Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Shove, Bowen and Shove Account Book

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 4 Nov 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Shove, Bowen and Shove.
Title: Shove, Bowen and Shove Account Book
Dates: 1790-1798
Quantity: 1 volume.
Abstract: Ledger of 18th c. general merchants Shove, Bowen and Shove.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Nothing is known of the firm of Shove, Bowen and Shove other than the information given in the collection. They were evidently general merchants, selling everything from molasses to nails. The location of their store cannot be stated for certain, but the front free end paper bears the words "Freetown 1795" and underneath that "Shippen Shove Boston." The most likely candidate is therefore Freetown, Massachusetts, first settled in 1659 as part of Plymouth Colony.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Shove, Bowen and Shove Account Book consists of one volume, a ledger containing credits and debits for various patrons of the merchants Shove, Bowen and Shove. Items sold include molasses, rum, sugar, striped nankeen, corn, nails and gingerbread. Items listed in the credit column include wood, coal, "days worked," and hoops (whether dress or barrel is not specified). Occasionally food items are listed, such as butter, eggs and mutton.


Arrangement of the Collection

Single item.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

See also the George Shove Account Book.


Subject Headings

Persons

Bowen family.
Shove family.

Corporate Bodies

Shove, Bowen and Shove.

Subjects

Merchants -- United States -- History -- 18th century.

Places

Freetown (Mass. : Town) -- History.

Genres and Forms

Account books.

Occupations

Merchants.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Shove, Bowen and Shove Account Book,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 1968.


Table of Contents

Financial papers


Inventory

Financial papers
Volume 1 Account book 1790-1798