Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Peter Smith Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 8 Mar 2017

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Title: Peter Smith Collection
Dates: 1814
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Artificial collection created by Special Collections Research Center to hold additional material related to Peter Smith.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Peter Gerrit Smith (1768-1837), landowner and father of reformer Gerrit Smith, was a man of significant influence during the first quarter of the nineteenth century in Madison County, New York, where he was active in business, politics, and land transactions, and owner of a large portion of the central and northern sections of the country. In some of his ventures he was the partner of John Jacob Astor. The town of Peterboro, New York is named for him.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Peter Smith Collection consists of one letter, from Peter Smith to A. G. Mappa concerning a possible visit to Oldenbarnevelt, Holland.


Arrangement of the Collection

Single item.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has numerous other collections relating to Peter Smith, Gerrit Smith, and other members of the Smith family. Please search our collections to locate related material.


Subject Headings

Persons

Mappa, Adam GeĢrard, 1754-1828.
Smith, Peter, 1768-1837.

Places

New York (State) -- History.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Peter Smith Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 2016.


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 791 Mappa, A. G. 1814