Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Raymond P. Shafer Papers

A description of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 17 Nov 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Shafer, Raymond P.
Title: Raymond P. Shafer Papers
Dates: 1967
Quantity: 0.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Governor of Pennsylvania. Collection contains speeches, public relations material.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Raymond P. Shafer (1917-2006) was an American lawyer and governor of Pennsylvania. He graduated from Yale Law and served in the United States Navy during World War II, participating in more than 80 combat missions. He was a national leader of the moderate wing of the Republican Party in the late 1960s, and during his tenure as governor of Pennsylvania (1967-1971) he oversaw a revamping of the state constitution. He served as special counsel to Vice President Nelson Rockefeller from 1974 to 1977, and led a drug commission for President Richard M. Nixon that recommended decriminalizing marijuana. In 1977 he returned to private practice, and was a partner at Coopers & Lybrand for more than ten years.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Raymond P. Shafer Papers includes speeches and public relations material.


Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is unprocessed and remains in original order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The collection is currently unprocessed and not available for research. Please contact Special Collections Research Center for more information.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Shafer, Raymond P.

Subjects

Governors -- Pennsylvania.
Governors -- United States.

Places

Pennsylvania -- Politics and government.

Genres and Forms

Printed ephemera.
Speeches.

Occupations

Governors.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Raymond P. Shafer Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Raymond P. Shafer, 1967.


Table of Contents


Inventory

An inventory has not yet been created for this collection. Please contact the Repository listed above for more information.