Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Ben Seibel Papers

A description of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 21 Oct 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Seibel, Ben.
Title: Ben Seibel Papers
Dates: circa 1973-1983
Quantity: 80 linear ft.
Abstract: American industrial designer, particularly of tableware. Collection includes catalogs, design sketches, scrapbooks, photographs, correspondence, and a considerable number of items of table- and kitchen-ware (china, metal, stoneware, plaster, steel, glass, wood).
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Ben Seibel (1918-1985) was an American industrial designed particularly known for his tableware. He began his studies in architecture at Columbia University, where he also studied painting and sculpture. After returning from service in the army he changed to industrial design at Pratt Institute. His designs included dinnerware, glassware, stainless steel flatware, metal and wood tabletop accessories, furniture and lamps.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Ben Seibel Papers includes catalogs, design sketches, scrapbooks, photographs, and correspondence. The collection also contains a considerable number of examples of his work, primarily table- and kitchen-ware. These include cups, saucers, plates, bowls, pitchers, salt and pepper shakers, platters, dishes and more. Materials represented include china, metal, stoneware, plaster, steel, glass and wood.


Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is unprocessed and remains in original order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The collection is currently unprocessed and not available for research. Please contact Special Collections Research Center for more information.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Seibel, Ben.

Subjects

Flatware -- Design.
Industrial design -- History -- 20th century.
Industrial design -- United States.
Industrial designers -- United States.
Kitchen utensils -- Design.
Tableware -- Design.

Genres and Forms

Catalogs.
Correspondence.
Design drawings.
Photographs.
Scrapbooks.
Sketches.

Occupations

Industrial designers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Ben Seibel Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Ben Seibel, 1997-1999.


Table of Contents


Inventory

An inventory has not yet been created for this collection. Please contact the Repository listed above for more information.