Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Matthew Hale Smith Letters

An inventory of his letters at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: P?
Date: 1 Oct 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Smith, Matthew Hale, 1810-1879.
Title: Matthew Hale Smith Letters
Dates: 1861
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Chaplain in the Union Army. Letters from Camp Anderson in Washington and from Charlestown, Virginian.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Matthew Hale Smith (1810-1879) was the chaplain for the 12th Regiment, New York State Militia, stationed at Camp Anderson in Washington, DC. (See Souvenir of the Annual Reunion of the Twelfth Regiment, N.G.S.N.Y., 1847-1861, published by the Old Guard Association, 1895, p. 157.)


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Matthew Hale Smith Letters consist of three letters. Two are in the same hand and signed "Matthew Hale Smith." The third is signed "M.H.S." but appears to be in a different hand and is dated from Charlestown [sic], Virginia; this third letter may or may not be from Smith.

The two letters with his full signature are dated from Camp Anderson in June of 1861. One reads, in part, "I think I have preached the first Union sermon on the soil of Va -- preached since the secession of the state -- preached under our flag."


Arrangement of the Collection

Chronological.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Smith, Matthew Hale, 1810-1879.

Subjects

Military chaplains -- United States -- Correspondence.

Places

United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Chaplains.
United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Personal narratives.
United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Sources.

Genres and Forms

Letters (correspondence)

Occupations

Chaplains.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Matthew Hale Smith Letters,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 592 Miscellaneous 1861