Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Percy Bysshe Shelley Collection

An inventoryof the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 28 Sep 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Title: Percy Bysshe Shelley Collection
Dates: 1818-1894
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: British poet. One manuscript fragment in the poet's hand and three letters from his son and daughter-in-law about him.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Percy Bysshe Shelley (1792-1822) was an important English Romantic poet and author. Some of his best-known poems are "Ozymandias" and "To a Skylark" but he also wrote epic poems (Alastor, Adonaïs, The Revolt of Islam), plays (Prometheus Unbound), and gothic novels (Zastrozzi, St. Irvyne). His wife was the novelist Mary Shelley, author of Frankenstein, or, The Modern Prometheus.

Their only surviving son, Percy Florence Shelley (1819-1889), was born in Italy. He studied at Cambridge and upon the death of his grandfather became Sir Percy, 3rd Baronet of Castle Goring, Sussex. He married Lady Jane Gibson (d. 1899) in 1848.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Percy Bysshe Shelley Collection consists of one fragment in Shelley's hand and three letters concerning him. The letter from Percy Florence Shelley, dated 14 Nov 1883, contains comments about his father's vegetarianism. Of the letters from Jane, Lady Shelley, one contains remarks on an article about Shelley published in the National Review and the other expresses gratitude to the recipient (unnamed) for his "understanding of [Shelley's] character."


Arrangement of the Collection

Chronological.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Shelley, Jane Gibson, Lady, d. 1899.
Shelley, Percy Bysshe, 1792-1822.
Shelley, Percy Florence, Sir, 1819-1889.

Subjects

English poetry -- 19th century.
Romanticism -- Great Britain.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Manuscripts (document genre)

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Percy Bysshe Shelley Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Transfer from Rare Books, 1970, 1981.


Table of Contents

Writings

Correspondence


Inventory

Writings
SC 585 Fragment, in Shelley's hand 1818
Correspondence
SC 585 Percy Florence Shelley 1883
SC 585 Jane, Lady Shelley 1888, 1894