Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Mary Elizabeth Smith Manuscript

An inventory of the item at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 1 Oct 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Smith, Mary Elizabeth.
Title: Mary Elizabeth Smith Manuscript
Dates: circa 1960
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Typed manuscript, 160 pages, entitled "The Function of Natural Phenomena in the Poetry of Robert Frost"
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Nothing is known of the author of this manuscript. Robert Frost (1874-1963) was an important American poet, the recipient of four Pulitzer Prizes for poetry. Among his well-known and often-anthologized works are "The Road Not Taken," "Stopping by Woods on a Snowy Evening," and "Nothing Gold Can Stay."


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Mary Elizabeth Smith Manuscript consists of 160-page typed document, entitled "The Function of Natural Phenomena in the Poetry of Robert Frost." The work may have been intended as a book, or may have been a dissertation.


Arrangement of the Collection

Single item.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Frost, Robert, 1874-1963 -- Criticism and interpretation.
Smith, Mary Elizabeth.

Subjects

American poetry -- 20th century -- History and criticism.

Genres and Forms

Typescripts.

Occupations

Authors.
Literary critics.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Mary Elizabeth Smith Manuscript,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Transferred from Rare Books, 1977.


Table of Contents

Writings


Inventory

Writings
SC 593 The Function of Natural Phenomena in the Poetry of Robert Frost circa 1960