Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Robert Smith Collection relating to Letterio Calapai

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 16 Sep 2015

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Smith, Robert C.
Title: Robert Smith Collection relating to Letterio Calapai
Dates: 1950-1995
Quantity: 0.25 linear ft.
Abstract: Printed material and memorabilia relating to the Italian-American artist.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Letterio Calapai was an Italian-American painter, engraver, illustrator, printmaker who worked in New York City and Chicago.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Robert Smith Collection relating to Letterio Calapai consists of printed material and memorabilia relating to the Italian-American artist.


Arrangement of the Collection

Alphabetical by type or topic.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

See also the Letterio Calapai Papers.


Subject Headings

Persons

Calapai, Letterio, 1902-1993.

Subjects

Art, American -- 20th century.
Engravers -- United States.
Etchers -- United States.
Illustrators -- United States.
Italian Americans.
Painters -- United States.
Printmakers -- United States.
Wood-engravers -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Exhibition catalogs.
Photographs.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Robert Smith Collection relating to Letterio Calapai,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Robert C. Smith, 2015.


Table of Contents

Artwork

Correspondence

Memorabilia

Printed material


Inventory

Artwork
Box 1 Print, "The mischievous dog" by Calapai 1980 - original print in decorative folder, with accompanying letter from Calapai and a copy of "A Portfolio of Wood Engravings: Aesop's Fables," of which the print was part
Box 1 Sketches of Smith, by Calapai undated - photocopies
Correspondence
Box 1 Incoming, from Calapai 1968, 1980, 1986, 1991-1992, undated
Memorabilia
Box 1 Obituary, Deer Island (Maine) newspaper 1993
Box 1 Photographs - candid photos of Calapai, Calapai and Smith, annotated by Smith
Printed material
Box 1 Clippings and press releases 1950, 1952, 1981-1984, 1986, 1988, 1991-1993, 1995, undated
Box 1 Exhibit catalogs and invitations 1961, 1967, 1972, 1977, 1983, 1986, 1988, 1991 - some signed by artist; Rome exhibit catalog includes letter and enclosures from Calapai to Smith
Box 1 Intaglio workshop 1960-1961 - course catalog from New School; postcard