Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Hiram Smith Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 29 Sep 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Title: Hiram Smith Collection
Dates: 1874-1970
Quantity: 3 folders (SC)
Abstract: Farmer and house builder in New York State. Collection contains his handwritten autobiography from 1874, genealogical material from later family members to 1970, an article in the Courier about Smith, and an undated photograph of Smith.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Hiram Smith (1814-1888) was a 19th century farmer, sash manufacturer and house builder in upstate New York.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Hiram Smith Collection contains memorabilia, printed material and writings.

Memorabilia contains an undated photograph of Smith; written on the back are the words, "Hiram Smith b. 1814 d. 1888 (Fred's g. grandfather)".

Printed material consists of a copy of The Courier, Vol. 34, containing an article about Smith and several sheets of biographical and genealogical information about Hiram and the Smith family, provided by his grand-daughter Edna Crocker Smith, who donated the collection.

Writings contains the complete handwritten manuscript of Smith's autobiography, entitled "A Memoir of the Life of Hiram Smith." The account, which begins with his birth in 1814 and ends in 1874, includes reminiscences of learning to play the violin, travels all over central New York via the Erie Canal, and making a sled out of a pig's lower jaw. His account is unusually interesting and valuable because he mentions by name many of the people and places he visited, and offers a vivid and fascinating window into life in upstate New York in the early part of the 19th century.


Arrangement of the Collection

Alphabetical by type of material.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Smith, Hiram, 1814-1888.

Places

New York (State) -- History -- 19th century.
New York (State) -- Social life and customs.

Genres and Forms

Articles.
Genealogies.
Memoirs.
Photographs.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Hiram Smith Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Edna Crocker Smith, 1970.


Table of Contents

Memorabilia

Printed material

Writings


Inventory

Memorabilia
SC 590 Photograph of Hiram Smith
Printed material
SC 590 Courant article, genealogical and biographical information from Edna C. Smith 1970
Writings
SC 590 Memoir of the life of Hiram Smith 1874