Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Shakers (Mt. Lebanon Bishopric) Collection

An inventory of the item(s) at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: DC
Date: Feb 1993

Revision history:
26 Mar 2009 converted to EAD (LDC)
4 Nov 2011 missing item found! (MRC)
15 Feb 2017 adds, P-15-308 (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Shakers. -- Mt. Lebanon Bishopric (N.Y.)
Title: Shakers (Mt. Lebanon Bishopric) Collection
Dates: 1885-1907 (bulk: 1906-1907)
Quantity: 1 linear ft.
Abstract: Legal and printed materials. Includes the court transcript of testimony in the New York State Supreme Court case brought by Levi Shaw and other Trustees of the United Society of Believers (Shakers) against their neighbor, Olive Hand, and miscellaneous material related to this Mount Lebanon, New York deed dispute.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

The Mount Lebanon Shaker Society (1787-1947) was an American communal settlement of Shakers in New Lebanon, New York. Arguably the most influential of the 19 American Shaker communities, Mount Lebanon was intended to serve as a model for all other members of the United Society of Believers (Shakers) to follow. At its peak, Mount Lebanon was home to 600 members and encompassed 6,000 acres.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Shakers (Mt. Lebanon Bishopric) Collection contains mostly legal materials and a few other items. The bulk pertains to a New York State Supreme Court case brought by Levi Shaw and other Trustees of the United Society of Believers (Shakers) against their neighbor, Olive Hand. The collection contains court testimony, case notes for the trial and an article published in the The Hudson Evening Register on the case's outcome. There is also an unrelated business letter.


Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is divided into two series: Legal materials and Other materials.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Hand, Olive -- Trials, litigation, etc.
Shaw, Levi -- Trials, litigation, etc.

Corporate Bodies

Shakers -- Archival resources.
Shakers. Mt. Lebanon Bishopric (N.Y.)

Subjects

Christian communities -- New York (State)
Christian communities -- United States.
Collective settlements -- United States.
Real property -- New York (State) -- Mount Lebanon.
Religious communities -- New York (State) -- Mount Lebanon.
Trial transcripts -- New York (State) -- Mount Lebanon.

Places

Mount Lebanon (N.Y.) -- History.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Corrspondence.
Legal documents.
Notes.
Testimonies.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Shakers (Mt. Lebanon Bishopric) Collection
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents

Legal materials

Other materials


Inventory

Legal materials
Box 1 Case notes 1906 - on Caledonian Insurance Company letterhead
Box 1 Court case testimony 1906 - typescript of testimony in court case brought by Levi Shaw and others, as Trustees of the United States Believers, against Olive Hand, concerning a deed dispute in Mount Lebanon, New York (1 volume)
Other materials
Box 1 Miscellaneous 1885, 1906
Clipping, "Shakers Lost Law Suit About Lebanon Land" in The Hudson Evening Register (photocopy)
business letter, on letterhead of the Shaker Seed Co.