SC 217 American Book Collector 1971