Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Henry D. Smith Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 1 Oct 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Smith, Henry Didama.
Title: Henry D. Smith Collection
Dates: 1895-1961
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: American Presbyterian minister, Syracuse University alumnus. Correspondence, clippings, and a number of sermons and lectures.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Henry Didama Smith (dates unknown) was an American Presbyterian minister and Syracuse University alumnus. He graduated from Union Seminary in 1908, and served as minister at six churches in New York State. He also was moderator of Presbyteries in Binghamton and Troy, New York, and was a delegate to three General Assemblies of the Presbyterian Church.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Henry D. Smith Collection consists of clippings, correspondence, reports and writings

Clippings contains two articles about Rev. Smith, one biographical and one about his mass baptizing of eleven members of the same family.

Correspondence includes a birthday letter to Smith from a relative, dated 1895, and several letters from the Presbyterian Church administration.

Reports contains the pastor's annual reports for Bethany Presbyterian Church for the years 1950-1961.

Writings contains typescripts of a number of sermons, talks or lectures on topics ranging from the benefits of music to the story of Ruth.


Arrangement of the Collection

Alphabetical by type; within that correspondence is arranged chronologically and sermons alphabetically by title.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has several collections of sermons, including the Gyles Merrill Sermons, the William N. Fanton Sermons, and a miscellaneous collection of Sermons (anonymous) . In addition, there is substantial material relating to New York State church and clergy in both the manuscript collections and in our Rare Books holdings. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for related manuscript collections and to the Classic Catalog to locate cataloged print material.


Subject Headings

Persons

Smith, Henry Didama.

Subjects

Presbyterian Church -- Clergy.
Presbyterian Church -- New York (State) -- History.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Sermons.
Typescripts.

Occupations

Clergy.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Henry D. Smith Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Transfer from Rare Books, 1970.


Table of Contents

Clippings

Correspondence

Reports

Sermons and lectures


Inventory

Clippings
SC 591 About Smith 1958
Correspondence
SC 591 Miscellaneous 1895, 1921-1922, 1935
Reports
SC 591 Pastor's annual reports, Bethany Church 1950-1961
Sermons and lectures
SC 591 Miscellaneous 1909-1941
The benefits of music
Christmas Sunday prayer
An evening with hymns
The greatness of the church
Jacob
The wealth of education, or, the largeness of the educated life
Mistakes of the prodigal and his awakening
The purpose of the church
Righteous ambition
Ruth's choice (two copies)
The second mile
What is in thine hand?
Zaccheus, the man who climbed a tree