Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Francis Hopkinson Smith Collection

An inventory of his collection at Syracuse University

Finding aid created by: KM
Date: Jun 1994

Biographical History

American author, illustrator, and novelist.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

Spanning 1883 to 1915, the Francis Hopkinson Smith Collection comprises correspondence, writings and miscellany pertaining to the American author and illustrator (1838-1915). Correspondence includes 25 outgoing Smith letters and 4 incoming items from William Henry Rideing of The Youth's Companion. Four of the letters document an escalating dispute between Smith and agent Major James B. Pond concerning lecture fees. Writings include single typescript pages with extensive holograph revisions of three of Smith's novels, together with a published story bearing his signature. (The manuscript pages originally may have been enclosures with a 1903 Oct 23 letter to James Carlton Young.) Clipped signatures, an inscribed reproduction of a photographic portrait, and printed ephemera, including a periodical issue containing a tribute to F. Hopkinson Smith, booksellers' catalogues, and an advertisement, constitute Miscellany.


Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Subject Headings


Doane, William Croswell, 1832-1913
Kobbé, Gustav, 1857-1918
Pond, James B. (James Burton), 1838-1903
Rideing, William H. (William Henry), 1853-1918
Smith, Francis Hopkinson, 1838-1915, Correspondence
Young, James Carleton, 1856-1918


Art, American.
Authors, American
Illustrators, United States
Novelists, American

Genres and Forms

Manuscripts (document genre)



Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Francis Hopkinson Smith Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Linda Squair, 1994.

Table of Contents