Collection inventory


Finding Aids

George Shoemaker Record Books

An inventoryof the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 28 Sep 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Shoemaker, George, 1792-1865.
Title: George Shoemaker Record Books
Dates: 1841-1856
Quantity: 0.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Flour inspector for the Port of Georgetown. Collection contains three inspection record books and one scrapbook of receipts and recipes compiled by Shoemaker.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

George Shoemaker (1792-1865) was Deputy Flour inspector and then Flour Inspector of Washington, DC for 48 years. His diligence in this capacity helped make the Georgetown flour trade well-respected and popular. (See William Tindall's Standard History of the City of Washington from a Study of the Original Sources, p. 234.)


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The George Shoemaker Record Books consists of four volumes. Three record Shoemaker's inspections of various flour mills over a fifteen-year span. The fourth is a scrapbook of home remedies and recipes compiled by Shoemaker, containing clippings, pasted-in letters, handwritten items, etc. Formulas cover a wide range, from whooping cough cures to colored inks.


Arrangement of the Collection

Chronological.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Shoemaker, George, 1792-1865.

Subjects

Flour.
Food adulteration and inspection -- United States.
Food inspectors -- United States.
Traditional medicine -- Formulae, receipts, prescriptions.

Places

Georgetown (Washington, D.C.) -- History.

Genres and Forms

Administrative records.
Clippings (information artifacts)
Scrapbooks.

Occupations

Food inspectors.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

George Shoemaker Record Books,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Transfer from Rare Books, 1969.


Table of Contents

Record books


Inventory

Record books
Box 1 Inspection books 1841-1856 - flour inspection, Georgetown, Washington DC (3 volumes)
Box 1 Recipe book - scrapbook of home remedies and recipes