Collection inventory


Finding Aids

John B. Sheerin Papers

A description of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 23 Sep 2009

Revision history:
29 Mar 2012 inventory added (PRB)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Sheerin, John B.
Title: John B. Sheerin Papers
Dates: 1948-1971
Quantity: 1.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Printed material and writings of John B. Sheerin, Roman Catholic editor, columnist and pioneer in interfaith relations.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Reverend John B. Sheerin (1907?-1992) was a Roman Catholic editor, columnist and pioneer in interfaith relations. A graduate of Fordham University (BA, 1928; JD, 1930), he was editor of The Catholic World, a monthly journal published by the Paulist Fathers, from 1948-1972. He was an outspoken opponent of the Vietnam War and a supporter of civil rights. [Adapted from his obituary in the New York Times, 15 Jan 1992.]


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The John B. Sheerin Papers consists of printed material and writings, much of it editorials from Sheerin's work as editor of The Catholic World, including some indexes to the editorials.


Arrangement of the Collection

All series are arranged chronologically.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has a number of collections relating to church and clergy. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.


Subject Headings

Persons

Sheerin, John B.

Associated Titles

Catholic World.

Subjects

Catholic Church -- Clergy -- Political activity -- United States.
Catholics -- United States -- Intellectual life.
Catholics -- United States -- Periodicals.
Catholics -- United States -- Political activity

Genres and Forms

Editorials.
Indexes.
Photographs.
Printed material

Occupations

Periodical editors.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

John B. Sheerin Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of John B. Sheerin, 1970-1971.


Table of Contents

Biographical material

Writings


Inventory

Biographical material
Box 1 Photo, biographical sketch 1970
Writings
Box 1 Articles, various publications 1967-1971
Box 1 Book, Human Life in Our Day 1968
Editorials
Box 1 Index covering 1948-1971
Box 1 Editorials in "Catholic World" 1948-1971 (8 folders)
"Sum and Substance" column
Box 2 Index covering 1956-1968 1968
Box 2 "Sum and Substance" column 1956-1963 (8 folders)
Box 3 "Sum and Substance" column 1964-1970 (7 folders)