Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Werner Seligmann Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: DO
Date: Dec 2002

Revision history:
3 Mar 2014 complete inventory added (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Seligmann, Werner.
Title: Werner Seligmann Papers
Dates: 1948-1998 (bulk: 1955-1998)
Quantity: 95 linear ft.
Abstract: Project material (drawings, plans, elevations, perspectives, photographs and slides), memorabilia (clippings, scrapbooks), and writings of the American architect, urban designer, and educator.
Language: Majority in English, some in German and Italian.
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Werner Seligmann (1930-1998) was a German-American architect, urban designer, and educator.

Werner Seligmann was born in Osnabrück, Germany in 1930. Surviving the Holocaust, he emigrated to the United States in 1949 and was naturalized in 1955. He married the former Jean Liberman of Cortland, New York in 1954 and had two children, Sabina and Raphael. In 1961 he founded Werner Seligmann and Associates, Architects and Urban Designers (WSA). He died in 1998.

Seligmann received his bachelor's degree in architecture from Cornell University in 1955. He spent the next two years as an instructor at the University of Texas at Austin as one of the "Texas Rangers," a group of architects that also included John Hejduk, Lee Hodgden, Bernhard Hoesli, Colin Rowe, John Shaw, Robert Slutzky, and others. He completed his graduate study at the Technische Hochsschule in Braunschweig, Germany and then taught at the Eidgenössiche Technische Hochschule (ETH) in Zürich, Cornell University, and Harvard University.

He served Syracuse University first as the Dean of the School of Architecture, 1976-1990, then as Distinguished Professor of Architecture until his death. In addition, he held several other appointments including Thomas Jefferson Professor of Architecture at the University of Virginia School of Architecture. He was a juror, guest lecturer and visiting critic at several institutions and received numerous awards throughout his career for his work. In 1998 he was awarded the Topaz Medallion for Excellence in Architectural Education from the Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture (ACSA) and the American Institute of Architects (AIA).

Influenced by Frank Lloyd Wright and Le Corbusier, Seligmann was known for his synagogues, public buildings, housing, and urban design work in the central New York region. His major built works include: Beth David Synagogue, Binghamton, NY; Science Building II, State University of New York, Cortland; Temple Brith Sholom, Cortland, NY; Ithaca Scattered Site Housing - Elm Street (also known as West Village) and Maple Avenue (also known as Maple Hill Apartments), Ithaca, NY; Willard State Hospital Administration Building, Willard, NY; Olean Central Fire Station, Olean, NY; Ithaca Commons Center (also known as Center Ithaca), Ithaca, NY.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Werner Seligmann Papers span the years 1948-1998 (1955-1998 bulk) and are arranged in two series: Projects and Writings and Biographical Material. The collection comprises drawings, presentation boards, slides, models, photographic materials, specifications, competition programs, newspaper clippings, articles, reports, studies, monographs, and scrapbooks.

There is very little material regarding the business or financial aspects of Werner Seligmann and Associates, Architects and Urban Designers (WSA) or Seligmann's personal or faculty life. No employee or job lists were found. The bulk of material is project related and represents all phases of the architectural process, in particular the design development and construction phases. Documented are Seligmann's built and unbuilt projects and the competitions he participated in under WSA or with colleagues and students.

Seligmann-assigned project names, abbreviations, and job numbers were often used inconsistently. Project names created during the processing of these papers for those projects with no discernable names are noted with an asterisk. Completion dates for built works or competition dates are assigned if determined.

Seligmann's work from the mid 1950s into the 1960s includes private residences and businesses, a few competitions, and one major built religious work, Beth David Synagogue in Binghamton, New York. The papers also include a few drawings from his 1955 thesis work at Cornell University, a proposed hotel for Cortland, New York.

Most of the material dates from the late 1960s through early 1970s, highlighting the public and urban design work of WSA. Major clients include the Binghamton Urban Renewal Authority (BURA), the New York State Urban Development Corporation (UDC), the New York State University Construction Fund, and the New York State Health and Mental Hygiene Facilities Improvement Corporation. Major built projects completed during this period include Temple Brith Sholom, in Cortland, Ithaca Scattered Site Housing (Elm Street and Maple Avenue), the Science Building II (SUNY Cortland), and Willard State Hospital in Willard, New York. He also worked on several small residential projects, most notably a residence for astronomer Carl Sagan, which was not built.

The material from the mid 1970s to 1998 centers on residential and business projects and work for the municipalities of Olean and Ithaca, New York. Major works built during this period include the Olean Central Fire Station, the North Barry Street Community Building, also located in Olean, and the Ithaca Commons Center. In the 1980s and 1990s he entered several national and international competitions.

The strength of this collection lies in the many original sketches on trace for competitions such as the Arizona Historical Society and Museum, the Cardiff Bay Opera House, the Felix Nussbaum House, the National Museum of Korea, Roosevelt Island, and the Topography of Terror. Original sketches also exist for a few private residences and major projects such as Ithaca Commons Center, Olean Central Fire Station, and Temple Brith Sholom.

Projects (1948-1998; bulk 1955-1998) includes drawings, presentation boards, photographic materials, specifications, competition programs, newspaper clippings, articles, reports, studies, correspondence, slides, and models. Some of the material is in German or Italian and is noted in the inventories. Drawings may be duplicated in a variety of formats throughout the collection. Project not built are noted as "(not built)" and project type is given in square brackets, e.g. "[Government]".

Projects are further broken down by type of material. Drawings (span dates: 1948-1993) consists of approximately 6,200 plans, elevations, sections, perspectives, axonometrics, maps, studies, sketches, preliminary, presentation, working, mechanical, electrical, structural, landscaping, and as-built drawings. Models (not dated) exist for Beth David Synagogue, Congregation Beth Sholom Addition, East Syracuse Library, Felix Nussbaum House Competition, Rosefsky Summer House 4a, b, Temple Brith Sholom and the Willard State Hospital Rehabilitation Center. Presentation boards (span dates: 1955-1993) vary in size up to three by nine feet and comprise photographs, site maps, descriptive text, and drawings. Project materials (span dates: 1954-1998) includes professional photographs, snapshots, negatives, positives, or photocopies of the site or drawings. May also include sketches, small presentation boards, specifications, competition programs, newspaper clippings, articles, reports, studies, correspondence, or other miscellaneous items. Approximately 4,400 Slides (span dates: 1955-1987) depict plans, elevations, sections, perspectives, referential images, earlier existing structures, interiors and exterior views and details, analytical or explanatory drawings, models, construction, and some text.

Writings and biographical material (span dates: 1966-1998) includes published and unpublished magazine articles and newspaper clippings by or about Seligmann and his work, lists of competitions and exhibitions, awards and honors, page layouts for proposed book, and a videotape of the American Institute of Architects Topaz Award Introduction and text of Seligmann's acceptance speech. The five monographs on architecture are located in the Department of Special Collections. Arranged by date or project.


Arrangement of the Collection

Project materials are arranged alphabetically by project. Drawings, housed in tubes 1-177, are arranged by project. Presentation boards 1-89 are arranged by project. Slides are arranged alphabetically by job name. Although box numbering appears to run from Box 1 to Box 95, there are in fact only 83 boxes; boxes 5, 7, 21, 27, 32, 33, 39, 41, 43, 49, 56, 68, 69, 71, 73, 74, 75, 77, 78, 80, 83, 84, 85 have been consolidated as file folders within Box 95.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Published monographs on Seligmann have been transferred to Rare Books for cataloging. Please refer to the Classic Catalog to locate these items.

Special Collections Research Center has more than thirty collections relating to architecture, including the papers of Marcel Breuer, Pietro Belluschi, William Lescaze, and Richard Neutra. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.


Subject Headings

Persons

Seligmann, Werner.

Corporate Bodies

Werner Seligmann and Associates.

Subjects

Architects -- United States.
Architectural design -- Competitions.
Architectural design.
Architectural drawing -- United States -- 20th century.
Architectural firms.
Architectural practice.
Architecture -- Designs and plans.
Architecture United States History 20th century.
Architecture, American.
Architecture, Domestic.
Church architecture -- United States.
City planning -- United States.
German Americans.
Synagogue architecture.

Genres and Forms

Architectural drawings (visual works)
Blueprints (reprographic copies)
Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Detail drawings (drawings)
Exterior perspectives.
Interior perspectives.
Memorabilia.
Photographs.
Schematic drawings.
Sketches.
Slides (photographs)
Specifications.

