Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Shaker Catalogs Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 27 Mar 2013

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Title: Shaker Catalogs Collection
Dates: 1953-1997 (bulk: 1980-1995)
Quantity: 0.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Auction and dealer catalogs for items produced by or pertaining to the Shaker religious community.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

The Shakers, formally known as the United Society of Believers in Christ's Second Appearing, are a religious sect founded in England in the 18th century. Groups of Shakers first came to America in the 19th century, settling in Mount Lebanon and Watervliet, New York. Shakers practice celibacy, pacifism, a communal lifestyle, and equality of the sexes, which has been a tenet of their society since the 1780s. They are also known for their simple living, architecture, and furniture. Today there is only one active Shaker community, Sabbathday Lake Shaker Village in Maine.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Shaker Catalogs Collection contains auction and dealer catalogs for books, pamphlets, antiques, furniture, and other items produced by or pertaining to the Shaker religious community. Included in the collection are a few catalogs from the United Society of Shakers themselves.


Arrangement of the Collection

Alphabetical by name or topic, then chronological.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has a substantial amount of print and manuscript material related to the Shakers and to other communal societies and Utopian communities. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index to locate additional manuscript material and to the Classic Catalog to locate print material.


Subject Headings

Persons

De Wolfe, Scott.
Newell, David D.
Sherman, Milton, d. 1990.

Corporate Bodies

Shakers.

Subjects

Auctions -- United States.
Book auctions -- United States.
Booksellers and bookselling -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Auction catalogs.
Book catalogs.
Clippings (information artifacts)

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Shaker Catalogs Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Unknown.


Table of Contents

Auction catalogs

Dealer catalogs

Printed material


Inventory

Auction catalogs
Box 1 Miscellaneous 1961-1974
Dealer catalogs
Box 1 Harold Nestler 1974, 1976
Box 1 David Newell 1980-1984, 1990, 1997, undated (3 folders)
Box 1 Miton Sherman 1986-1990, undated (2 folders)
Box 1 Scott De Wolfe 1992-1994
Box 1 United Society of Shakers 1987-1988
Printed material
Box 1 Miscellaneous 1953, 1972, undated - includes supplemental bulletin of the National Association of Watch and Clock Collectors, Inc.