Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Shaktman Associates Records

An inventory of its Records at Syracuse University

Finding aid created by: PRB
Date: 2 Apr 2013

Biographical History

Founded in 1983 by American playwright and director Ben Shaktman, Shaktman Associates is an international presentation skills training company based in Santa Monica, CA. The company conducts workshops, coaches executives and publishes training material for a wide range of corporate clients.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Shaktman Associates Records spans the years 1983-2008 and is divided into four groups: Correspondence-subject files, Publications, Media, and Memorabilia.

Correspondence-subject files is arranged alphabetically and includes letters to and from and information about Shaktman Associates' clients as well as general correspondence.

Media includes audio, video, and computer material produced by Shaktman Associates as well as its clients and partners.

Memorabilia contains appointment calendars, phone logs, photgraphs, and a diary from Ben Shaktman's trip to China in 2000.

Publications includes workshop materials and handouts as well as general Shaktman Associates brochures and advertising material.

Arrangement of the Collection

Material is arranged alphabetically by type or title.


Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Related Material

See also the Ben Shaktman Papers

Subject Headings


Carden, William.
Shaktman, Ben, 1937-

Corporate Bodies

Allianz Group.
Andersen Consulting.
Apple Computer, Inc.
Autodesk, Inc.
CRM Learning (Firm)
Claris Corporation.
Computer Sciences Corporation.
Deloitte & Touche.
Electronic Data Systems Corporation.
Forrester (Firm)
Gartner Group.
General Electric Company.
Guthy-Renker (Firm)
Inforum (Firm)
Infosys Technologies Ltd.
International Business Machines Corporation.
London Business School.
META Group.
MediaWorks (Firm)
Morgan Stanley & Co.
Polaroid Corporation.
Price, Waterhouse & Co.
Texas Instruments Incorporated.
Xerox Corporation.


Business communication.
Business presentations.
Communication in management.
Executive coaching.
Management -- United States -- Handbooks, manuals, etc.

Genres and Forms

Drafts (documents)
Floppy disks.
Lecture notes.
Research notes.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Shaktman Associates Records,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Ben Shaktman: 1984, 1986, 1987, 1989, 1991, 1992, 1993, 1994, 1995, 1996, 1997, 1998, 2000, 2001, 2003, 2004, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009.

Table of Contents

Correspondence-subject files