Occupations

Architects.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Werner Seligmann Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Jean L. Seligmann,


Table of Contents

Project records

Writings and biographical material


Inventory

Project records
A.V. ZOGG AUCTION PAVILION (ZAP) McGraw, New York (not built) [Commercial] - proposed addition to serve as an auction pavilion
Tube 1 Drawings 1963 - working drawings
Box S-1 Slides - models (8)
ARIZONA HISTORICAL SOCIETY MUSEUM DESIGN, COMPETITION, Phoenix, Arizona (1985) (not built) [Cultural]
This was a major competition for new historical society museum. Sponsor/client: Arizona Historical Society.
See also Writings and biographical material : Scrapbook II.
Tube 2 Drawings undated - presentation drawings
Tube 3 Drawings undated - sketches
Presentation board 20 - sections, elevations, "3."
Presentation board 21 - plans, section, elevations
Box 10 Project material 1985 - sections, elevations, plans; correspondence; competition materials; report of jury
Box S-1 Slides - title slide, site plans, elevations, perspectives, sections, plans, earlier existing structures, analytical or explanatory diagrams, referential images (75)
ASH COMMUNITY CENTER
See NORTH BARRY STREET COMMUNITY BUILDING Olean, New York.
BAILEY RESIDENCE ADDITION (BAR) Cortland, New York (1963) [Residential] - kitchen remodeling and porch addition
Tube 4 Drawings 1963 - working drawings
Box S-1 Slides - general views (4)
BANCROFT RESIDENCE REMODELING*, Cortland, New York (not built) [Residential] - small basement remodeling project
Tube 5 Drawings undated - working drawings
Box S-1 Slides - models (2)
BELLARDINI PROJECT, Cortland, New York (not built) [Commercial] - existing barn remodeling project
Tube 6 Drawings 1973 - studies, base drawings
BELLEVUE METHODIST CHURCH (not built) [Religious]
Sponsor/client: Bellevue Methodist Church. Collaborators/partners: Employing Architecture Firm: Sargeant, Webster, Crenshaw & Folley (Syracuse)
Box 95, Folder 78 Project materials 1958 - sections, plan, perspective
BENJAMIN FRANKLIN ELEMENTARY SCHOOL
See FRANKLIN SCHOOL PRE-KINDERGARTEN RENOVATION, Binghamton, New York.
BETH DAVID SYNAGOGUE (BDS) 39 Riverside Dr., Binghamton, New York (1963) [Religious]
Small orthodox synagogue. Sponsor/client: Congregation Beth David. Collaborators/partners: Consulting Engineer: Edward A. Fassler
See also Writings and biographical material : Scrapbook I; Writings and biographical material : Miscellaneous.
Tube 7 Drawings 1962 - working drawings, perspectives, sections, elevations
Tube 8 Drawings 1962 - working drawings (blueprints)
Box Model-1 Model - poor condition; approximate dimensions: 12"L x8"W x3"H
Box Model-4 Model - poor condition; approximate dimensions: 12"L x8"W x2.5"H
Presentation board 22 - photos of interior, plans, elevation, perspective, axonometric, working details, sketches, (dated 1962)
Presentation board 23 - First and second floor plans
Box 13 Project material undated - photos of exterior and interior
Box 13A Project material undated - plans, elevations, sections, perspectives on original [Newspaper box]
Box 13B Project material 1961 - plans, elevations, sections, perspectives on original [Newspaper box]
Box 14 Project material 1962 - various schemes, sections, elevations, plans, model, interior details; sketches
Box 15 Project material 1961-1966 - construction, exterior and interior; article, newspaper clippings; anniversary journal; text from exhibition board
Box S-1 Slides - Title slide (dated 1962), site plans, axonometrics, design sketches, elevations, perspectives, section, plans, construction, artistic works, models, facade, exterior and (255)
BIDDLE RESIDENCE ADDITION AND RENOVATION* East Lake Road, Skaneateles, New York (not built) [Residential]
Update of residential addition and proposed studio addition. Arnold Konrad (original designer, 1956). Sponsor/client: Richard and Jean Biddle. Collaborators/partners: Construction: Paul Yaman Construction
(Alternate names: Miller Summer Residence)
Box 57 Project material 1963-1964 - snapshots of model and construction
Box 76 Project material 1995-1996 - working details, plans; sketches; correspondence; financial; work orders; notes; product information
BINGHAMTON CITY HALL RESTORATION, Binghamton, New York (not built) [Government]
Urban design proposal. Sponsor/client: Valley Development Foundation (VDF). Collaborators/partners: Engineers: Galson & Galson Consulting Engineers, Inc. (East Syracuse)
Tube 23 Drawings 1976 - plans, working details
See also Binghamton Urban Renewal Authority (BURA) - General : Drawings.
Box 18 Project material 1972 - site plans; photos of exterior and interior; report
Box S-1 Slides - site plans, perspectives, sections, plans, earlier existing structures (45)
BINGHAMTON COURT STREET AREA STUDY, Binghamton, New York (not built) [Government]
Sponsor/client: Valley Development Foundation (VDF)
Tube 9 Drawings undated - façade proposals, elevations, text
Box 19 Project material 1974 - site plans, section, elevation; report
Box S-1 Slides - site plans, sections, elevations, earlier existing structures (15)
BINGHAMTON COURT STREET BRIDGE RAILING, Binghamton, New York (undated) [Government]
Bridge railing replacement. Sponsor/client: Binghamton Urban Renewal Authority (BURA).
See also Binghamton Urban Renewal Authority (BURA) - General.
Tube 10 Drawings undated - working drawings
Box 31 Project material undated - working drawings, elevation
Box S-1 Slides - elevations, sections (4)
BINGHAMTON URBAN RENEWAL AREAS 1 AND 2* Binghamton, New York (not built) [Government]
Various urban design proposals. Sponsor/client: Binghamton Urban Renewal Authority (BURA). Collaborators/partners: Photographer: C. Hadley Smith (Ithaca)
See also Binghamton Urban Renewal Authority (BURA) - General.
Box 24A Model, city bus details (oversize) 1970
Box 24 Project material undated - site plan, elevation, axonometrics, perspectives, sections, model; Midtown Shopping Mall schemes
Box S-5 Slides - perspective, models, street furniture (75)
BINGHAMTON URBAN RENEWAL AUTHORITY (BURA) - GENERAL* Binghamton, New York (not built) [Government]
Variety of projects done for Binghamton Urban Renewal Authority (BURA) as urban design consultant. Sponsor/client: Binghamton Urban Renewal Authority (BURA). Other projects related to BURA include the Binghamton Court St. Bridge Railing; Binghamton Urban Renewal Areas 1 & 2*, Broome Co. Cultural Center Competition, Chenango River Promenade, Fowler's Dept. Store Entry*, Memorial Bridge, Washington Street, Woodburn Court Proposal, and Valley Development Foundation (VDF).
Tube 11 Drawings undated - presentation drawings, composites, negatives
Tube 12 Drawings 1974 - sections, elevations, plans, composites, detail sheets, base map
Tube 13 Drawings 1975 - plans, elevations, axonometric studies
Tube 22 Drawings 1970-1973 - presentation drawings, base and site maps, working details
Tube 177 Drawings 1969-1971 - preliminary and presentation drawings
Box 81 Project material 1968-1970 - site plans, section, reports
Box S-5 Slides - title slide (dated 1967), plans and drawings, elevations, general views, proposals by other architects, Seligmann lecture, report (225)
BIRMINGHAM CULTURAL CENTER, COMPETITION* Birmingham, Alabama (undated) (not built) [Cultural]
Large urban facility with convention hall and theater. Sponsor/client: City of Birmingham (AL).
Presentation board 17 - site plan, plans, sections, text, perspectives, vehicular and pedestrian circulation diagram (two connected boards); "237."
Presentation board 18 - site plans, perspective, sections, plans, covered pedestrian plan (two connected boards); "260."
Presentation board 19 - text, perspectives, sections, plans, covered pedestrian, parking, traffic plans (two connected boards)
BRADLEY RESIDENCE Corning, New York (1955) [Residential]
Box 94B Project material
Box 95, Folder 27 Project material 1954-1955 - plans, sections, perspective, exterior and interior
Box S-1 Slides - plan, construction and reconstruction, general views, side views, interior details (60)
BREWER-TITCHENER CORPORATION (BTC), Cortland, New York (not built) [Commercial]
Remodeling of locker rooms and plant manager's office. Sponsor/client: Brewer-Titchener Corporation. Collaborators/partners: Engineers: Galson & Galson Consulting Engineers, Inc. (East Syracuse).
Tube 14 Drawings 1975 - working drawings
Box 28 Project material 1975 - plans
Box S-1 Slides - plans, models (6)
BRIGHTON BEACH MIDDLE-INCOME HOUSING Brooklyn, New York (1968) (not built) [Residential]
Major housing competition. Sponsor/client: NYS Housing and Development Authority; Brooklyn/NY Chapters of AIA
Box 95, Folder 80 Project material 1968-1969 - record of submissions and awards; letter
BROOME COUNTY CULTURAL CENTER, COMPETITION One Stuart Street, Binghamton, New York (1967) [Cultural]
(Alternate names: Broome County Veterans Memorial Arena)
Seligmann served as competition advisor, wrote program and competition brief, supervised the jury. Winning scheme, submitted by ELS Architects, was built. Sponsor/client: Broome County, NY.
