Collection inventory


Finding Aids

George A. Shapley Correspondence

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 31 Jan 2014

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Shapley, George A.
Title: George A. Shapley Correspondence
Dates: 1925-1946
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Incoming correspondence addressed to the Reverend George A. Shapley in various localities of upstate New York in the period between 1925 and 1946
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Little is known of George A. Shapley other than what can be gleaned from the letters in the collection. He was ordained in the Catholic church and served at various churches in central New York, including St. Paul's Rectory in Oswego, St. Francis de Sales in Utica, St. Leo's Rectory in Holland Patent, the Church of St. Mary in Hamilton, and Sacred Heart in Utica.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The George A. Shapley Correspondence consists of letters to Rev. Shapley, most of which concern his appointment to various parishes. The majority are from three consecutive bishops of Syracuse: Daniel Joseph Curley (served 1923-1932), John Aloysius Duffy (1933-1937), and Walter Andrew Foery (1937-1970).


Arrangement of the Collection

Chronological.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Curley, Daniel Joseph.
Duffy, John Aloysius.
Foery, Walter Andrew.
Shapley, George A.

Corporate Bodies

Catholic Church. -- Diocese of Syracuse (N.Y.)

Subjects

Catholic Church -- Clergy -- New York (State)

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Letters of appointment.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

George A. Shapley Correspondence,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 2014.


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 706 Incoming 1925, 1938, 1933, 1946