Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Susie B. Skelding Letters

An inventory of the collection) at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 25 Aug 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Skelding, Susie Barstow.
Title: Susie B. Skelding Letters
Dates: 1883-1888
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Letters to the American botanical author/illustrator, from poets Frances Mace and Mary Bradley.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Susie Barstow Skelding (1857-1934) was an American botanical artist, illustrator and author. She is perhaps best-known for her Flower Songs Series, in which Skelding created illustrations to accompany poems by well-known American poets.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Susie B. Skelding Letters consist of incoming letters from American poets Frances Mace and Mary Bradley.


Arrangement of the Collection

Alphabetically by correspondent, and within that chronologically.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Bradley, Mary E. (Mary Emily), 1835-1898.
Mace, Frances L. (Frances Laughton), 1836-1899.
Skelding, Susie Barstow.

Subjects

Illustrators -- United States -- 20th century.
Poets, American -- 20th century.
Women illustrators -- United States.
Women poets.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Occupations

Illustrators.
Poets.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Susie B. Skelding Letters,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 1969.


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 572 Bradley, Mary E. 1883-1887
SC 572 Mace, Frances L. 1883-1888