See also Binghamton Urban Renewal Authority (BURA) - General.
Tube 15 Drawings undated - base drawings, site maps, elevations, sections
Box 16 Project material 1967 - elevations, plans, model, site, map; sketches; correspondence; competition materials
Box S-1 Slides - title slide (dated 1966), models, miscellaneous (60)
BUFFALO WATERFRONT URBAN DESIGN STUDY Buffalo, New York (not built) [Government]
Academic work done in the Cornell University Urban Design Studio. Sponsor/client: City of Buffalo. Collaborators/partners: Associated Architects: Colin Rowe, J. Alan Wells.
Box 95, Folder 77 Project material 1969-1971 - brochure, article
CAMP HUNTINGTON
See HUNTINGTON CAMP DORMITORY (HUCADO) Raquette Lake, New York.
CAPRI THEATER IMPACT STUDY Binghamton, New York (not built) [Cultural]
Urban design study of possible conversion of the Capri Theater. Sponsor/client: Valley Development Foundation (VDF).
Tube 16 Drawings 1975-1976 - site plans
Box 17 Project material 1976 - site plan, working details; impact study
Box 94B Project material, oversize
Box S-2 Slides - site plans (5)
CARDIFF BAY OPERA HOUSE, COMPETITION (CBOH) Cardiff, Wales (1994) (not built) [Cultural]
Major international competition. Sponsor/client: Cardiff Bay Opera House Trust. Collaborators/partners: Associated Architects: Mark Shapiro.
Tube 17 Drawings undated - sketches
Tube 18 Drawings undated - sketches
Tube 19 Drawings undated - presentation drawings, hardlines, underlays, base maps
Box 72 Project material 1991-1995 - perspective; sketch; correspondence; competition materials; financial; clipping; exhibition catalog
Box S-2 Slides - site plans, perspectives, sections, plans, working details, other competition entries (5)
CENTER ITHACA
See ITHACA COMMONS CENTER Ithaca, New York.
CENTRE CULTUREL DU CONGO BELGE, COMPETITION Congo (Belgian Congo) (1958) (not built) [Cultural]
International competition. Sponsor/client: Belgian Congo.
Box 1 Drawings undated - sections, elevations, plans
Tube 20 Drawings 1958 - sketch overlays
Box S-2 Slides - elevations, sections, plans, general, interior, and back views (20)
CHENANGO RIVER PROMENADE, Binghamton, New York (1968) [Government]
Project includes walkway, planting, public amenities. Sponsor/client: Binghamton Urban Renewal Authority (BURA)
See also Binghamton Urban Renewal Authority (BURA) - General.
Tube 21 Drawings 1968 - elevations
Box 23 Drawings undated - site plan, elevation, section, plan, axonometric
Box S-2 Slides - site plans, elevations, perspectives, sections, working details (20)
CONGREGATION BETH SHOLOM ADDITION (BSC) Rochester, New York (not built) [Religious]
Tube 24 Drawings undated - design studies
Box Model-3 Model - poor condition; approximate dimensions: 24"L x16"W x3"H
Box 55 Project material undated - plan
Box S-2 Slides - title slide (dated 1972), model (50)
CONGREGATION BETH SHOLOM CHEVRA SHAS (CBS, CBeSh) Jamesville, New York (not built) [Religious] - new synagogue
Tube 25 Drawings 1970 - design studies
Box S-2 Slides - title slide (dated 1968), site plans, elevations, sections, plans, models (25)
CORTLAND COUNTY HISTORICAL SOCIETY LIBRARY (CHS, CCHM) 25 Homer Ave., Cortland, New York (1974) [Cultural]
New library, storage, reading room. Sponsor/client: Cortland County Historical Society. Collaborators/partners: Mechanical: Galson & Galson Consulting Engineers, Inc. (East Syracuse); Construction: Woodford Brothers, Inc.; Photographer: Alex. F. Ross (Philadelphia)
Tube 26 Drawings 1973-1974 - working drawings
Box 29 Project material 1976-1980 - plan, section, elevations, interior and exterior; financial
Box S-2 Slides - title slide (dated 1978), elevations, sections, plans, general, interior, and back views (60)
CORTLAND FIRE STATION REHABILITATION (CFS) 19 S. Franklin, Cortland, New York (1978) [Government]
Renovation and restoration of existing fire station. Sponsor/client: City of Cortland. Collaborators/partners: Structural: Snyder Burns & Associates (Syracuse).
Tube 27 Drawings 1976-1978 - working drawings
Box S-2 Slides - title slide (dated 1972) (1)
CORTLAND YWCA ALTERATION, Cortland, New York (not built) [Government] - addition of fire stair
Tube 28 Drawings 1963 - working drawings
CORTLANES BOWLING CENTER 391 State Rd. 13, Cortland, New York (1961) [Recreational]
(Alternate names: Cort-Lanes)
Bowling center and bar. Sponsor/client: Cortlanes. Collaborators/partners: Drawings by "HC."
Tube 29 Drawings 1961 - preliminary and partial working drawings
Box 30 Drawings undated - perspectives, elevations, plans, exterior and interior
Box 94B Project material, oversize
Box S-2 Slides - perspectives, plans, construction and reconstruction (5)
CULTURAL ARTS PAVILION PROJECT DESIGN, COMPETITION Newport News, Virginia (1984) (not built) [Cultural]
Major competition. Sponsor/client: City of Newport News; National Endowment for the Arts Design, Arts Design Program.
Tube 30 Drawings undated - site plan, elevations, sections, perspectives, sketches
Presentation board 86 - site plan, plans, perspectives
Presentation board 87 - plan, section, perspective
Box 95, Folder 68 Project material 1984 - correspondence, competition materials
Box S-2 Slides - site plans, elevations (5)
CULTURAL CENTER, COMPETITION* Singen, Germany (undated) (not built) [Cultural] - town civic center
Box S-2 Slides - models, earlier existing structures (5)
DATES CHEVROLET COMPANY Groton, New York (not built) [Commercial] - automobile showroom and service center
Box 42 Drawings undated - elevations, plan
Tube 31 Drawings 1961 - working drawings
Box 94A Project material, oversize
Box S-2 Slides - elevations, plans (2)
EAST SYRACUSE LIBRARY (ESL) East Syracuse, New York (undated) (not built) [Cultural]
Tube 32 Drawings 1968 - sketches, preliminary studies and presentation drawings
Box 95, Folder 39 Drawings undated - plans, sketches
Box Model-2 Model - restored; approximate dimensions: 16.5"L 12"W x3.5"H
Box S-2 Slides - plans (2)
ELEMENTARY SCHOOL, COMPETITION* Obstalden, Switzerland (undated) (not built) [Educational]
Box 95, Folder 84 Drawings undated - plans and section
ELLIS FIELD REDEVELOPMENT (EFR) 500 McKool Ave., East Syracuse, New York (1970) [Recreational]
Project for playing fields, locker rooms, swimming pool with air-inflated dome. Sponsor/client: Village of East Syracuse, New York. Collaborators/partners: Mechanical: Flack & Kurtz (NYC); Photographer: Charles C. White.
Tube 33 Drawings 1969-1970 - phase I and II working drawings, presentation drawings, sketches
Box 40 Project material 1965-1970 - site plan, sections, axonometrics, plans, model, completed project; specifications on microfilm
Box 94A Project material, oversize
Box S-2 Slides - site plans, axonometrics, elevations, sections, plans, models, general views (35)
ELM-MAPLE HOUSING
See ITHACA SCATTERED SITE HOUSING - ELM ST. Ithaca, New York; ITHACA SCATTERED SITE HOUSING - MAPLE AVE. Ithaca, New York.
ENRICO FERMI MEMORIAL PAVILION, COMPETITION Chicago, Illinois (1957) (not built) [Cultural]
Box 12 Project material 1957 - sections, elevations, plans; competition materials
Box S-2 Slides - sections (6)
FELIX NUSSBAUM HOUSE, COMPETITION Osnabrueck, Germany (1995) (not built) [Cultural]
(Alternate names: Nussbaum Museum)
International competition for museum to house the paintings of artist Felix Nussbaum. Sponsor/client: City of Osnabruck. Collaborators/partners: Associated Architect: Mark Shapiro.
Tube 34 Drawings undated - base maps and drawings, presentation drawings
Tube 35 Drawings undated - sketches
Tube 176 Drawings - student re-drawings
Box Model-5 Model - restored; approximate dimensions: 27"L x 18"W x 8"H
Presentation board 8 - site plan, "1193."
Presentation board 9 - site plan, plans, "Plan-Niveau" "1193."
Presentation board 10 - "Schnitt," "Ansicht lotter strasse," Ansicht Heger-Tor-Wall," Ansicht Hagenpattweg," "1193."
Presentation board 11 - "Schnitt," "Getrennte Nutzung Nach Offnungszeiten," Erschliessungen," "Schema Der Luftfuhrung," Beziehung Zur Altstadt Und Heger Tor," Beziehung Zu Villa Schlicker Und Museum," "Polaritat: eh. Baune Haus (villa Schliker) Und Felix Nussbaum - Haus," "Beziehung Nussbaum - Hain, Garten Der Stille Umd Nussbaum Haus," "1193."
Box 6 Project material 1995-1996 - perspective, working details, elevation, section, model; correspondence and competition materials (in German), article
Box S-2 Slides - maps, analytical and explanatory drawings, site plans, elevations, drawings and sketches, perspectives, sections, plans, models, earlier existing structures, art work, competition entries by other architects (150)
FIORENTINO'S JEWELRY SHOP REMODELING Cortland, New York (not built) [Commercial]
Tube 36 Drawings 1963 - sketches
FIRST CONGREGATIONAL CHURCH REMODELING (CoCR) Cortland, New York (1965) [Religious]
Remodeling of existing church. Sponsor/client: First Congregational Church. Collaborators/partners: Drawings by "TAZ' and "RFF."
Tube 37 Drawings 1964-1965 - preliminary and working drawings
Box S-2 Slides - earlier existing structures (1)
FOWLER'S DEPARTMENT STORE ENTRY*, Binghamton, New York (not built) [Commercial]
