Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Slave Dealer's Record Book

An inventory of the item at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: LDC
Date: 22 Jan 2009

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Title: Slave Dealer's Record Book
Dates: 1790-1795
Quantity: 1 v. (SC)
Abstract: Record of slave sales in Cacheu for shipment to Brazil by the ship Nossa Senhore de Belton; lists individual dealers and slaves.
Language: In Portuguese
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Slave Dealer's Record Book is a single bound volume that documents the slave-sales at Cacheu (Portuguese Guinea) from 1790-1795. The text describes the slaves being traded, listing their price, sex, names of those selling each slave, and the name of the captain performing the shipment. Shipments on the Nossa Senhore de Belton are described in much detail.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Corporate Bodies

Nossa Senhore de Belton (Ship)

Subjects

Slave trade -- Africa, West.

Places

Cacheu (Guinea-Bissau)

Genres and Forms

Business records.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Slave Dealer's Record Book,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents

Business records


Inventory

Business records
SC 283 [untitled] 1790-1795 - one volume, bound in modern paneled calf with gilt lines on front-cover (original)