Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Albert Sydney Snow Letters

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 22 Nov 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Snow, Albert Sydney, 1845-1932.
Title: Albert Sydney Snow Letters
Dates: 1907-1908
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Letters of the U.S. Navy Admiral.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Albert Sydney Snow (1845-1932) was a career naval officer who retired with the rank of Rear Admiral. He served in the Union Army during the American Civil War on the USS Constitution; on coastal survey duty in Alaska (1883-1887); and at the Naval Academy and at Portsmouth Navy Yard. He was commandant of the Boston Navy Yard from 1905-1907 and president of the general court-martial there.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Albert Sydney Snow Letters consists of two letters from Admiral Snow to someone named Fuller (no first name is given). The letters are personal in nature and relate to invitations from Fuller to visit him.


Arrangement of the Collection

Chronological.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Snow, Albert Sydney, 1845-1932.

Corporate Bodies

United States. -- Navy. -- Officers.

Subjects

Admirals -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Occupations

Armed Forces -- Officers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Albert Sydney Snow Letters,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 1969.


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 652 Fuller, — 1907-1908 (2 items)