Urban design proposal. Sponsor/client: Binghamton Urban Renewal Authority (BURA).
See also Binghamton Urban Renewal Authority (BURA) - General.
Box S-2 Slides - model (50)
FRANKLIN SCHOOL PRE-KINDERGARTEN RENOVATION 262 Conklin Ave., Binghamton, New York (1973) [Educational]
(Alternate names: Benjamin Franklin Elementary School)
Interior renovations. Sponsor/client: Binghamton Board of Education. Collaborators/partners: Architect: Eugene Beautz (Binghamton); Consulting Engineers: Frank L. Jennings.
Tube 38 Drawings 1973 - working drawings
Box 20 Drawings undated - plan, axonometric
Box S-2 Slides - general and interior views (25)
FT. LAUDERDALE RIVERFRONT PLAZA DESIGN, COMPETITION Ft. Lauderdale, Florida (1983) (not built) [Government]
Competition for new plaza along intracoastal waterway. Sponsor/client: Downtown Development Authority of Ft. Lauderdale.
See also Writings and biographical material : Scrapbook II.
Tube 39 Drawings 1982 - base and presentation drawings, sketches
Tube 176 Drawings - student re-drawings
Box 11 Project material undated - plans, axonometrics, perspectives, gridlines; competition materials
Box 94A Project material, oversize
Box S-2 Slides - axonometrics, elevations, referential images, site map, design sketches and studies, analytical and explanatory diagrams, perspectives, sections, plans, earlier existing structures, competition entries by other architects (100)
HERITAGE PARK Elmira, New York (not built) [Government]
This project was an urban design study of circulation, parking, planting, and potential development. Sponsor/client: City of Elmira.
Tube 40 Drawings 1966-1969 - studies
Box S-2 Slides - site plans, model (10)
HIGGINS SUMMER RESIDENCE Skaneateles, New York (1955) [Residential] - small summer house
Box 95, Folder 56 Project material 1954-1955 - elevation, perspective, plan, exterior
Box 94B Project material, oversize
Box S-2 Slides - perspectives, sections, plans, general views (15)
HIGH SCHOOL, RAMIBUHL, COMPETITION* Zurich, Switzerland (undated) (not built) [Educational]
This project was a large high school in Switzerland. Collaborators/partners: Photographer: Peter Grunert (Switzerland).
Box 95, Folder 85 Project material undated - photo of model
HOMER AVENUE NO. 13*, Cortland, New York (not built) [Residential] - proposal for minor renovations
Tube 41 Drawings undated - sketches
HOMER AVENUE NOS. 9-11
See SELIGMANN OFFICE AND RESIDENCE REMODELING, Cortland, New York.
HOUSE SCHEME 1* (not built) [Residential]
Presentation board 88 - plot plan, elevations, sections, perspective
Box S-2 Slides - perspective, plan, elevation, section (1)
HOUSE SCHEME 2* (not built) [Residential]
Presentation board 89 - plot plan, plan, elevations, section
HUNTINGTON CAMP DORMITORY (HUCADO) Raquette Lake, New York (1969) [Educational]
(Alternate names: Camp Huntington)
Dormitory for summer camp. Sponsor/client: NYS University Construction Fund. Collaborators/partners: Mechanical: Galson & Galson Consulting Engineers, Inc. (East Syracuse).
Tube 42 Drawings 1968 - working drawings
Presentation board 58 - Elevations
Box 54 Project material undated - site plans, elevations, axonometrics, model, exterior and site; sketch; award submission; text
Box S-2 Slides - title slide (dated 1969), site plans, axonometrics, elevations, plans, construction and reconstruction, models, earlier existing structures, exterior and interior details, general views (35)
IBBOTSON BUILDING REMODELING (IBR) Homer, New York (not built) [Commercial] - minor interior remodeling
Tube 43 Drawings 1963-1964 - working drawings
IBBOTSON RESIDENCE REMODELING Homer, New York (not built) [Residential] - minor interior remodeling
Box 95, Folder 43 Project material undated - sections, plan
Box 94A Project material, oversize
INTERFAITH CHAPEL* Cortland, New York (not built) [Religious]
Box 91 Project material undated - plans, elevations, perspectives on original presentation [Newspaper box]
Box S-2 Slides - models, perspectives (10)
ITA Ithaca?, New York (not built) [Residential]
Tube 44 Drawings 1964 - site and floor plans, section
ITHACA COMMONS CENTER (ICC) 171 East State St., Ithaca, New York (1982) [Mixed Use]
(Alternate names: Center Ithaca)
Urban infill project with retail, commercial, and residential components. Sponsor/client: Ithaca Center Associates; I. Stanley Goldberg; Developer: D.M. Abbott Investors Corp. Collaborators/partners: Architects: WSA, Joel Bostick, Peter Guzy; Associate Architects: Perry, Dean, Stahl & Rogers (Boston); Structural: Bolton & Dimartino, Inc. (Worcester, MA); Engineering: BR+A Consulting Engineers, Inc. (Boston); Soil Consultant: H&A of New York; Contractors: Streeter Associates (Elmira, NY), Stewart & Bennett, Inc.; Photographers: Timothy Hursley (Little Rock, AR)
See also Writings and biographical material : Scrapbook I; Writings and biographical material : Scrapbook III.
Tube 45 Drawings 1980-1981 - working drawings
Tube 46 Drawings 1980-1981 - working drawings
Tube 47 Drawings 1980 - working drawings
Tube 48 Drawings 1980-1981 - preliminary working drawings, working drawing sheets, detail sheets, mechanical and electrical drawings
Tube 49 Drawings undated - sketches
Tube 50 Drawings undated - sketches
Tube 51 Drawings 1981 - drawings for publication, diagrams, shop drawings
Tube 52 Drawings 1980-1981 - presentation drawings and sketches
Presentation board 36 - color photo of exterior/street
Presentation board 37 - working details
Presentation board 38 - color photos of exterior and interior details
Presentation board 39 - working details
Presentation board 40 - section (on trace)
Presentation board 41 - section (on trace)
Presentation board 42 - plan (on trace)
Presentation board 43 - photo of model, sections, elevations
Presentation board 44 - plans, sections (on trace)
Presentation board 45 - axonometric
Presentation board 46 - elevation
Box 44 Project material 1980-1981 - site plans, elevations, axonometrics, model, exterior and interior, construction; sketch
See also Writings and biographical material : Miscellaneous.
Box 44A Project material 1964-1984 - reports, specifications, brochure, clippings, articles, financial, correspondence
See also Writings and biographical material : Miscellaneous.
Box 94B Project material, oversize
Box S-2 Slides - title (dated 1981) and project synopsis, maps, analytical and explanatory diagrams, axonometrics, elevations, sections, plans, construction, models, earlier existing structures, facade, interior views, referential images (100)
ITHACA SCATTERED SITE HOUSING - GENERAL* (ITHOE, ITHOM) Ithaca, New York [Residential]
(Alternate names: Elm-Maple Housing, Maple Hill Apartments, West Village)
This project consisted of three hundred and eighty-seven units of low and middle income housing. Sponsor/client: NYS Urban Development Corporation. Collaborators/partners: Mechanical: Galson & Galson Consulting Engineers, Inc. (East Syracuse); Structural: Severud, Perrone, Sturm, Conlin & Bandel (NYC); Consultant: Dr. Donald P. Greenburg; Landscape: Harold E. Schumm & Associates; Other: Sectional Structures, Inc.
See also Writings and biographical material : Scrapbook I; Writings and biographical material : Scrapbook III.
Tube 53 Drawings 1956-1971 - maps, site drawings, survey, street and block layouts
Tube 54 Drawings 1969 - first sketches and studies
Tube 55 Drawings 1969-1970 - design development drawings
Tube 56 Drawings 1969-1970 - preliminary working drawings, interior elevations
Tube 57 Drawings 1970-1972 - working drawings; "as-built" drawings
Tube 58 Drawings 1970 - working drawings
Tube 78 Drawings 1970 - working drawings
Box 47A Project material 1971-1989 - articles, clippings, promotional and exhibition materials
Box 47B Project material 1969-1971 - plan digest, question and answer booklet, UDC reports
Box 47C Project material 1970 - specifications (text and microfilm) with handwritten notes
ITHACA SCATTERED SITE HOUSING - ELM ST. (ITHOE) 150 West Village Place Ithaca, New York (1973) [Residential]
(Alternate names: Elm-Maple Housing, West Village Apartments)
This project consisted of three hundred units of low and middle income housing. Sponsor/client: NYS Urban Development Corporation. Collaborators/partners: Photographers: Nathaniel Lieberman (NYC), LYONFOTO (Binghamton); C. Hadley Smith (Ithaca).
See also Writings and biographical material : Scrapbook I; Writings and biographical material : Scrapbook III.
Tube 59 Drawings 1969-1970 - schematic design drawings, site work, landscaping
Tube 60 Drawings 1970-1972 - working drawings, details, studies
Tube 61 Drawings 1971-1972 - construction drawings for atrium and G&H units, final working drawings of atrium units
Tube 62 Drawings 1970 - mid-rise working drawings, G&H units, atrium units
Tube 63 Drawings 1970-1973 - "as-built" drawings
Tube 64 Drawings 1970-1973 - "as-built" drawings
Tube 65 Drawings 1970-1971 - mechanical and electrical drawings (including final mechanical)
Tube 66 Drawings 1970-1971 - structural and shop drawings
Tube 67 Drawings 1969 - preliminary and first presentation drawings
Tube 68 Drawings 1969-1971 - presentation drawings
Presentation board 47 - perspective, working details, axonometric
