Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Albert W. Simmons Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 28 Oct 2011

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Simmons, Albert W.
Title: Albert W. Simmons Papers
Dates: 1878-1902
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Letters and documents pertaining to Albert W. Simmons, resident of Auburn, NY, and his attempts (later his widow's attempts) to get a pension for his military service.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Little is known of Albert W. Simmons other than what can be gleaned from the material in the collection. He was a resident of Auburn, New York who served with the rank of private in Company H of the 75th New York Volunteers. He was evidently disabled as a result of his military service.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Albert W. Simmons Papers consists of letters and documents pertaining to Albert W. Simmons, resident of Auburn, NY, and his attempts (later his widow's attempts) to get a pension for his military service. Included are letters, affidavits, an Onondaga County Court filing in the matter of the estate of Mary Simmons, and finally a certificate from the Bureau of Pensions granting Simmons' widow Margaret a pension of twelve dollars a month.


Arrangement of the Collection

Chronological.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Simmons, Albert W.

Corporate Bodies

United States. -- Army. -- New York Infantry Regiment, 75th (1861-1865)

Subjects

Military pensions -- New York (State)
Military pensions -- United States -- Civil War, 1861-1865.

Places

Onondaga County (N.Y.) -- History.

Genres and Forms

Affidavits.
Correspondence.
Legal documents.
Petitions.

Occupations

Soldiers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Albert W. Simmons Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 2011.


Table of Contents

Pension papers


Inventory

Pension papers
SC 675 Miscellaneous 1878-1902