Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Charles Skiles Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Finding aid created by: CK
Date: Feb 1968

Biographical History

Charles Skiles (1911-1969) was an American cartoonist.

Charles Skiles was born in Pekin, Indiana on December 29, 1911. Skiles drew the syndicated single panel cartoon Josephine for the General Features Corporation. Skiles also contributed cartoons published in magazines such as the Saturday Evening Post, Collier’s, McCalls, Good Housekeeping, Ladies Home Journal, Christian Science Monitor and the Wall Street Journal.

Skiles lived in Florida for most of his life and he died Feb. 14, 1969 at Halifax Hospital in Daytona Beach, Florida.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Charles Skiles Papers are arranged in three series: correspondence, original cartoons, and published material.

Correspondence (1946-1957), contains one folder of incoming correspondence regarding the use of Skiles' cartoons.

Cartoons (1940-1967) consists of original artwork and is divided into two subseries. Included in the collection are approximately 2,134 pieces of artwork for the Josephine panel cartoon. 1,626 items are dated, 483 cartoons bear only years and 25 items are completely undated. Items measure 7" x 9 3/4" and were drawn in ink on paper. Captions appear in blue pencil. The other subseries is magazine cartoons. These items have similar dimensions to the Josephine work and were produced in ink and watercolor on paper. Stamps are located on the back with Skiles' name and address as well as publication information.

The Published material series (1940-1965) contains clippings of Skiles' cartoons including his early work for publications such as Liquor News, foreign language versions of his cartoons and cartoons published for Dr. Pepper in 1943 along with a Dr. Pepper proof book.

Arrangement of the Collection

Josephine cartoons are arranged in chronological order. Magazine artwork is arranged alphabetically by publication name. Correspondence and published material is arranged as received.


Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has collections of over one hundred cartoonists. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Subject Headings


Skiles, Charles -- Archives.

Corporate Bodies

Dr. Pepper Co.
General Features Corp.

Associated Titles

Josephine (cartoon)


Advertising -- Soft drinks.
American wit and humor, Pictorial.
Caricatures and cartoons -- United States.
Cartoonists -- United States.
Children -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Comic books, strips, etc.

Genres and Forms

Cartoons (humorous images)
Clippings (information artifacts)



Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Charles Skiles Papers
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Charles Skiles, 1967.

Table of Contents



Published material