Presentation board 48 - perspective, elevation
Presentation board 49 - photos of exterior and interior
Presentation board 50 - site plan
Presentation board 51 - photos of exterior
Presentation board 52 - photo of model
Presentation board 53 - photo of model, unit plans
Presentation board 54 - site plan
Presentation board 55 - Atrium unit plan, section "ROO."
Presentation board 56 - section, plans of lower and upper floor
Box 45 Project material 1970-1973 - exterior and interior of building, model, and construction; text
Box 46 Project material 1969 - site plan, elevations, sections, axonometrics, working details, plans, construction
Box 94B Project material, oversize
Box S-3 Slides - title slide (dated 1970) and program description, site plans, axonometrics, elevations, sections, plans, earlier existing structures, construction, general (aerial, atrium units, midrise bldg) and interior (atrium units) views (390)
ITHACA SCATTERED SITE HOUSING - MAPLE AVE. (ITHOM) Maple Avenue, Ithaca, New York (1973) [Residential]
(Alternate names: Maple Hill Apartments, Elm-Maple Housing)
This project consisted of eighty-seven units of low and middle income housing. Sponsor/client: NYS Urban Development Corporation. Collaborators/partners: Photographer: C. Hadley Smith (Ithaca).
See also Writings and biographical material : Scrapbook III.
Tube 69 Drawings 1969 - schematic design drawings
Tube 70 Drawings 1970 - working drawings
Tube 71 Drawings 1970 - working drawings
Tube 72 Drawings 1970 - working drawings
Tube 73 Drawings 1970-1971 - structural and mechanical drawings
Tube 74 Drawings 1970 - mechanical and electrical drawings
Tube 75 Drawings 1970 - structural drawings
Tube 76 Drawings 1970-1971 - construction drawings
Tube 77 Drawings 1969-1971 - site work and landscaping
Presentation board 57 - photo of model
Box 47 Project material 1969 - site plans, elevations, model, construction, and exterior
Box 94B Project material, oversize
Box S-3 Slides - title slide (dated 1970), site plans, elevations, models, construction, general views (80)
JEFFERSON SCHOOL RENOVATION AND LIBRARY MEDIA CENTER 151 Helen St., Binghamton, New York (1973) [Educational]
(Alternate names: Thomas Jefferson Elementary School)
Interior remodeling to school, library. Sponsor/client: Binghamton Board of Education. Collaborators/partners: Architect: Eugene Beautz
Tube 79 Drawings 1973 - working drawings
JOHN J. ASH COMMUNITY CENTER
See NORTH BARRY STREET COMMUNITY BUILDING Olean, New York.
KANSAI-KAN OF THE NATIONAL DIET LIBRARY DESIGN, COMPETITION Tokyo, Japan (1996) (not built) [Government]
Unentered competition. Sponsor/client: Ministry of Construction, Japan.
Box 82 Project materials 1996
KEIFER RESIDENCE REMODELING (KRR) Ithaca, New York (not built) [Residential] - for Mr. and Mrs. Jack Keifer
Tube 80 Drawings 1965 - working drawings
LACHMAN RESIDENCE, Binghamton, New York (not built) [Residential]
Tube 81 Drawings 1962 - preliminary working drawings, studies, plans, elevations
Box 95, Folder 21 Project material undated - plan, model
Box 90 Project material undated - Plans, section, elevations on original presentation boards [Newspaper box]
Box S-3 Slides - plans, models (25)
LAKE GEORGE WATERFRONT (LaGeo) Lake George, New York (not built) [Recreational] - urban design proposal
Tube 82 Drawings 1962-1964 - base drawings, studies, working drawings
Box 92 Project material undated - site plans
Box S-3 Slides - title slide (dated 1964), site plans, models (15)
LAKE SHORE DEVELOPMENT, COMPETITION* Lausanne-Ouchy, Switzerland (undated) (not built) [Government]
First prize entry in a competition in Switzerland for redevelopment of shore area.
Box S-3 Slides - model (9)
LEON RESIDENCE REMODELING, Cortland, New York (not built) [Residential] - interior remodeling
Tube 83 Drawings 1972 - studies and working drawings
MAPLE HILL APARTMENTS
See ITHACA SCATTERED SITE HOUSING - MAPLE AVE. Ithaca, New York.
MARLBOROUGH (MA) ELDERLY HOUSING, COMPETITION Marlborough, Massachusetts (1975) (not built) [Residential]
Competition to build housing for the elderly and handicapped. Sponsor/client: Marlborough Housing Authority and Massachusetts Department of Community Affairs. Collaborators/partners: Associated Architect: Bruce Coleman
Tube 84 Drawings 1975 - base documents, sketches, presentation drawings
Box 65 Project material 1975 - site plans, sections, elevations, plans; correspondence; competition materials
Box S-3 Slides - site plans, sections, plans, models (10)
MARTIN'S WAY (HAMILTON COLLEGE), COMPETITION Hamilton, New York (1988) (not built) [Educational]
Invited competition for outdoor walkway area. Sponsor/client: Hamilton College.
Tube 85 Drawings undated - presentation drawings, sketches
Box 95, Folder 74 Project material 1988 - site photos, correspondence, project description
Box S-3 Slides - title slide, site plans, perspectives, sections, plans, earlier existing structures (55)
MCNEIL BUILDING ALTERATIONS, Cortland, New York (not built) [Commercial] - interior remodeling
Tube 86 Drawings 1979-1980 - sketches and working drawings
MELZER RESIDENCE Fayetteville, New York (1956) [Residential]
Box 95, Folder 41 Project material 1956 - elevation, working details
Box 94B Project material, oversize
Box S-3 Slides - working details, general and interior views (30)
MEMORIAL BRIDGE, Binghamton, New York (undated) [Government]
Project for redesign of bridge railing. Sponsor/client: Binghamton Urban Renewal Authority (BURA).
See also Binghamton Urban Renewal Authority (BURA) - General.
Tube 87 Drawings undated - section, elevation, working details
Box 22 Project material undated - section, elevation
Box S-3 Slides - elevations, sections (5)
MENANDS HOUSING Menands, New York (not built) [Residential]
Project consisted of three hundred units of low and middle income housing for the New York State Urban Development Corporation. Sponsor/client: NYS Urban Development Corporation. Collaborators/partners: Other: Sectional Structures, Inc.
Tube 88 Drawings undated - studies
Tube 89 Drawings undated - presentation drawings
Box 50 Project material 1972 - site plans, sections, axonometrics, site map; report; project description
Box 94A Project material, oversize
Box S-3 Slides - title slide (dated 1971), site plans, sections, plans, working details, model, earlier existing structures (35)
MIAMI UNIVERSITY CHARETTE* Oxford, Ohio (not built) [Educational] - downtown commercial site
Box S-3 Slides - plans, models, views of buildings, elevations, sections (dated 10/82) (30)
MILLER SUMMER RESIDENCE (MSR) East Lake Road, Skaneateles, New York (1964) [Residential] - addition to house
(Alternate names: later known as the Biddle Residence)
Tube 90 Drawings 1963-1964 - studio proposal, working drawings
Tube 91 Drawings undated - sketches
Presentation board 59 - plan, elevation, sections (color), dated 1955
Box 57 Project material 1963-1964 - snapshots of model and construction
Box 94A Project material, oversize
Box S-3 Slides - plans, working details, model, construction and reconstruction, facade, side, back and interior view, exterior and interior details (110)
MONDEV PROJECT, Binghamton, New York (not built) [Government]
Urban design coordination of proposal by Mondev (Montreal Development Company, Ltd.). Sponsor/client: Binghamton Urban Renewal Authority (BURA).
Box S-3 Slides - title slide (dated 1970), site plans, sections, perspectives (20)
MONROEVILLE AREA CIVIC CENTER, COMPETITION Monroeville, Pennsylvania (1982) (not built) [Cultural]
Competition for civic center (not submitted). Sponsor/client: Intergovernmental Advisory Board (made up of the Municipality of Monroeville and the Gateway School District).
See also Writings and biographical material : Scrapbook II.
Tube 92 Drawings undated - base and site maps, elevations, sections
Tube 93 Drawings undated - sketches
Box 66 Project material 1982 - site plans, elevations, sections, site; correspondence; competition materials
Box S-3 Slides - title slide (dated 1982), site plans, perspectives, sections, plans, earlier existing (25)
NATIONAL MUSEUM OF KOREA, COMPETITION Seoul, Korea (1995) (not built) [Cultural]
Major international competition for museum building. Sponsor/client: Ministry of Culture and Sports, Republic of Korea. Collaborators/partners: Associated Architects: Bruce Abbey, Joel Bostick, Mark Shapiro.
Tube 94 Drawings undated - base maps, presentation drawings
Tube 95 Drawings undated - sketches
Tube 96 Drawings undated - sketches
Box 9 Project material 1994-1995 - site plan, sections, elevations, isometrics, plans; competition materials; catalog of entries
NORDWESTSTADT, COMPETITION Frankfurt, Germany (undated) (not built) [Residential] - housing competition
Box 95, Folder 5 Project material undated - site plan, elevations, sections
Box S-3 Slides - sections, plan (1)
NORTH BARRY STREET COMMUNITY BUILDING 112 N. Barry St., Olean, New York (1980) [Recreational]
(Alternate names: Ash Community Center, Olean Senior Citizens Center)
Extensive remodeling of senior citizens' center. Sponsor/client: City of Olean.
