Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Rudolf Serkin Letter

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 23 Aug 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Serkin, Rudolf, 1903-1991.
Title: Rudolf Serkin Letter
Dates: 1968
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Letter from Hungarian-born pianist Rudolf Serkin to Max Bloom, concerning a Mr. Posniak.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Rudolf Serkin (1903-1991) was a Hungarian-born composer. He studied and performed throughout Europe until 1933, when he and violinist Adolf Busch and family left Germany for Switzerland (Serkin was later to marry Busch's daughter, Irene). In 1939 they emigrated to the United States, where Serkin taught at the Curtis Institute of Music in Philadelphia and was later (1968-1976) its Director. He and Adolf Busch founded the Marlboro Music School and Festival near Brattleboro, Vermont.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Rudolf Serkin Letter consists of a single letter from Serkin to Max Bloom, thanking Bloom for his contribution to the Marlboro Music School and Festival and posing the question of how "to honor the memory of Mr. Posniak."


Arrangement of the Collection

Single item.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Serkin, Rudolf, 1903-1991.

Corporate Bodies

Marlboro Music School and Festival.

Subjects

Pianists -- Hungary.
Pianists -- United States.
Piano teachers -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Occupations

Pianists.
Piano teachers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Rudolf Serkin Letter,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Max Bloom, 2004.


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 566 Bloom, Max 12 Feb 1968