Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Louis E. Shecter Papers

A description of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 13 Oct 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Shecter, Louis E.
Title: Louis E. Shecter Papers
Dates: 1933-1972
Quantity: 12 linear ft.
Abstract: American advertising executive, involved in human rights and Israel issues. Collection includes correspondence, printed material, photographs, audiorecordings, manuscripts, newspapers and clippings.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Louis E. Shecter (1900- ) was an American advertising entrepreneur and art collector. He was also actively involved in human rights and issues relating to Israel, serving as chairman of the National Commission on Ratification of the Genocide Convention, vice-chairman on International Affairs for the American Jewish Congress, chairman of the Baltimore Chapter of the Commission to End Arab Discrimination, and president of the Baltimore Branch of the American Jewish Congress.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Louis E. Shecter Papers consist of correspondence, printed material, photographs, audiorecordings, manuscripts, newspapers and clippings.


Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is unprocessed and remains in original order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The collection is currently unprocessed and not available for research. Please contact Special Collections Research Center for more information.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Shecter, Louis E.

Corporate Bodies

American Jewish Congress.
United States -- Foreign relations -- Israel.

Subjects

Advertising agencies -- United States.
Jews -- Israel.
Jews -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Audiocassettes.
Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Manuscripts for publication.
Newspapers.
Photographs.

Occupations

Advertisers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Louis E. Shecter Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Louis E. Shecter, 1964-1972.


Table of Contents


Inventory

An inventory has not yet been created for this collection. Please contact the Repository listed above for more information.