Tube 97 Drawings 1977-1978 - preliminary presentation and working drawings
Box 51 Project material undated - elevations, plans, exterior
Box S-3 Slides - title slide (dated 1980), elevations, plans, construction and reconstruction, earlier existing structures, general, side and interior views (95)
NUSSBAUM MUSEUM
See FELIX NUSSBAUM HOUSE COMPETITION Osnabrueck, Germany.
OLD PORT HARBOR Ithaca, New York (not built) [Mixed Use] - proposal for commercial building with apartments above
Tube 98 Drawings 1971 - plans, sections, perspectives
Box 48 Project material undated - aerial perspective, plan, sections
Box S-3 Slides - site plan (1)
OLEAN CENTRAL FIRE STATION (OFS) 538 North Union St. Olean, New York (1980) [Government]
New central fire station. Sponsor/client: City of Olean. Collaborators/partners: Engineering: Galson & Galson Consulting Engineers, Inc. (East Syracuse); Structural: Snyder, Burns, & Associates (Syracuse); Contractor: Smith Bros.: Photographer: Jon Reis (Ithaca).
See also Writings and biographical material : Scrapbook I; Writings and biographical material : Scrapbook III.
Tube 99 Drawings 1977 - sketches and measured drawings
Tube 100 Drawings undated - early schemes, studies and presentation drawings (includes drawings for publication)
Tube 101 Drawings undated - working drawings, detail sheets, studies
Tube 102 Drawings 1977 - working, structural and mechanical drawings
Box 52 Project material 1980-1985 - exterior and interior; sketch; award submission; revised bid form; article
Box S-3 Slides - drawings and sketches, elevations, sections, plans, construction, earlier existing structures, general and interior views (160)
Box S-4 Slides (cont.)
OLEAN ELDERLY RESIDENTIAL PROJECT Olean, New York (not built) [Mixed Use]
Elderly housing, senior citizens center, and commercial space. Sponsor/client: NYS Urban Development Corporation. Collaborators/partners: Project Architect: Robert Gitlin; Structural: Dr. Donald P. Greenberg; Mechanical and Electrical: Flack & Kurtz (NYC); Structural: Severud Associates (NYC); Construction: Scrufari Construction Company
Tube 103 Drawings 1973 - schematic design drawings, preliminary working drawings
Tube 104 Drawings undated - design development, preliminary working, and presentation drawings
Tube 105 Drawings 1973 - working drawings
Tube 106 Drawings 1974-1976 - structural and mechanical drawings
Tube 107 Drawings undated - presentation and publication drawings
Box 53 Project material undated - site plans, elevations, sections, plans; program; award submission
Box S-4 Slides - title slide (dated 1974), site plans, elevations, sections, plans, models, axonometric (25)
OLEAN SENIOR CITIZENS CENTER
See NORTH BARRY STREET COMMUNITY BUILDING Olean, New York.
OPERA DE LA BASTILLE, COMPETITION Paris France (1983) (not built) [Cultural]
Major international competition. Sponsor/client: Ministry of Culture, France.
See also Writings and biographical material : Scrapbook II.
Tube 108 Drawings undated - sketches and trace drawings
Tube 109 Drawings undated - site maps, presentation drawings
Presentation board 1 - section, plan, axonometric
Box 2 Project material 1982-1984 - sections, plans; competition materials; project description
Box 94C Project material, oversize
Box S-4 Slides - site plans, elevations, sections, isometrics (30)
PFORTZHEIM, COMPETITION* Pfortzheim, Germany (undated) (not built) [Residential]
Box S-4 Slides - models (4)
POTTER PAINT COMPANY OFFICE ADDITION, Cortland, New York (not built) [Commercial] - small office addition
Box 95, Folder 32 Project material undated - plan
Box 94A Project material, oversize
Box S-4 Slides - plans, models (2)
PRINZ-ALBRECHT-PALAIS, COMPETITION Berlin, Germany (1984) (not built) [Cultural]
Major international competition. Sponsor/client: City of Berlin.
See also Writings and biographical material : Scrapbook II.
Tube 110 Drawings undated - base maps and drawings
Tube 111 Drawings 1983 - sketches
Tube 112 Drawings undated - presentation drawings
Tube 113 Drawings undated - plan
Presentation board 2 - perspective
Presentation board 3 - "Schnitt durch Vortragsraum, "Schnitt durch Ausstellung," Schnitt durch Ramps."
Presentation board 4 - site plan (airbrushed)
Presentation board 5 - perspective
Presentation board 6 - map
Presentation board 7 - map
Box 3 Project material 1983-1990 - plan, elevations, sections, model; competition materials (in German); correpondence with courier company
Box S-4 Slides - title slide (dated 1984), map, analytic and explanatory diagrams, site plans, axonometrics, elevations, drawings and sketches, perspectives, sections, plans, models, earlier existing structures, referential images, art work (150)
REHABILITATION OF PRESIDENT'S RESIDENCE (SUNY CORTLAND) Cortland, New York (not built) [Residential]
Kitchen and entry remodeling. Sponsor/client: NYS University Construction Fund.
Tube 114 Drawings 1966 - working drawings
Box 95, Folder 33 Project material undated - elevation
RIPLEY MOTORS (RIP) Ithaca, New York (not built) [Commercial]
Automobile showroom and service center. Sponsor/client: Ripley Motors
Tube 115 Drawings 1963-1966 - studies, working drawings
Box 95, Folder 49 Project material undated - elevation
Box S-4 Slides - elevation (1)
ROH HOUSING Ithaca[?], New York (not built) [Residential] - small housing project
Tube 116 Drawings 1964 - sketches
Box S-4 Slides - plans, sections (7)
ROOSEVELT ISLAND, COMPETITION, New York, New York (undated) (not built) [Residential]
Low and middle income housing competition. Not submitted. Sponsor/client: NYS Urban Development Corporation
Tube 117 Drawings undated - sketches and plans
ROSEFSKY OFFICE*, Binghamton, New York (not built) [Commercial]
Proposed modest remodeling of existing physician's office. Sponsor/client: Dr. Rosefsky.
Box 94A Project material, oversize
ROSEFSKY SUMMER HOUSE 1 Silver Lake, Pennsylvania (not built) [Residential]
Summer residence including guest quarters and studio. Sponsor/client: Dr. and Mrs. Rosefsky
Tube 118 Drawings 1967-1968 - sketches and hardline studies
Box S-4 Slides - sketches, elevations, models, general, back and side views (35)
ROSEFSKY SUMMER HOUSE 2A AND B Silver Lake, Pennsylvania (not built) [Residential]
Summer residence including guest quarters and studio. Sponsor/client: Dr. and Mrs. Rosefsky
Tube 118 Drawings 1967-1968 - sketches and hardline studies
ROSEFSKY SUMMER HOUSE 3A, B, C Silver Lake, Pennsylvania (not built) [Residential]
Summer residence including guest quarters and studio. Sponsor/client: Dr. and Mrs. Rosefsky
Box 67 Project material 1973 - elevation, section, perspective
Tube 119 Drawings 1968-1974 - sketches, hardline studies and preliminary drawings
ROSEFSKY SUMMER HOUSE 4A, B Silver Lake Pennsylvania (not built) [Residential]
Summer residence including guest quarters and studio. Sponsor/client: Dr. and Mrs. Rosefsky
Tube 119 Drawings 1968-1974 - sketches, hardline studies and preliminary drawings
Tube 176 Drawings - student re-drawings
Box Model-6 Model - poor condition; approximate dimensions: 32"L x16"W x2.5"H
ROSEFSKY SUMMER HOUSE 5 Oquaga Lake, New York (not built) [Residential]
Summer residence including guest quarters and studio. Sponsor/client: Dr. and Mrs. Rosefsky
Tube 120 Drawings 1974 - sketches and preliminary working drawings
Tube 176 Drawings - miscellaneous
SAGAN RESIDENCE* Ithaca, New York (not built) [Residential]
Residence for astronomer Carl Sagan and wife, Linda. Sponsor/client: Carl and Linda Sagan.
Tube 121 Drawings 1972 - work location maps, preliminary working drawings
Box S-4 Slides - models (30)
SANGSAR HOUSING Sangsar Iran (not built) [Residential]
Workers and administrators housing. Sponsor/client: Hajabar Yazdani (owner); Technical Consultant Services Associates - H. Sharifi/Henry Javaheri (Developers). Collaborators/partners: Architects: Finne/Perry Dean Partners/Kiley/Seligmann
Tube 122 Drawings undated - presentation drawings
Box 95, Folder 7 Project material undated - site plans, perspectives, sections, plans, model
Box S-4 Slides - site plans, plans, models (20)
SCHERZ RESIDENCE Homer, New York (not built) [Residential]
New residence project. Sponsor/client: Herbert Scherz
Tube 123 Drawings 1976 - sketches
Tube 124 Drawings 1975 - preliminary schemes, design development drawings, site studies
Box S-4 Slides - models (5)
SCIENCE BUILDING II (SUNY CORTLAND) SEE ALSO BOX 93 (SCB II) SUNY Cortland Campus, Cortland, New York (1967) [Educational]
Major addition with physics, chemistry and biology facilities. Sponsor/client: NYS University Construction Fund. Collaborators/partners: Engineers: Sargeant, Webster, Crenshaw & Folley (Syracuse); Contractor: Edward L. Nezelek, Inc. (Johnson City, NY); Photographer: ISAF Studio, C. Hadley Smith (Ithaca).
See also Writings and biographical material : Scrapbook I; Writings and biographical material : Scrapbook III; Writings and biographical material : Miscellaneous.
Tube 125 Drawings undated - base map, design development drawings
Tube 126 Drawings 1964-1965 - design development drawings, working drawings
Tube 127 Drawings 1964 - design development drawings
Tube 128 Drawings 1964-1965 - preliminary working drawings, studies, perspectives
