Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Science Fiction Writers of America (SFWA) Records

An inventory of its collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: DL
Date: 17 Jun 2015

Revision history:
17 Jun 2015 Processed (DL)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Science Fiction Writers of America
Title: Science Fiction Writers of America (SFWA) Records
Dates: 1966-1970
Quantity: 1.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Correspondence, mailings, organization records and publications of the Science Fiction Writers of America. Includes considerable correspondence from and to Roger Zelazny, Anne Mccaffrey, and Poul Anderson while performing work for the organization.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

The Science Fiction Writers of America (SFWA), founded in 1965 by Damon Knight and now known as the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America, is a nonprofit organization of professional science fiction writers in the United States. The purpose of the SFWA is to inform, support, promote, defend and advocate for both its members and the genre. SFWA activities include informing science fiction and fantasy writers on professional matters, protecting their interests, and helping them deal effectively with agents, editors, anthologists, and producers in media; encouraging public interest in and appreciation for science fiction and fantasy literature; and sponsoring, editing, and disseminating writings, papers, and other publications which exemplify science fiction and fantasy literature of high quality.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Science Fiction Writers of America (SFWA) Records consists of correspondence subject files, organizational records and publications.

Correspondence subject files consists of questionnaires given to writers and editors on the science fiction genre, mailings to and from the SFWA, correspondence to and from the secretary-treasurer of the SFWA for the years 1967-1970, the secretary-treasurer handbook, secretary-treasurer records and materials 1967-1968. This series also contains correspondence, drafts, proofs and selection information for the 4th Nebula Anthology as well as information concerning the 4th Nebula Awards Banquet.

Organizational records contains the organization's bylaws as of 1966, SFWA copyright information for 1966-1967, and financial records from 1966-1970.

Publications contains general publications from the SFWA, copies of the SFWA Bulletin from August 1967-February 1969, copies of the SFWA Forum from October 1967-February 1970, and copies of assorted other science fiction publications.


Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is arranged alphabetically by type. Material within each series is arranged alphabetically and then further arranged chronologically if applicable.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has the papers and collections of a number of science fiction writers and publishers. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Special Collections Research Center has extensive holding of published material relating to science fiction, including books, periodicals, pulp magazines, fanzines and conference proceedings. Please search search the Classic Catalog for these related materials.


Subject Headings

Persons

Anderson, Poul, 1926-2001.
McCaffrey, Anne.
Zelazny, Roger.

Corporate Bodies

Science Fiction Writers of America.

Subjects

Popular culture -- United States.
Popular literature -- United States.
Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America
Science fiction, American -- Information resources.
Science fiction, American -- Periodicals.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Financial records.
Printers' proofs.
Publications (document genre).
Questionnaires.

Occupations

Authors.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Science Fiction Writers of America (SFWA) Records,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Science Fiction Writers of America, 1966-1970, 1973.


Table of Contents

Correspondence subject files

Organizational records

Publications


Inventory

Correspondence subject files
Box 1 Double-Bill symposium questionaire 1963 (2 folders)
Box 1 Farrar, Straus and Giroux correspondence 1 Aug 1966
Box 1 Mailings
Nebula anthology (4th)
Box 1 Correspondence 1968-1969 - from and to Poul Anderson, concerning anthology
Box 1 Drafts
Box 1 Proofs (2 folders)
Box 1 Selection Process
Box 1 Nebula awards (4th) banquet - Invitation, topics, voting ballot
Secretary-Treasurer
Box 1 Correspondence 1967 - from and to Roger Zelazny (2 folders)
Box 2 Correspondence 1968-1970 - from and to Roger Zelazny, Anne McCaffrey (4 folders)
Box 2 Correspondence undated
Box 2 Handbook (initial draft)
Box 2 Handbook
Box 2 Records/materials 1967-1968 - notes, mailings, application forms, reports
Organizational records
Box 2 Bylaws 1966
Box 2 Copyrights Aug 1966-Sep 1967
Box 2 Financial records 1966-1968 (3 folders)
Box 3 Financial records 1969-1970
Publications
Box 3 General - importance of criticism, mental illness and its connection with science fiction
Box 3 SFWA Bulletin Aug 1967-Feb 1970 (2 folders)
Box 3 SFWA Forum 1967-1970