Tube 129 Drawings 1964 - lab layouts
Tube 130 Drawings 1965 - working drawings
Tube 131 Drawings 1966 - heating, venting and circulation and electrical drawings
Tube 132 Drawings 1965 - working drawings
Tube 133 Drawings 1965 - working drawings
Tube 134 Drawings 1965 - working drawings
Tube 135 Drawings 1965 - "as-builts" (blueprints)
Tube 136 Drawings 1965 - "as-builts" (blueprints)
Tube 137 Drawings undated - design and presentation drawings
Tube 138 Drawings 1964-1965 - design and presentation drawings
Presentation board 27 - axonometric, first floor plan
Presentation board 28 - section
Presentation board 29 - section
Presentation board 30 - south elevation
Presentation board 31 - photo of exterior details
Presentation board 32 - photo of lab
Presentation board 33 - Elevation
Presentation board 34 - Elevation
Presentation board 35 - North elevation
Box 34 Project material 1964-1966 - site plans, plan, elevations, sections, regulation lines, axonometrics, model; award submission; clipping; design report; text from exhibition board
Box 35 Project material 1966-1968 - construction and completed interior details
Box 36 Project material undated - completed building (exterior)
Box 37 Project material undated - site plans, elevations, sections, axonometrics, plans, working details, regulation lines, perspectives
Box 94B Project material, oversize
Tube 139 Project material, oversize undated - photos of building exterior
Box S-4 Slides - analytical and explanatory diagrams, site plan, axonometrics, elevations, perspective, sections, construction, plans, models, facade, general views, lab details, interior details (125)
SELIGMANN OFFICE AND RESIDENCE REMODELING* 11 Homer Ave., Cortland, New York (1986) [Mixed Use]
(Alternate names: Homer Ave. Nos. 9-11)
Offices of Werner Seligmann and Associates. Continuous redesign and remodeling. Sponsor/client: Werner Seligmann.
Tube 140 Drawings 1986 - sketches, studies, working drawings
Box 95, Folder 71 Project material undated - sketches of proposed gates
Box S-4 Slides - title slide (dated 1966), general and interior views (95)
SELIGMANN THESIS PROJECT (CORNELL UNIVERSITY) Ithaca, New York (1955) (not built) [Other]
Seligmann's final thesis project for his undergraduate degree in architecture from Cornell University, consisting of a hotel for Cortland, New York.
Box 95, Folder 75 Project material 1955 - plans, axonometric, perspective, model, and text
SIMON SHOP REMODELING, Cortland, New York (not built) [Commercial] - small façade in interior remodeling
Tube 141 Drawings 1964 - preliminary working drawings
SPROULL SUMMER RESIDENCE Cayuga Lake, New York (1968) [Residential]
Summer house on shores of Cayuga Lake. Sponsor/client: Robert Sproull.
Box 95, Folder 73 Drawings 1983 - sketches
Tube 142 Drawings 1967-1968 - sketches, studies, presentation and working drawings
Tube 176 Drawings - student re-drawings
STIGUM HOUSE Cortland[?], New York (not built) [Residential] - small suburban house
Box 95, Folder 69 Drawings 1963 - sketches
Box S-4 Slides - elevations, plans (4)
STUDENT PROJECTS* Ithaca, New York (not built) [Other]
Presumably these were projects done while Seligmann was a student at Cornell University.
Box 95, Folder 83 Project material undated - photos of models, text
SYRACUSE UNIVERSITY CAMPUS CHARETTE* Syracuse, New York (not built) [Educational]
A Seligmann-initiated project to involve faculty and students in developing more comprehensive plans for the development of the Syracuse University campus. Sponsor/client: Werner Seligmann.
Tube 143 Drawings undated - presentation drawings
Box S-4 Slides - section/elevation (1)
SYRACUSE UNIVERSITY RESIDENTIAL DORM COLLEGE* Syracuse, New York (not built) [Residential]
A Seligmann-initiated proposal for the development of dormitories and a residential college at Syracuse University. Sponsor/client: Werner Seligmann.
Tube 144 Drawings 1987 - proposal drawings
Box 58 Project material undated - site plans, sections, elevations, referential projects
Box S-4 Slides - site plan, elevations, perspective, section, plans, earlier existing structures, referential (95)
TEMPLE BRITH SHOLOM (TBS) 117 Madison St., Cortland, New York (1969) [Religious]
Small suburban reformed synagogue and Seligmann's own synagogue. Sponsor/client: Temple Brith Sholom Congregation. Collaborators/partners: Structural; Dr. Donald P. Greenberg; Mechanical: Galson and Galson Consulting Engineers, Inc. (East Syracuse).
Tube 145 Drawings 1968-1969 - presentation and working drawings
Tube 146 Drawings 1968 - sketches and working details
Tube 147 Drawings 1968 - working drawings (blueprints)
Box Model-7 Model - restored; approximate dimensions: 16.5"L x12"W x8"H
Box 38 Project material 1969 - site plans, plans, elevations, sections, model, exterior and interior; correspondence; dedication booklet; project
Box S-4 Slides - title slide (dated 1970), site plan, elevation, plans, models, general and interior views, exterior details (170)
THOMAS JEFFERSON ELEMENTARY SCHOOL, Binghamton, New York
See JEFFERSON SCHOOL RENOVATION AND LIBRARY MEDIA CENTER 151 Helen St., Binghamton, New York.
TOKYO INTERNATIONAL FORUM, COMPETITION Tokyo Japan (1989) (not built) [Cultural]
This was a major international competition for a large civic and cultural center. Sponsor/client: Tokyo Metropolitan Government (Bureau of Citizens and Cultural Affairs).
See also Writings and biographical material : Scrapbook II.
Tube 148 Drawings undated - plans, sections, hardline studies, presentation drawings
Tube 149 Drawings undated - sketches and drawings on trace
Tube 176 Drawings - student re-drawings
Presentation board 12 - Floor plans (offices, studio, exhibition halls, mezzanine, conference rooms), "F5813."
Presentation board 13 - sections, plan, "F5813."
Presentation board 14 - plans (bus/taxi stands, roof, truck docks), "F5813."
Presentation board 15 - Elevations, section, "F5813."
Presentation board 16 - site plan, roof plan, "F5813."
Box 8 Project material 1989 - axonometrics, model, background images; sketches; list of student contributors; design conditions; competition materials
Box 94C Project material, oversize
Box S-4 Slides - elevations, perspectives, sections, plans, models, earlier existing structures, analytical and explanatory diagrams, competition entries by other architects (95)
TOPOGRAPHY OF TERROR, COMPETITION Berlin Germany (1993) (not built) [Cultural]
This was an invited competition for a meeting hall and housing. Sponsor/client: City of Berlin.
See also Writings and biographical material : Scrapbook II.
Tube 150 Drawings undated - base maps and presentation drawings
Tube 151 Drawings 1992-1993 - sketches and drawings
Tube 152 Drawings undated - presentation drawings
Tube 153 Drawings 1992-1993 - sketches and drawings
Tube 176 Drawings - student re-drawings
Box 4 Project material 1992-1993 - elevations, plans, section, model; correspondence; competition materials (in German), notes
Box S-4 Slides - maps and city plans, analytical and explanatory drawings, site plans, elevations, sections, plans, models, earlier existing structures (185)
Box S-5 Slides (cont.)
TRANSPORTABILITY UNIT* (not built) [Other]
Prefabricated units for temporary housing.
Box 70 Project material undated - Elevations, plans, working details; text [Newspaper box]
Box S-5 Slides - plans, elevations, sections (2)
UTICA ELDERLY HOUSING, COMPETITION Utica, New York (1973) (not built) [Residential]
This was an open competition for housing for the elderly. Sponsor/client: New York State Association of Architects Development Corporation and the City of Utica. Collaborators/partners: Photographer: C. Hadley Smith.
Tube 154 Drawings undated - presentation drawings
Box 59 Project material 1973 - site plan, elevations, sections, plans; competition report
Box S-5 Slides - elevations, plans, models (4)
UTICA URBAN DESIGN STUDY (UT CDB) Utica, New York (not built) [Government]
Urban design study of circulation, parking, and development possibilities. Sponsor/client: City of Utica.
Tube 155 Drawings undated - preliminary working drawings
Box 60 Project material 1970 - site plan, elevations, sections, plans, model; study
Box S-5 Slides - maps, site plans, sections, plans (55)
VALLEY DEVELOPMENT FOUNDATION, Binghamton, New York (not built) [Government]
The Valley Development Foundation (VDF) was a nonprofit organization founded by corporations in the Binghamton area seeking to spur development and undertake design initiatives and proposals. Projects sponsored by or otherwise related to the VDF include Binghamton City Hall Restoration, Binghamton Court Street Area Study, Capri Theater Impact Study, and Binghamton Urban Renewal Authority (BURA) - General.
WASHINGTON STREET, Binghamton, New York (undated) [Government]
Redesign of major entry to city, including street alignment and paving, planting, lighting, signage and street furniture. Sponsor/client: Binghamton Urban Renewal Authority (BURA).
See also Binghamton Urban Renewal Authority (BURA) - General.
Box 25 Project material undated - site plan, section, working details
Box S-5 Slides - sections, plans, street furniture designs (25)
WEST VILLAGE
See ITHACA SCATTERED SITE HOUSING - ELM ST. Ithaca, New York.
WHEATON TRIANGLE, COMPETITION Silver Springs Maryland (undated) (not built) [Commercial] - large urban apartment project
Box 94A Project material, oversize
Box S-5 Slides - site plans, elevations, models (10)
WICKWIRE RESIDENCE ADDITION (WIC), Cortland, New York (not built) [Residential]
Small residential addition. Sponsor/client: Charles Wickwire. Collaborators/partners: Associated Architect: Lee Hodgden
Tube 156 Drawings 1963-1964 - working drawings
WILLARD STATE HOSPITAL - GENERAL* 7116 County Route 132 Willard, New York [Health]
(Alternate names: Willard Drug Treatment Campus)
New administrative office building and rehabilitation center for large New York state psychiatric hospital. Sponsor/client: NYS Health and Mental Hygiene Facilities Improvement Corporation.
See also Writings and biographical material : Scrapbook I; Writings and biographical material : Scrapbook III; Writings and biographical material : Miscellaneous.
Box 64A Project material 1968-1982 - specifications, site analysis, clipping, architectural description, article, text from exhibition board, awards submission
Box 94C Project material, oversize
WILLARD STATE HOSPITAL ADMINISTRATION BUILDING (WAB) 7116 County Route 132 Willard, New York (1971) [Health]
New administrative office building for large New York state psychiatric hospital. Sponsor/client: NYS Health and Mental Hygiene Facilities Improvement Corporation. Collaborators/partners: Assoc. Architects: Frederic P. Wiedersum Associates; Structural: Severud Associates (NYC), Dr. Donald P. Greenberg; Mechanical: Galson & Galson, Flack & Kurtz (NYC); Contractor: V. Giordano Constr.; Photog.: C. Hadley Smith, LYONFOTO, William H. Allen.
See also Writings and biographical material : Scrapbook I; Writings and biographical material : Scrapbook III; Writings and biographical material : Miscellaneous.
Tube 157 Drawings 1948-1970 - preliminary detail and design studies
Tube 158 Drawings undated - site studies, working drawings
Tube 159 Drawings 1969 - working drawings
Tube 160 Drawings 1969 - final drawings
Tube 161 Drawings 1969 - working drawings
Tube 162 Drawings 1969 - working drawings
Tube 163 Drawings 1969-1970 - working drawings (blueprints), contract documents
Tube 164 Drawings 1968 - early presentation drawings
Presentation board 60 - site plan, "Department of Hygiene - Health and Mental Hygiene Facilities Equipment Corporation - Werner Seligmann, Architect - Galson & Galson, Engineers"
Presentation board 61 - elevation
Presentation board 62 - elevation
Presentation board 63 - plan
Presentation board 64 - first floor plan
Presentation board 65 - elevation
Presentation board 66 - second floor plan
Presentation board 67 - elevation
Presentation board 68 - photos of model
Presentation board 69 - section, photo of model
Presentation board 70 - section, photo of model
Presentation board 71 - basement plan
Presentation board 72 - working details, superimposed symmetries
Presentation board 73 - photos of exterior and interior
Presentation board 74 - plans, elevations, sections
Presentation board 75 - elevations, sections
Presentation board 76 - working details, superimposed symmetries (color)
Box 61 Project material 1971-1973 - exterior and interior details
Box 62 Project material 1971 - exterior and interior details
Box 63 Project material 1969 - site plans, plans, model, sections, elevations, working drawings; sketches
Box 94C Project material, oversize
Box S-5 Slides - title slide (dated 1970), site plans, elevations, sections, plans, analytical and explanatory diagrams, working details, models, earlier existing structures, referential images, facade, side and back views, interiors, interior details (360)
WILLARD STATE HOSPITAL REHABILITATION CENTER (WRC) 7116 County Route 132 Willard, New York (not built) [Health]
Proposal for rehabilitation facility for large New York state psychiatric hospital. Sponsor/client: NYS Health and Mental Hygiene Facilities Improvement Corporation. Collaborators/partners: Associated Architects: Frederic P. Wiedersum & Associates; Mechanical: Flack & Kurtz (NYC); Structural: Severud Associates (NYC); Photography: C. Hadley Smith (Ithaca).
See also Writings and biographical material : Scrapbook I; Writings and biographical material : Scrapbook III; Writings and biographical material : Miscellaneous.
Tube 165 Drawings undated - design development drawings
Tube 166 Drawings 1968 - design development drawings
Tube 167 Drawings undated - design development drawings, Mylar photos of model
Tube 168 Drawings 1969-1970 - site development and landscape drawings
Tube 169 Drawings 1969 - room layouts
Tube 170 Drawings 1970 - working drawings
Tube 171 Drawings 1970 - site plan and details
Box Model-8 Model - plexiglass cover, good condition; approximate dimensions: 34.5"L x21"W x11"H. "Werner Seligmann and Associates, Frederic P. Wiedersum Associates, Architects"
Presentation board 77 - hospital campus plan
Presentation board 78 - axonometric/plan
Presentation board 79 - elevations, section
Presentation board 80 - sections, "WRC"; "A8
Presentation board 81 - north and east elevations, "WRC"; "A7"
Presentation board 82 - sections, "WRC"; "A10"
Presentation board 83 - south and west elevations, "WRC"; "A6"
Presentation board 84 - sections, "WRC"; "A9"
Presentation board 85 - basement plan, "WRC"; "A5"
Box 64 Project material 1969 - sections, plans, axonometrics, model; map; text from exhibition board
Box 94C Project material, oversize
Box S-5 Slides - title slide (dated 1971), site plans, axonometrics, elevations, analysis or explanatory diagrams, plans, models, earlier (75)
WOODBURN COURT PROPOSAL, Binghamton, New York (not built) [Government]
Proposal for development of housing. Sponsor/client: Binghamton Urban Renewal Authority (BURA). Collaborators/partners: Associated Architects/Personnel: John Cummings, Stephen Dragos, Robert Holdsworth, Brian Kessler, Michael Murphy
See also Binghamton Urban Renewal Authority (BURA) - General.
Tube 172 Drawings 1971-1972 - base maps, preliminary drawings
Presentation board 24 - section, elevations
Presentation board 25 - site plan, scheme 3
Presentation board 26 - site plan
Box 26 Project material 1971 - site analysis, elevation, sections; memo
Box S-5 Slides - site plans, sections (20)
XVII TRIENNALE DI MILANO EXHIBITION Milan, Italy (1987) (not built) [Government]
Invited entry to large international exhibition. Assigned area involved via Stalingrado, a major street connecting the historic center of Bologna to the periphery. Sponsor/client: Italian Government.
See also Writings and biographical material : Scrapbook II.
Tube 173 Drawings 1966-1985 - base documents and maps (in Italian)
Tube 174 Drawings undated - presentation drawings
Tube 175 Drawings undated - presentation drawings
Box 79 Project material 1985-1986 - sections; correspondence (some in Italian); competition materials; financial; narrative of project
Box S-5 Slides - title slide (dated 1987), site plans, axonometrics, sections, referential images (4)
Miscellaneous and unidentified projects
Tube 176 Drawings undated
Box S-5 Slides - includes paintings by WS (dated 1955); pictures of WS; models, general views; "Hub for Brooklyn"; another school (Hugh Gregg School); unidentified projects (20)
Writings and biographical material
Box 86 American Institute of Architects (AIA) Topaz Award
videotape of introduction (running time 2:17), text of Seligmann's acceptance speech.
Box 87 Scrapbook I
Scrapbook I includes photos and plans of Beth David Synagogue, Ithaca Commons Center, Ithaca Scattered Site Housing - Elm St., Olean Central Fire Station, Science Building II (SUNY Cortland), Willard State Hospital and Administration Building and Rehabilitation Center.
Box 88 Scrapbook II
Scrapbook II includes plans, sections, elevations of the Arizona Historical Society Museum Design Competition, Ft. Lauderdale Riverfront Plaza Design Competition, Monroeville Area Civic Center Competition, Opera de la Bastille Competition, Prinz-Albrecht-Palais Competition, Tokyo International Forum Competition, Topography of Terror Competition, XVII Triennale di Milano Exhibition, miscellaneous clippings.
Box 89 Scrapbook III
Scrapbook III includes lists of Seligmann's honors, awards, publications, exhibitions, experience, projects, competitions; miscellaneous clippings regarding Ithaca Commons Center, Ithaca Scattered Site Housing - Elm St. and Maple Ave., Olean Central Fire Station, Science Building II (SUNY Cortland), Willard Administration Building and Rehabilitation Center.
Box 86 Writings by and about Seligmann - articles, list of competitions, exhibitions, publications, biographical materials, etc.
Box 93 Miscellaneous 1966-1997
This material includes correspondence, awards and lectures, reports, magazines, clippings and sketches. Projects represented include Beth David Synagogue, Ithaca Commons Center, Science Building II (SUNY Cortland), and Willard State Hospital Administration Building and Rehabilitation Center.